Pro/Forums

Pro/Forums (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/index.php)
-   Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/forumdisplay.php?f=82)
-   -   SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation? (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=14746)

shay 04-07-2008 01:29 PM

SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
Hello,

I have a SnapServer 210 running GuardianOS and I need to completely reinstall the OS. I was able to get my hands on an image via their technical support hotline, so I have that, but the GUI only gives me the option to upgrade, not to reinstall. If I could get it to boot into maintenance mode (like it does automatically when there is a problem with the OS) I believe there is an option to do a complete reinstall. Can anybody help me with this process? Is there a secret command I don't know about? Is there a specific URL I can access that will bring me to the Maintenance Mode page? Is there something I can do via the debug interface that will break the server enough to cause it to go into maint mode without breaking it so badly that I can't access it?

P.S. The server is several states away, so I need to do this without physically touching it, if possible.

blue68f100 04-07-2008 04:33 PM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
From the debug page you need to enter these cmds. Andy's Favorites

The debug screen can be reached here https://IPAddress/admin/debug.cgi

df -h/ <enter> (this gives you file system info)

touch /nopivot <enter>

Now reboot the server it will bring up the maintance screen.

The OS upgrade will allow you to reinstall the OS, same version or newer. But will not allow older versions to be installed. But it's not a clean Install. Clean meaning that ALL DATA will be lost. The above cmds will totally wipe your HD's according to Andy. I have not used these cmds but I believe Andy when he say they work. He has used them many times as he repairs and upgrades machines.

As long as you can remotely access the Server these should work. For conformation wait for Andy to respond.

rpmurray 04-08-2008 06:04 AM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by blue68f100
But it's not a clean Install. Clean meaning that ALL DATA will be lost. The above cmds will totally wipe your HD's according to Andy.

You say that's it's not a clean install, and clean installs wipe all data. Which seems to imply that it will not wipe the data.

Then you say the commands will wipe the HD's.

Which is correct?

This is not meant to be a swipe at you, I was just thinking that anyone coming upon this information might get confused and so I am simply asking for clarification.

blue68f100 04-08-2008 06:16 AM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
To me a Clean install will completly wipe the HD putting the unit in default conditions like a NEW Unit. Just re-installing the OS using the Updater will replace the OS files but not change your current settings or config.

But like I said I have not used this cmd, it Andy's.

Shay, What kind of problems are you having requireing a Clean Install? The reason I ask is thats Adaptec answer to fixing things insead of repairing the damaged config file. Which to me is not a valid option. If they know how their OS works they should know which config file is damaged and remove or repair it.

Phoenix32 04-08-2008 12:23 PM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
I can tell you it will break any RAID 5 you have and we all know what happens to your data when you break RAID 5 right? The information right on the Recovery Console page says it will wipe your data and settings. My experience says it aint lieing.

Honestly, I have never tried it with a RAID 0 or 1. I can't see it doing anything else in a RAID 0 as it did with RAID 5, but who knows with RAID 1. I never tried because I never cared (hey, at least I am honest). But my guess is, that will go bye bye too. Keep in mind, it resets all server settings too...

As a side note, I don't think I would try this long distance. You may not get connected at various stages in the process. IMO, this is a DO IT LOCAL kinda thing.


P.S. David, stop givng away my secrets. You are going to put me out of business! LOL :doh:
j/k

blue68f100 04-08-2008 12:44 PM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
I thought you had already posted that one. :uhh: Do you want me to remove the cmd?

But I did give you FULL CREDIT. :nod:

That way I'm off the hook.:D

Andy I think if he has a VPN connection into the remote site, it should behave as he was there. But it would be a lot safer if he was there.

Phoenix32 04-08-2008 07:43 PM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
I know, I was just teasing you...


BUT!

I do not know for sure, I am not the IT guy, but I am still thinking I would not do the touch /nopivot unless I was local.

shay 04-23-2008 05:30 AM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
Worked like a charm - thank you.

Phoenix32 04-23-2008 09:45 AM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
Good to know it will work that way...

lara0101 09-18-2008 06:39 AM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
I got this error with my snap server:

Error 500 Internal Server Error
Sorry, this server has encountered a system configuration error. Please see your system administrator for further assistance.

blue68f100 09-18-2008 09:34 AM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
Can you login through the gui?

Have you rebooted the server?

If so what does the log reports.

dnsplus 04-10-2011 02:19 PM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
its worth noting that with newer versions of the GOS, the URL to get to the debug command window is now:

http://<server_name_or_ip>/sadmin/debug.cgi

you will be redirected to

http://<server_name_or_ip>/cadmin/debug.cgi

at this point, your debug commands can be entered.

edtheuniquegeek 01-13-2014 08:14 PM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by dnsplus (Post 173535)
its worth noting that with newer versions of the GOS, the URL to get to the debug command window is now:

http://<server_name_or_ip>/sadmin/debug.cgi

you will be redirected to

http://<server_name_or_ip>/cadmin/debug.cgi

at this point, your debug commands can be entered.

These URLs aren't working for me.
I need to Clean the OS and start from scratch. How would I do this if I am seeing this screen?

https://copy.com/2EsTPSTA23ID

I realize this is an old thread but if anyone can assist would be greatly appreciated.

Phoenix32 01-18-2014 02:10 AM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
From that screen, click on the "Choose File" button and browse to wherever your OS file is and select it. Then select the "Fresh Install" bubble. Then, click on the "OK" button. It will look like nothing is happening for a while (up to 5 minutes) while it transfers the OS file. Just follow the prompts from there...

edtheuniquegeek 01-18-2014 10:51 AM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Phoenix32 (Post 174341)
From that screen, click on the "Choose File" button and browse to wherever your OS file is and select it. Then select the "Fresh Install" bubble. Then, click on the "OK" button. It will look like nothing is happening for a while (up to 5 minutes) while it transfers the OS file. Just follow the prompts from there...

I tried that after finally finding an OS file but it was unsuccessful.

Phoenix32 01-18-2014 05:56 PM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
Can you be more descriptive? Just saying it was unsuccessful doesn't tell us much of anything. That and what GOS it has and what GOS you "found" etc?

Those are the steps. If something went wrong, then something is wrong with your hardware or GOS file.

edtheuniquegeek 01-18-2014 07:54 PM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Phoenix32 (Post 174343)
Can you be more descriptive? Just saying it was unsuccessful doesn't tell us much of anything. That and what GOS it has and what GOS you "found" etc?

Those are the steps. If something went wrong, then something is wrong with your hardware or GOS file.

I'm telling you exactly what it told me. It went through the motions of upload via choosing Fresh Install. It seem to get some distance and then it stated it was unsuccessful.
I don't know what the current version of GOS is on it. I never used it at work nor installed it. I just found it on a shelf not being used. That screenshot I submitted is the only screen I've seen when going to the web console. The manual I found for the hardware indicates GOS 5.2 so I assume 5.2 is installed. The GOS version I tried installing was 4.4.
It could be I have a bad hard drive in it. I'm getting to the point where I may just pull it apart, run some disk utilities on the hard drives to see their condition and whichever is good just installing them in an old PC I have lying around with some other hard drives and install FreeNAS.

Phoenix32 01-20-2014 06:16 PM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by edtheuniquegeek (Post 174344)
I assume 5.2 is installed. The GOS version I tried installing was 4.4.

There is the problem...


Quote:

Originally Posted by edtheuniquegeek (Post 174344)
I may just pull it apart, run some disk utilities on the hard drives to see their condition and whichever is good just installing them in an old PC I have lying around with some other hard drives and install FreeNAS.

That would be a crying shame. Even I would like having a 210.

edtheuniquegeek 01-20-2014 09:10 PM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Phoenix32 (Post 174345)
That would be a crying shame. Even I would like having a 210.

I don't really have any other choice. Unless you have suggestions.

Phoenix32 01-21-2014 01:54 PM

Re: SnapServer 210 - COMPLETE OS reinstallation?
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by edtheuniquegeek (Post 174346)
I don't really have any other choice. Unless you have suggestions.

Get your hands on GOS 5.2 -or- pull the drives for yourself and sell the unit dirt cheap.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...