Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion > Water Block Design / Construction
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Water Block Design / Construction Building your own block? Need info on designing one? Heres where to do it

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 07-15-2004, 04:36 AM   #1
max_87
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Earth!
Posts: 3
Default questions about constructing waterblocks(noob)

Hello Everyone! watercooling noob here I have some questions(stupid) to ask

I'm planning to construct a new waterblock(after getting sick of those noisy high rpm fans)

1. I don't have any mills. Can i construct a waterblock using drills, may be hard to control i guess?
2. If the above answer is yes, is there any simple waterblock designs for noobs? easier to build :P
max_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2004, 04:45 AM   #2
Etacovda
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dunedin NZ
Posts: 735
Default

Search for #rotor blocks
Etacovda is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2004, 08:45 AM   #3
Zogthetroll
Cooling Savant
 
Zogthetroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 177
Default

you could use a drill, but like you suspect, it would be hard to controll, what would work much better is a drill press. and look for the type etacovda suggested, its a good starting point, but feel free to ask questions and try to figure out the ideas behind block design.
__________________
My Machine (wip)
XP1800, 256Mb Ram, DVD, 52x CD-R, 40Gb HD, GeForce4 MX 420

Clear Cube
XP2000, 256Mb Ram, 32x CDR, 40Gb HD
Zogthetroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2004, 09:24 AM   #4
max_87
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Earth!
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks a lot for the input I browsed through this forums.....wow! some of you make really awesome waterblcoks! two thumbs up!

ah, looks like rotor blocks are easier to work with

er....how about the thickness of the waterblock
max_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2004, 07:09 PM   #5
kibbles
Cooling Neophyte
 
kibbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Colorado
Posts: 27
Default

http://www.overclockers.com/articles678/

I did this with a 1/4" base which was also drilled into with a dremel tool wheel to make a little grid over the cpu area.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dual blocks.JPG (201.6 KB, 12 views)
__________________
MSI K7D Master, 2x1800XP
kibbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2004, 03:04 AM   #6
max_87
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Earth!
Posts: 3
Default

oh sorry, i mean the thickness of the waterblock's base
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@228x11=2508+SP97 (1.95v)
Abit NF7 v2.0 (2.0v vdd)
Corsair Value 512MB DDR400@456 2.5-3-3-9 (2.9v)
ATI Radeon 9800Pro 450/350 (2.0v)
max_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...