Pro/Forums

Pro/Forums (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/index.php)
-   General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/forumdisplay.php?f=9)
-   -   Where does the water go, in a closed loop system?? (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=2831)

dabhpr 04-16-2002 10:40 AM

Where does the water go, in a closed loop system??

I'm fairly new to the watercooling scene, having converted my PAL8045 system to watercooling (specs below in sig) back in January of this year.

I have an inverted "T" fill tube for my closed loops system. It's about 18" long (hey, this Supermicro 760A case is HUGE).

The funny thing is, I'm loosing about 1 1/2" of level in the fill tube every four days or so. I have NO leaks that I can find, none whatsoever. Every single connection is secured with a screw clamp.

I'm using the 1/2" ID Silicone tubing from Dangerden.. is it actually somewhat porous??

I'm very positive I don't have latent air pockets in my system, as I was very thorough to fill it underwater, and invert/twist/rotate the entire system components to evacuate all air bubbles.

And my temps are great: 32C max at full load.

So - where is the water going???

In all honesty, my guess would be that either A) you've got a small leak. Not much, but a little bit. B) it's not airtight and some of the water is evaporating. C) there is still a bit of air in the system and it's working it's way out. Sometimes tiny air bubbles will stick to the metal, even with decent flow. These air bubbles could eventually be washing out to get caught in the airtrap.

Brad 04-16-2002 01:31 PM

avatar is right, all 3 of those could be possibilities, and together they add up.

do you have any pics of the alpha?

futRtrubL 04-16-2002 04:26 PM

Do you have any dyelight or coloring agent in the water? If not you may wan't to put some in so that you can see if there is a leak that's so slow it's drying up almost emidiately.

Edward

dabhpr 04-16-2002 05:03 PM