PDA

View Full Version : thesis project

atrix007
05-11-2005, 01:29 PM
Hey guys,

You guys are the experts so i thought i would use some of your experience. I am a mechanical engineering student working on a thesis project that involves a water block design. I am actually planning to make the final design. I need to set criteria and from reviewing your site I saw that the maze 4 water block seems to be one of the best. I m looking to make a water block that will allow for low flow rates but will be able to extinguish a lot of wattage. Any tips you guys can give me would be greatly appreciated. I am hoping to send the final design to you guys for your expert testing.

Thanks,

Mike

bigben2k
05-11-2005, 01:41 PM
Criterias:

-Should be durable/reliable and not prone to failure, either through cracks in the top, corrosion due to the use of mixed metals, etc.

-Should have a reasonable price, for its performance.

-Should either perform well with any pump, or have its own pump (if required).

-Should be able to mount it on any processor curently available, easily, and without any issues, especially due to the hoses tugging.

atrix007
05-11-2005, 01:54 PM
I need a bench mark like, the best delta T achieved so far and by whom, and with what LPM. Also if someone knows the actual maximum mounting pressures recomended and maximum water block weight.

bigben2k
05-11-2005, 02:08 PM
dT is a parameter that depends on the power applied. What did you have in mind?

Mounting pressures changes with the new processors that have an IHS. Specs are available at Intel and AMD's sites (but also within many threads here).

atrix007
05-11-2005, 03:27 PM