Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Xtreme Cooling
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Xtreme Cooling LN2, Dry Ice, Peltiers, etc... All the usual suspects

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 11-23-2005, 12:45 AM   #1
Unoid
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: INdiana
Posts: 23
Default Performance of Pelt vs reg water?

I'm wonder what would be a good guess for the increase of going to TEC:
Using: MCP655 pump, Storm or equiv CPU block, quad 120mm fan heatercore (4 per side)

Cooling lets say an Opteron 146 as a good example.

With just the water I'd get what? 3ghz?
How much higher could I go with a powerful tec that will cool 226-250watt
you tell me!? I'd guess like 3.2ghz?

Trying to decide if spending moeny on TEC will be worth the performance gain.
Unoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-2005, 03:08 AM   #2
flatline
Cooling Savant
 
flatline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: uk
Posts: 109
Default

dont know mutch about tecs but i do know the focused jet flow of Storm means its a bad choice for a tec if it wud cool it atall id recomend a block but that kinda thing starts wars round this place
__________________
"<pH> I'll stab you in the genitals with a rusty shank if you touch my computer stuff"
"we are only 'mean' to the persistently ignorant, lazy, and anyone who questions us" BillA
flatline is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-24-2005, 11:59 AM   #3
Unoid
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: INdiana
Posts: 23
Default

heh, block doens't bother me much I'll get whats best at the time I need it, I'm just wondering if anyone has done tests to see how much more mhz they can produce out of going tec vs their water.
Unoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-24-2005, 04:06 PM   #4
ricecrispi
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: california
Posts: 429
Default

You will hit 2.8-2.9 on air, 2.9-3.1ghz on water and pelt cooling 3.0- 3.2ghz but i doubt you can push the cpu much further than 3.0- 3.1ghz. That's usually the limit the lower clocked AMD cpus right now.

Check out overclockers .com and their cpu database link and see what people are getting. Now they make you login though ... BS

The opteron have larger L2 chache and this gives them a eqvuivalent 100-150 mhz advantage on similiar 2 ghz amd cpus.
I would get a REV. E 3200+, overclocks very well and save the $50 get a new board or spend the money elsewhere. REV.E 3000+ is good overclocker if you have a pelt setup.
ricecrispi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-24-2005, 06:43 PM   #5
Unoid
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: INdiana
Posts: 23
Default

I suppose if I cna max cpu volts in bios and be at reasonable temps ocing, then pelt will only help[ if I voltmod the mobo for higher volts right?
Unoid is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2005, 11:07 AM   #6
Revivalist
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fresno, CA, USA
Posts: 16
Default

If it helps at all. . . I have a mcp655 & BIX III and I just went from a Storm to a TEC setup with a 320W TEC. I was able to overclock about 500MHz more and my temps went from 27C/48C (idle/load) to -9C/22C. Other info is in my sig below.
__________________
AMD 64 3400+ Newcastle 2.2GHz @ 2.70GHz --- ASUS A8V @ 270MHz HTT
1GB dual OCZ @ DDR530, 2.5-3-3-8 --- MSI 6600GT @ 600 GPU, 1.30GHz RAM
2x80GB Hitachi RAID 0 on VIA --- Aspire 500W & Vigor 400W dual power supplies
Cooling: Maze4-1 CPU block with 245/320 TEC, chrome Maze4 GPU block, BIX III, MCP655 pump, 1/2" tubing
Revivalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2005, 02:27 PM   #7
Long Haired Git
Cooling Savant
 
Long Haired Git's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Sydney, Oz
Posts: 336
Default

Deleted: Just saw revivalist's thread about his rig: http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/sho...stpage&t=12383
__________________
Long Haired Git
"Securing an environment of Windows platforms from abuse - external or internal - is akin to trying to install sprinklers in a fireworks factory where smoking on the job is permitted." (Prof. Gene Spafford)
My Rig, in all its glory, can be seen best here
AMD XP1600 @ 1530 Mhz | Soyo Dragon + | 256 Mb PC2700 DDRAM | 2 x 40 Gb 7200rpm in Raid-0 | Maze 2, eheim 1250, dual heater cores! | Full specifications (PCDB)

Long Haired Git is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2005, 06:25 PM   #8
ricecrispi
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: california
Posts: 429
Default

I think the 2.6-2.7 ghz revivalist got is due to the psu not supplying a stable 1.8 V. He went down to 1.7 and more MHZ. .....

You also have to factor in quality of CPU, mobo, ram, psu and not just the cooling equipment.

AMD CPU overclocking: Winchesters Rev.E > Newcastles
ricecrispi is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2005, 08:13 PM   #9
Revivalist
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fresno, CA, USA
Posts: 16
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ricecrispi
I think the 2.6-2.7 ghz revivalist got is due to the psu not supplying a stable 1.8 V. He went down to 1.7 and more MHZ. .....
That's an interesting point. Here's a graph of my Vcore while running occt at 1.70V Vcore. The ripple is 0.06V which is 3.18%.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Vcore.JPG (180.5 KB, 11 views)
__________________
AMD 64 3400+ Newcastle 2.2GHz @ 2.70GHz --- ASUS A8V @ 270MHz HTT
1GB dual OCZ @ DDR530, 2.5-3-3-8 --- MSI 6600GT @ 600 GPU, 1.30GHz RAM
2x80GB Hitachi RAID 0 on VIA --- Aspire 500W & Vigor 400W dual power supplies
Cooling: Maze4-1 CPU block with 245/320 TEC, chrome Maze4 GPU block, BIX III, MCP655 pump, 1/2" tubing

Last edited by Revivalist; 11-27-2005 at 01:28 AM.
Revivalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2005, 01:24 AM   #10
Revivalist
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Fresno, CA, USA
Posts: 16
Default

Ok, here's a graph running at 1.80V Vcore with 2.60GHz. The ripple is 0.06V which is 3.15% now. So I think that wasn't the problem after all? :shrug:
Attached Images
File Type: gif 2.6GHz (1.80V Vcore).gif (12.6 KB, 11 views)
__________________
AMD 64 3400+ Newcastle 2.2GHz @ 2.70GHz --- ASUS A8V @ 270MHz HTT
1GB dual OCZ @ DDR530, 2.5-3-3-8 --- MSI 6600GT @ 600 GPU, 1.30GHz RAM
2x80GB Hitachi RAID 0 on VIA --- Aspire 500W & Vigor 400W dual power supplies
Cooling: Maze4-1 CPU block with 245/320 TEC, chrome Maze4 GPU block, BIX III, MCP655 pump, 1/2" tubing
Revivalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2005, 04:40 PM   #11
ricecrispi
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: california
Posts: 429
Default

Might be the cpu itself. Not all cpus are built the same even if they are cut from the same waffle.

On water I got 2.5 on my newcastle, 2.6 on my Venice REV.E., and my 64 mobile does 2.8 on water. All about 200 mhz over Zalman Cnps 7000 air setup.

The K8 cpus were holding me back. My mushkin ram went 2-2-2-7 at 265 on my DFI sli-dr, the best board for overclocking.

Pretty shitty overclockers compared to my Barton 2600 that got 2.2 ghz on air and 2.5 ghz on water and my t-bred 1700 that got up to a 2400 speeds
ricecrispi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...