Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion For discussion about Full Cooling System kits, or general cooling topics. Keep specific cooling items like pumps, radiators, etc... in their specific forums.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 11-09-2005, 09:45 AM   #1
RADCOM
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 31
Default getting rid of trapped air

I have finally installed my watercooling on AMD3500. I get idle temp of 35 C but when I lay the Alphacool coolplex resevoir horizontally I get loads of air in the system. I seems to work at 45degrees or vertical. Have i done something wrong.....again! Attached is a diagram of my setup any help appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cooling system.JPG (13.8 KB, 38 views)
RADCOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-09-2005, 11:59 AM   #2
TerraMex
Cooling Savant
 
TerraMex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portugal, Europe
Posts: 870
Default

the alignment of the barbs is important, if they are horizontal,
and enough air in the res, air will be sucked into the loop.
I keep my res at 45ยบ bolted to the lateral side. works for me.
You can rotate the res so that the out is lower than the in, but that's like duck tape.
You can keep it vertical (the reservoir) for a few days,
fill it as needed, should work as you replace the air with more water,
after that, you should be able to place it horizontal with no issues.
__________________
"we need more cowbell."
TerraMex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-09-2005, 05:51 PM   #3
RADCOM
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 31
Default

I have revised the system thus.....is this better layout? thanks for your input.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cooling system revised.JPG (16.2 KB, 19 views)
RADCOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-2005, 01:15 PM   #4
TerraMex
Cooling Savant
 
TerraMex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portugal, Europe
Posts: 870
Default

i think so, it should suck less air into the loop.
again, as long as there isn't too much air in the reservoir.
but you got the ideia.
__________________
"we need more cowbell."
TerraMex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-10-2005, 04:50 PM   #5
RADCOM
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 31
Default

Thanks for all your help it's all sorted and working a charm.
RADCOM is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...