Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion For discussion about Full Cooling System kits, or general cooling topics. Keep specific cooling items like pumps, radiators, etc... in their specific forums.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 03-22-2002, 08:44 AM   #1
DodgeViper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 204
Default Water Cooling Finally

Ok I am finally able to say I have joined the ranks of water-cooling. I am using the Gemini High Volume Spiral water block, Eheim 1250 317GPH pump and a custom Chevy Chevette radiator with 2-120 PanaFlo 86 CFM fans configured in a push/pull format.

I decided to test the pump for flow rate. With a 12” rise, the pump delivered 190 GPH. With the Gemini High Volume water block added to the pump at a 12” rise the flow through the block was 64 GPH. I had changed the fittings on the block to fit my 1/2" tubing system.

Currently I am still burping all the air from the system and here in Arizona is rather warm tonight. My current ambient temperature is 28c and the cpu is at 37c. These numbers are at idled. My cpu is a T*bird 1.4 @ 1575. No volt mod but everything in the bios is set for extreme. Hoping by morning the W/B has had a chance to settle in, and the temps within the home will be down as I do not have the cooling in the home running yet.

Prior to changing over to water this same system running air-cooled the cpu was at 45c with the ambient temperature at 29c.

For some strange reason I think I have trapped air in the radiator. I mixed distilled water with 15 percent of anti-freeze. I only mixed 32oz. And still have 4oz. of mix left.

The tubing routing on the system goes like this, pump outlet to rad, rad to (T) then to the center of wb, wb back to pump inlet.

Update: Currently I am at 162 fsb @ 1620 with no volt mod. The image is from after the system ran over night.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg temp1111.jpg (31.1 KB, 487 views)
DodgeViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2002, 01:43 PM   #2
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

Quote:
decided to test the pump for flow rate. With a 12” rise, the pump delivered 190 GPH. With the Gemini High Volume water block added to the pump at a 12” rise the flow through the block was 64 GPH

I remeber in the review that john "H00T" hill did for overclockers, he got like 120gph through the block using 3/8" fittings, and I think it was the same pump? seems weird you would get 1/2 flow with bigger fittings. I guess maybe his rad was less restrictive.
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2002, 02:02 PM   #3
Cyco-Dude
Cooling Savant
 
Cyco-Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 836
Default

well, it would also depend on how much lifting the pump has to do. Viper lifted his setup 12 inches; maybe "HOOT" didnt lift it as high? if at all...
Cyco-Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2002, 02:28 PM   #4
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

yeah that is true. forgot about that.
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2002, 03:43 PM   #5
pHaestus
Big Player
Making Big Money
 
pHaestus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: irc.lostgeek.com #procooling.com
Posts: 4,782
Default

I think hoot tested flow without any radiator at all if I remember correctly.
pHaestus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2002, 03:59 PM   #6
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

quite a good performance there, especially with ambients that high. Also your 5v line is really steady, what psu do you have?
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2002, 11:25 PM   #7
DodgeViper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 204
Default

Here's the scoop. Seems that Hoot did not test the blocks using his Eheim 1048. What he did is set up his spiget to deliver 158 GPH and this is why he had higher flow through the blocks. What was forgotten was the pressure between his home and the pressure that the 1048 can deliver. Hoot is going to retest the blocks using his pump. Plus with Hoots setup he does not have the lift I have.

Brad: The P/S is an Antec 400w.

DodgeViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2002, 12:17 AM   #8
DodgeViper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 204
Default

Brad, thanks for pointing out my P/S in MBM. I noticed that the 5v rail had drop a little so I gave it a little boost and brought it up to 5.11v.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg temps111.jpg (32.6 KB, 398 views)
DodgeViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2002, 12:38 AM   #9
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

even though it was a little low it was really steady, which I beleive is almost as important as being near 5v
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2002, 01:22 AM   #10
Haddy
Cooling Savant
 
Haddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 434
Default

yea antec makes a good psu
Haddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2002, 09:36 AM   #11
DodgeViper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 204
Default

After making changes to the P/S output voltage I ran the MBM overnight to record, and volts are very stable.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg temps.jpg (35.8 KB, 359 views)
DodgeViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2002, 03:03 PM   #12
EMC2
Cooling Savant
 
EMC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 365
Default

Would be curious to see a couple hour (or overnight) run with Prime95 running
EMC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2002, 04:06 PM   #13
DodgeViper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 204
Default

I don't have Prime95. When I did a search I went to the site and it says I need to download an installer and then download Prime95 and then need to configure. Whats up with all this?
DodgeViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2002, 04:28 PM   #14
EMC2
Cooling Savant
 
EMC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 365
Default

Direct download hereor here
EMC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2002, 06:20 PM   #15
DodgeViper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 204
Default

Ok I ran Prime95 for 1 hour. My ambient temps are on the high side because its rather warm in our home right now.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg temp.jpg (35.2 KB, 303 views)
DodgeViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-23-2002, 06:45 PM   #16
EMC2
Cooling Savant
 
EMC2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dark Side of the Moon
Posts: 365
Default

Thanks And that is still at 162 fsb @ 1620 with a T-Bird, right? Looking at all your posted MBM captures, overnight it would probably go up another 1-2 degrees I suspect, but nbd.
EMC2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-29-2002, 10:58 AM   #17
DodgeViper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 204
Default

After running the system for one week I have came to a conclusion about water-cooling. Recovery time is much faster than air-cooling. My CPU temp's under load are about 6c lower than my Alpha HSF on the same computer. The water-cooling setup is A LOT quieter. I had to back off on the FSB to 160 x 10 =1600 to have a stable computer. Running Prime95, and Toast for 24 straight hours my recorded case temps were 24c and the CPU were 38c.

My only problem I have is my system is loosing a small amount of water. There is no sign of water showing inside the case or at the fittings. I hope the system is still just settling in and air is still rising to the top of my T. Unless I have a small leak inside the rad and the moving air is evaporating the water. I will give it a nother week before tearing the system apart and having a look inside the rad.

With no volt mod I reached my top CPU speed. Soon I will be getting a new Epox board and CPU.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg case water cooling.jpg (36.0 KB, 238 views)

Last edited by DodgeViper; 03-29-2002 at 11:11 AM.
DodgeViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-29-2002, 03:20 PM   #18
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

if it has lasted this long without any problems, I doubt you'll hve any
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-29-2002, 06:14 PM   #19
Jim
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 389
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DodgeViper


My only problem I have is my system is loosing a small amount of water. There is no sign of water showing inside the case or at the fittings. I hope the system is still just settling in and air is still rising to the top of my T. Unless I have a small leak inside the rad and the moving air is evaporating the water. I will give it a nother week before tearing the system apart and having a look inside the rad.

DV-
My fluid level drops still after 4 weeks up and running. No sign of moisture anywhere. It is a mystery to me as well, but these two accounts regarding this issue is not news to me. I have heard this from others.

Nice to see you got it rolling though looks real neat and clean inside your case.

Funny I am getting an Epox 333 mhz board and building again as well, going to get the whole thing inside the case this time.
Jim
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-29-2002, 06:32 PM   #20
DodgeViper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 204
Default

Hi Jim, I place a pin mark at the water line on the T line and within 24 hrs. it drops about 1/8" on the 1/2" ID silicon tubing. Not loosing a lot of water. In a sealed system you should not lose any water.
DodgeViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-29-2002, 06:38 PM   #21
Cyco-Dude
Cooling Savant
 
Cyco-Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 836
Default

do you think the water is slowly evaporating in the fill / bleed tube?
Cyco-Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-29-2002, 06:42 PM   #22
Jim
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 389
Default

DV-
that's sounds just about the same as me, when using the 1/2" silicon tubing for a riser. Is your tubing 1/2", I forgot.

Wonder where it goes? Three weeks to bleed out all air?

I think tomorrow I will top off the riser tube and see what happens.

Hey you got great temps with a heatcore half the size of mine, and you got that thinner water block from Peter I think it was. :shrug:

So is it the block or is my 9 X 11 radiator over kill?????????

Keeps us busy right!
Jim

Last edited by Jim; 03-29-2002 at 06:56 PM.
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-29-2002, 06:45 PM   #23
Cyco-Dude
Cooling Savant
 
Cyco-Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 836
Default

hey dodge, what do you have for a coolant? it looks yellowish in the pic...
Cyco-Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-29-2002, 07:14 PM   #24
DodgeViper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 204
Default

I am using 85 percent distilled water and 15 percent anti-freeze.

Jim, I got the High Volume Block. My temps would even be better, but were very warm right now in Arizona. I have not gotten the cooling in the home up and running yet. My ambient temps are high and they have a direct affect on the cpu cooling.

Last edited by DodgeViper; 03-31-2002 at 10:47 PM.
DodgeViper is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-29-2002, 10:11 PM   #25
Jim
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 389
Default

DV-
Yeah I heard it was suppose to be about 90F there today. Heck if your running 33 with an ambient of 90F that's great!

But it's a dry heat.

You did a great job with it. DId you mount the block with thru bolts?
Jim
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...