Pro/Forums

Pro/Forums (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/index.php)
-   Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/forumdisplay.php?f=82)
-   -   Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista (http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13863)

evoaz1 02-03-2007 01:52 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
holzinet, that is an interesting issue that I would like to try and duplicate. I am able to delete non-empty folders on the Snap from any XP client without a problem. I will test deleting non-empty folders on my Vista machine as soon as I get it back up and running - doing a little upgrade right now (new 8800GTS woohoo!) I will let you know what I find.

evoaz1 02-03-2007 09:27 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
unfortunately I can confirm there is still an issue with deleting any NON EMPTY folders on the Snap from the Vista client. You are correct holzinet, I am seeing the same problem even after changing the authentication to LM and NTLM in the security policy. I am going to play around with a few more settings in Vista and see what I can come up with.

I would REALLY like to hear from anyone that has been able to get Vista to communicate with the Snap shares that IS NOT running 4.0.860 of the OS. As holzinet has suggested, I wonder if the 4.0.860 implementation of the Samba server is different than the 3.4.xxx version, and not as compliant as it previously was, or if this is just a Vista problem in itself.

**UPDATED**
Actually, what I am seeing is I can't delete ANY folders from within Vista on the Snap that existed BEFORE I did the OS upgrade. Any NEW folders I create I can delete. I have checked permissions on the Snap over and over, and there is nothing that looks incorrect. I CAN delete the folders that existed before the upgrade from ANY XP machine though.

holzinet 02-04-2007 04:05 AM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
... and this is not the only problem! If you are bored, try to create a new folder or copy a folder using right-click "copy here" ...

I was wondering, why the process takes so much time.
And then I've seen the result.

By creating a new Folder I got: "new folder", "new folder (1)" to "new folder (xx)" and if I want to copy a folder I got "Testfolder - copy", "Testfolder - copy (1)" up to "Testfolder - copy (xxx)" - you have to kill the process by hand, nice loop to fill the harddrive ;-)

Slowly but surely I'm getting only two sollutions:

1) Sell my snap servers on ebay and buy a terastation
or
2) Sell my Vista, switch back to XP and migrate all clients at my network to linux in the near future.

Maybe there is another sollution: Please Adaptec give us an update for SnapOS ...

holzinet 02-04-2007 11:59 AM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
UPDATE: I've found an article at https://bugzilla.samba.org/show_bug.cgi?id=4188...

I've also tried to MOVE a non-empty folder on the share to another place on the same share: it works. So I think it has to do with the problem mentioned above.

holzinet 02-04-2007 01:51 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
UPDATE 2: If SMB does not work without issues, why don't we try NFS? I got it working on XP, but the Vista Ultimate integrated NFS Client is a bit harder to configure like some Sharewareclients for XP. Evoaz1, do you want to try it out? I'm not at home for next two weeks, so I could not try by myself. And today I'm to frustrated ;-)

blue68f100 02-04-2007 03:10 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
SnapOS v4 uses v2 Samba

holzinet 02-08-2007 08:23 AM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
Thanks for information. I've found the problem also in Samba 2:

http://lists.samba.org/archive/samba...il/064911.html

I phoned to Adaptec, they don't plan any updates/patches to SnapOS, bad news.
But, by the way, they still sell SnapServer 2200 ...

It seems, that it is a problem with the explorer-deleting method, because if I use the "Total Commander" with his own deleting method, I have no problem deleting non-empty folders. Also creating new folders works in "Total Commander" perfect.

So maybe a bug in Explorer in Vista? Would not be the first ;-) ...or a new "feature"?

holzinet 02-18-2007 01:37 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
I've found out, if you deactivate "NT SMBs", the issue with freezing and ending up with many new folders is gone.

But still not able to delete non-empty folders :-(

If you use the cmd line, you can remove the folders with "rmdir /s <name-of-non-empty-folder>"

evoaz1, any news from you?

holzinet 02-20-2007 12:53 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
It seems, that I talk to myself :dome:

... but if somebody is interested in another idea to solve the problem with Vista, here is the last idea from me (I've ordered a terastation today and will try to sell my snap 2000 and 2200):

only a short and dirty explanation of my thinking:

what about this way:

- create only one big share at the snapserver and get sure, you are able to use the share from windows
- load and install truecrypt from http://www.truecrypt.org/ on your windows machine
- open truecrypt and format the networkdrive (the share from the snap) using truecrypt engine using your windows machine (ntfs maybe also possible)

after waiting some cups of coffee it should be ready to use, reboot snap, reboot windows and start truecrypt. after that try to mount the share.
now there should be a network share with ntfs, or am I wrong with this reflection?

IMPORTANT: at the moment there is no truecrypt version for vista!!!

I repeat: only a theory, don't know, if it works or will kill the snap, you should make a backup-image of your snapos before (like mentioned at wiki section).

another sollution should be, to mount the share to a samba-server at the network (which is running samba3). now you can access the share from windows by connecting to the samba-server and his mounted share. (same sollution like for active directory at snapos 3). But my linux server at home is connected with wlan, so this is no sollution for me because of the network traffic it will cause.
I had also no motivation to install samba at my linux-router (wrt54gs) to mount the snap share directy from the router and connecting samba share at the router from the windows machine.

would be happy about a short feedback

cu

Tino

blue68f100 02-20-2007 01:10 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
I dought you will not beable to use any program to format the snapshares. You are not controlling the drives at the machine level. But there is no reason you can not map the snap using AD.

Can you access the snap via FTP, eliminating the SAMBA engine from the snap. FTP is a defined protocol that Vista must adhear to.

I have read many mixed reviews on the tarastations. Most were not favorable, mainly buggy firmware and poor perfrmance.

holzinet 02-20-2007 02:43 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
I've read about it at google ... somebody has used this workarround at the terastation without hacking something...

... but anyway, at the terastation you are able to hack the firmware or tune the samba settings at smb.conf. So I want to install a little, nice debian on it at an extra harddisk.

I've read also a bit about... and have read, that the performance should be even better, than the snap 2200 performance. I'll give it a try...

Using ftp would speed up the performance than using smb I think, but I would rather use smb. I must test all devices and will compare the usability.
And the device, that does not match my demands will be sold...

For me it is a little bit a question of principle.
In the meantime the only issue with snapos under vista is the problem by deleting non-empty folders. And this can be solved by using other tool for deleting or the commandline. But it is an issue...

blue68f100 02-20-2007 03:20 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
The Snap OS is dead as far as Adapect is concern. It's 8yr old technology so it is out dated. The 2200 delivers around 3.6MB/sec writes and 8MB/s reads using SMB. The numbers bump up to 5.7/8.8MB/sec using ftp. If I recall the 2200 was about twice as fast as my 2000.

Or if you have the need for speed. My 4500 will deliver 2800mbps read speed over 12 users, with substained speeds of 2500mbps. Equipted with dual gigapit ports.

Phoenix32 02-20-2007 04:18 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by holzinet

It seems, that I talk to myself :dome:

heh, I get that all the time...

But it is not that nobody is listening, it is just that some of us (like me) are not IT guys and do not have the answers to your questions.

-OR-

Maybe we don't have Vista to test with (and don't want that MS POS either).


My guess is; you are going to have to find a way to make Vista play nice with the SNAP's version of SAMBA or stick to FTP. Given how old these units are, and the lack of incentive for Adaptec (no money in it for them), I doubt you will ever see a fix for the SNAP OS. Start looking for a Fix for Vista instead, probably easier.

jontz 02-24-2007 02:49 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Phoenix32
Start looking for a Fix for Vista instead, probably easier.

How about FORMAT C: as a fix for vista?

I've often wondered if telling windows to boot in "Last know good config" would bring me to a DOS 5.0 prompt... :D

re3dyb0y 02-25-2007 06:07 AM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by jontz
How about FORMAT C: as a fix for vista?

I've often wondered if telling windows to boot in "Last know good config" would bring me to a DOS 5.0 prompt... :D


Haha

It'll probably have some stupid protection so you cant do that

webboy 04-06-2007 07:17 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
Just installed Vista and cannot talk to any of my Snaps. Of course i can connect to all my Win2000 and 2k3 server just fine.

Did that little policy fix above and all works fine now. (or so it seems)

snap 4100 - 3.4.803 (US)
snap 4400 - GuardianOS 4.1.106

evoaz1 08-14-2007 11:27 AM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
Since starting this thread months ago, I have gotten my Snap 2000 to play nice with Vista using the Policy update outlined in this thread. However, that was when I was using the Snap in a "Workgroup" environment.

I have now moved our small network to a W2K3 Standard server and implemented a domain. I have been able to join up the Snap to the domain without a problem, and have setup the Snap shares to use the Domain AD user list, which also appears to work correctly. When an XP machine signs into the domain, and tries to access the Snap shares using an authenticated AD user/pass, all works well. The issue I am having is that there are 2 Vista boxes in the network/domain that are attempting to sign into the Snap shares using the SAME DOMAIN CREDENTIALS as the XP machines, and the Snap will not accept the username and/or password. It is the same problem over again that I had with the Vista machine initially.

I attempted to change the Domain controller's NTLM response (per the fix for Vista) thinking maybe the DC was the issue and the credentials were not being passed properly, even though XP machines log in correctly. This (rather obviously) did not work. I tried forcing a group policy for the domain to use the NTLM/NTLMv2 response fix and that did not work either.

It appears at this point that Vista will not authenticate properly with the Snap when using the Active Directory user lists for the Snap shares.

I would love to hear if anyone else has seen a similar issue, or has any further insight on this problem. Thanks so much!!~

trgrapsonu 02-24-2008 06:02 AM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
How can I get snap 1100 or 2200 work with vista?

blue68f100 02-24-2008 06:15 AM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
Read this thread it has work arounds for most of the problems. But the Snap OS is NOT 100% Compatiabe with Vista and will never be. If you want full compatiable you must run the newer hardware on Guardian OS with the latest OS version, v4.4

trgrapsonu 02-24-2008 08:21 AM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
Will OS 4.4 work with Snap 2200?

Phoenix32 02-24-2008 12:38 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by trgrapsonu
Will OS 4.4 work with Snap 2200?

No!

The Snap 1000, 1100, 2000, 2200, 4000, 4100 are Snap OS units.

You have to have a Snap Server designed for Guardian OS to run the Guardian OS. i.e. a Snap 4200 (and others).

There is a HUGE difference between the Snap OS and Guardian OS units, both in hardware and software.

Rote8 11-02-2009 09:13 PM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by trgrapsonu (Post 168554)
How can I get snap 1100 or 2200 work with vista?

You will not be able to use the Snap OS SMB with Vista.

eschw95458 11-03-2009 10:07 AM

Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista
 
You might be able to log in from vista using NFS Try this link here

I have not had a chance to try this, and I won't for a week or so, but I will try it later and post back.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...