PDA

View Full Version : Doing H20 right the first time

coldforge_lovin
04-09-2001, 06:24 AM
I am getting a Coldforge AA-15 AL case. Check out Cool Cases over in HardOCP if you don't know what that is.

I am looking to do watercooling for my next system (Thunderbird 1.333 C overclocked, Geforce 3 or something, 3ware IDE-RAID, Santa Cruz on an Abit KT7-A.) Noise is a big issue otherwise I'd save a ton of money and use big air cooling.

I'd like to cool the processor, the GPU and the Northbridge. I have a tentitive budget for cooling (not including extra PSU) of $450, although I don't want to throw money away... <smiles>

I've searched for and read a lot of 'solutions' some high end, some low end, and they've given me some pointers- like a peltier seeming essential, but then i'm thinking do I need two loops?

I am a novice to all of this, and although I'm OK mechanically minded, I'm not McGyver either...

If this were your 'ideal' setup, considering the budget, noise, difficulty, and the space constraints, (WTX case, so not completely crap,) what would you do if this were your project?

BTW... I want it to look really nice too.. <winks>

p[ara]d0x
04-10-2001, 02:43 PM
Heh, well the ColdForge is so big you could have just about any setup you want w/o worring about space and looks. My ideal system has only one loop, but that loop runs through two reservoirs/chillers, two pumps, and three radiators and cools CPU, vid card, and chipset. There's also a radiator that blows air through cold water to lower the ambient temperature. Check my site sometime in the sometime after this week for a diagram :)

coldforge_lovin
04-10-2001, 05:41 PM
Sounds pretty good. Do multiple reserviors do better than one large one? I know that you generally can't do two radiators with one pump. You're saying that two pumps will handle 3 rads tho?

Also, whats the deal with the rad blowing air through the water? How the hell does that work.