Pro/Forums

Pro/Forums (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/index.php)
-   Water Block Design / Construction (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/forumdisplay.php?f=37)
-   -   Splitting flow from CPU block? (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=9159)

Andersen 03-11-2004 09:20 AM

Splitting flow from CPU block?

Newbie here so handle me gently. :)

I'm designing my first set of waterblocks atm. Going to have CPU, GFX and NB blocks.

And the big question is: Is it worth making a single 1/2" inlet and 1/4" outlet CPU block that splits the flow to GFX and NB blocks?

|kbn| 03-11-2004 10:07 AM

No, I think its best to have them all in series, as long as there not too restrictive. If they are restrictive then one will have all the flow while the restrictive one wont get much going through it. woulnt having them in series also need less tubing?
Also I would definatly still use 1/2" outlets as the tubing will still fit over them.

pdf27 03-11-2004 11:03 AM

Depends. If the two (GPU and NB) are about equally restrictive then having the two in paralell will reduce the pressure drop across the system. This will give you increased flow rates and so better cooling.

rundymc 03-12-2004 02:58 AM

also, if the two blocks are not equally restrictive (though they probably will always be slightly so, due to the fact that the tubing on each line will be of different lengths) different amounts of liquid will flow through each- more on the least restrictive- approximated Kirchoff's voltage law
I say design both gpu and nb blocks identically and follow your plan of splitting the flow outside the cpu block (don't use 1/4", as it only adds restriction) with a Y fitting

Andersen 03-12-2004 10:16 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by rundymc