Pro/Forums

Pro/Forums (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/index.php)
-   Xtreme Cooling (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/forumdisplay.php?f=78)
-   -   Question on thermoelectric cooler design. (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=12723)

dts_es 01-26-2006 11:44 PM

Question on thermoelectric cooler design.

Hi all.

This is my first time posting here. So i dont know where should I post my problem but Peltier/TEC cooling forum seems to be the right place.
If moderators feel otherwise, by all means move to the correct forum. :) thanks.

Anyway here is the question:
http://i38.photobucket.com/albums/e144/dts_es/pic.jpg

Based on the diagram above, the heat transfer will be from the IC chips packages to the motherboard edge indicated in blue only through conduction. The IC chips will be given out almost 40 watts of energy each. Therefore my guess is that at card edge, the total energy output will be around 100watts. Am i correct to say that??
The chips junction temps will be at around 100degC at full load. Therefore am i correct to say that, the card edge will also increase to around that temp if there is not other heat transfer path from the card edge and no way of removing the heat out of the card??

Now I am required to maintain the card edge at 85degC when the IC chips are powered at full load (the IC chip power output is rated at 40W each).. to do this, i will be using Thermoelectric technology (is there any other method that is easier to do and achieve?). Therefore the question here is, is there any TEC modules that can help me do that?? help me maintain the card edge at 85degC. Because normally people are using TEC modules to cool their stuff around room temperature.. but mine is around 85degC for the cold side of the TEC (which in fact is like doing heating up operation instead of the normal cooling operation). So if i understand, the hot side will be higher than 85degC. Is it correct to say that?