PDA

View Full Version : Tiny bubbles are key for future

FallOutBoyTonto
09-22-2003, 10:51 AM
News link 1 (http://news.uns.purdue.edu/html4ever/030411.Mudawar.cooling.html)
News link 2 (http://www.scienceblog.com/community/article1470.html&mode=thread&order=0&thold=0)
News link 3 (http://www.xbitlabs.com/news/other/display/20030417174705.html)

They are all talking about the same thing, pump-less liquid cooling. Interesting read. But since I'm just a noob in the cooling world, I came to hear what the pros thoughts are about this new technology.

jaydee
09-22-2003, 12:08 PM
Cathar brought something up similar before:
http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?s=&threadid=6416

I have no real comment on it at this point. Non of it makes any logical sence to me.

Cathar
09-22-2003, 05:40 PM
When considering these "future cooling technologies" it must be remembered that these guys aren't gunning for the coolest possible CPU's, just keeping a manageable lid on CPU temperatures, being anywhere from 80-100C

Phant0m51
09-22-2003, 05:51 PM
Umm...Those temps are quite a bit too hot for my tastes.

Dunno
10-03-2003, 09:12 AM
This idea may be worth trying!

Lets say you make a water cooling system, similar to todays setups, that can handle a vacume; with solid pipes and a submersble pump.

Now if you pull a vacume in it so that the water boils just above your ambiant air temp at say 25 deg C.

(Boiling point is proportional to surrounding pressure;See heatpipes)

When the water is heated above that in the block on the CPU it will boil. I am not sure of the physics here but the phase change takes a lot of thermal energy and the bottem line is that water just cannot get hotter than its boiling point! Also its the insulating boundry layer that boils away and is replaced by nice cool water.