Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion For discussion about Full Cooling System kits, or general cooling topics. Keep specific cooling items like pumps, radiators, etc... in their specific forums.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 05-03-2002, 11:07 AM   #1
kibbler
Cooling Savant
 
kibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 107
Default My finished Rig: Mark II

Done!! I'll be posting pics as soon as I borrow that digital camera from a friend...



Oh, and from my earlier post, DDen did send me a new BI Pro (wOOt), now I just have to send the old one back.

I'll have temperature stuff up sometime later as well, seeing as my temp probe needs a new lithium battery.
kibbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 07:09 PM   #2
kibbler
Cooling Savant
 
kibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 107
Default

Sorry, weak question: How do you put pictures into posts?

thx
kibbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 08:22 PM   #3
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

just beneath the white box where you type your messages there is an attach file box
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 09:20 PM   #4
kibbler
Cooling Savant
 
kibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 107
Default

Okay, is this working...

This should be a pic of my rig sitting on a trunk. Tygon tubing looks super sweet.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pict0120.jpg (63.3 KB, 244 views)
kibbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 09:24 PM   #5
mkosem
Cooling Savant
 
mkosem's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: here
Posts: 495
Default

got enough tubing in there?

--Matt
__________________
If you can't cool it, blow it up!!

http://www.mattkosem.com
mkosem is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 09:25 PM   #6
kibbler
Cooling Savant
 
kibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 107
Default

YES!!

Heres a closeup. MAZE2, wye fitting fill tube, and pump (Eheim 1048) wiring. Power cord was cut and fitted with a three prong power plug (like the psu power cords) Originally, my psu had two sockets. I rewired the unused socket into the case thru a hole I drilled into the PSU housing. Where that socket used to be, I installed a rocker switch that shuts down only the pump power, but leaves the psu connected, so I can kill the pump if need be.
kibbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 09:27 PM   #7
kibbler
Cooling Savant
 
kibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 107
Default

Forgot the attachment for the last post
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pict0122.jpg (54.1 KB, 237 views)
kibbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 09:29 PM   #8
kibbler
Cooling Savant
 
kibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 107
Default

Pic of 2 (haha, surprise) 120s at 7V. iI had to cut the bezel a bit to fit the second 120mm. In front of the 120 is a plastic/foam filter. I cut the corners off of one side of the filter so its not attached with the cable ties, so I can clean the foam filter inside easily. Kinda hard to explain, but works pretty well
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pict0124.jpg (50.6 KB, 233 views)
kibbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 09:32 PM   #9
kibbler
Cooling Savant
 
kibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 107
Default

Hmm, that trunk looks a bit dirty

Anyway, last pic of a small bus I attached to the back of the motherboard tray. This is where the fan tails are attached, connected to a 12v and a 5v.

Any ideas, suggestions, comments would be great. This is second rig in a couple of months. This is becoming a far too expemsive hobby. The hydraulic case is really great, tho, I really recommend it.

Now I need a window or something
Attached Images
File Type: jpg pict0132.jpg (44.9 KB, 233 views)
kibbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 10:03 PM   #10
Cyco-Dude
Cooling Savant
 
Cyco-Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 836
Default

you can reduce the amount of tubing by turning the pump around the other way. this will make the tube from the pumps outlet to the rad much shorter, and the tube from the "y" fitting to the pumps inlet will also get shorter. you may have to lengthen the pumps power cord tho (depends on how short you cut it). try routing the cord behind the MoBo tray.

Last edited by Cyco-Dude; 05-03-2002 at 10:05 PM.
Cyco-Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 08:37 PM   #11
ECUPirate
Hottest Stank of them All
 
ECUPirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Washington, DC area
Posts: 533
Default

why does your coolant look blue? it's sweet. I've gotta get tygon. r u using waterwetter?
__________________
Does a radioactive cat have 18 half lifes? --Kenny

my pimpin' rig: ...previously poorly cooled...
486DX-2 66mhz @ 75mhz, 4Mb ram, shared, 256Mb hard drive
Onboard VGA, watercooled, of course
16-color monitor, labtec speakers, 28kbs USRobotics modem
Windows XP (think about it)
Maze 3, DDen GF3 block, Eheim 1250, econoline van HC, 1/2" hose w/ 5/8" fittings Comair 172mm fan
ECUPirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 09:17 PM   #12
kibbler
Cooling Savant
 
kibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 107
Default

Can you believe it?!!!! A friend of mine turned on my comp to get a CD I borrowed from him, but he didn't know about the pump. When I got back (not too late) the heat had melted the tygon hose connected to the brass barb over the CPU!!! Yet, my computer was still running, until I hastily shut it off!

Now I have to clean this mess up Not really his fault, I suppose.

Oh, the stuff I'm using is called Zerex or something, a radiator/automotive anti-corrosive that the guy at the auto supply store said worked the same way as water wetter.

Before this whole mess, I did turn the pump around, and wire the pump behind the motherboard tray, and it worked really well, thanx for the great idea!
kibbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 09:43 PM   #13
UpAllNight
Cooling Savant
 
UpAllNight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: HILLBILLY LAND
Posts: 159
Default

nice looking rig man....sorry about the melt down...thats one reasion i like the ideal of leaving my pump on 24/7....i need it so my wife and kids could just turn it on when im not home
__________________
XP1800 @172x10.5
Maze 3..Ehiem 1250..Chevette Rad
1 120mm panaflo @7v 1" shroud
All fits nicely inside my case
ambient(74 F) 2.0v Core(33.5) Loaded
idle(31.5c)
Enermax 431 watt
Antec 1030B
Gainward Geforce 3 TI200 241/548
Sony CDRW
Creative 52x CD
Soundblaster Live
UpAllNight is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 09:45 PM   #14
UpAllNight
Cooling Savant
 
UpAllNight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: HILLBILLY LAND
Posts: 159
Default

what kinda temps do u get out of your rig...and your cpu and overclock would be nice to
__________________
XP1800 @172x10.5
Maze 3..Ehiem 1250..Chevette Rad
1 120mm panaflo @7v 1" shroud
All fits nicely inside my case
ambient(74 F) 2.0v Core(33.5) Loaded
idle(31.5c)
Enermax 431 watt
Antec 1030B
Gainward Geforce 3 TI200 241/548
Sony CDRW
Creative 52x CD
Soundblaster Live
UpAllNight is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 10:52 PM   #15
Cyco-Dude
Cooling Savant
 
Cyco-Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 836
Default

LOL! your tygon tubing melted!?? what kind of tubing do you have (whats the ID, OD, and formulation?? where did you get it from?)
if you havent already, heres Procoolings pump wiring how-to.

bleh, thats one reason why id just leave the pump on 24/7
Cyco-Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2002, 12:51 AM   #16
Gnozo
Cooling Savant
 
Gnozo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Denmark
Posts: 105
Default

Looks good, nice and clean setup. We want more pics
__________________
AMD XP1700+ @ JIUHB 12 x 202
Epox 8RDA+
Samsung PC2700 512mb
Asus V8420 TI4200
Eheim 1048 - Maze1 - AirPlex EVO240 - Lian Li PC-61
Gnozo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2002, 02:11 AM   #17
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

hmmm, tygon shouldn't melt like that, it's rated above 100C
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2002, 11:08 AM   #18
ECUPirate
Hottest Stank of them All
 
ECUPirate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Washington, DC area
Posts: 533
Default

Dangerden is carrying the r-1000 hose... check out this link...

http://www.usplastic.com/catalog/pro...+Inch+O%2ED%2E

edit: link doesn't seem to work.. here's the relevant part...

Quote:
Tygon Peristaltic Pump Tubing 3/16 Inch O.D. thru 3/4" Inch O.D. Tygon Formulation R-1000 is crystal clear. Peristaltic pump tubing outlasts, out-performs and resists a broader range of corrosive chemicals than silicone tubing. Also it's less expensive than silicone tubing and performs in many of the same types of applications. Outlasts silicone tubing by a factor of 10-to-1. Ultra-flexible (Shore A,40) with an extremely tight bend radius. It's ideal for peristaltic pump applications. Working temperature range -103°F. to 125°F. Standard length is 50 ft. lengths; Sold in 10 ft. intervals only.
the other types of hose are rated at 165F.
__________________
Does a radioactive cat have 18 half lifes? --Kenny

my pimpin' rig: ...previously poorly cooled...
486DX-2 66mhz @ 75mhz, 4Mb ram, shared, 256Mb hard drive
Onboard VGA, watercooled, of course
16-color monitor, labtec speakers, 28kbs USRobotics modem
Windows XP (think about it)
Maze 3, DDen GF3 block, Eheim 1250, econoline van HC, 1/2" hose w/ 5/8" fittings Comair 172mm fan

Last edited by ECUPirate; 05-05-2002 at 11:11 AM.
ECUPirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2002, 12:16 PM   #19
Jim
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 389
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kibbler
Can you believe it?!!!! A friend of mine turned on my comp to get a CD I borrowed from him, but he didn't know about the pump. When I got back (not too late) the heat had melted the tygon hose connected to the brass barb over the CPU!!! Yet, my computer was still running, until I hastily shut it off!

Now I have to clean this mess up Not really his fault, I suppose.
Once again, get Mother Board Monitor and SHUTDOWN NOW. Set the temps 8C above your loads temps and let Shutdown Now protect your rig.

Also, which direction is the air moving through you heater core?

Is this Pentium processor?
Jim
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2002, 02:09 PM   #20
Cyco-Dude
Cooling Savant
 
Cyco-Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 836
Default

we need to email DDen and tell them to get the R-3603 formulation instead, as its much cheaper.
heh, "cheaper than silicone"...yeah right

is shutdown now free??
Cyco-Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2002, 05:17 PM   #21
Jim
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 389
Default

Shutdown was $30.00, still cheap insurance. I wish there were another equal program available, since there is a somewhat complicated manner in which your "reg number/password" may or may not work if you lose it. I tried to understand it all but Shutdown Now comes out of Germany and I think the confusion is in the translation.

I test it every so often by unplugging my pump, so far so good.
Jim
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2002, 05:50 PM   #22
kibbler
Cooling Savant
 
kibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 107
Default

I was (still am using) 3/8 r_3606 from mcmasters. Stuff is really great, although for 1/2 ID I would suggest thickwall, the thin wall stuff just kinks far too easily. Anyway, I read the temp range on mcmasters site, and I'm really surprised that my CPU survived (whew). It's an athlon 1400 no oc. The two fans in front pull air in, but there's an 80mm on the left side cover so the hot air doesn't gather. The positive air pressure is nice too, so it won't get all dusty that easily like my last rig.

I'll have more pics up soon. Thanx for all the comments
kibbler is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2002, 08:57 PM   #23
Jim
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Illinois
Posts: 389
Default

Thought maybe it was a Pentium since it made it through the overheat. Regardless, glad the chip and rig is OK.

Maybe a big red sign: TURN ON PUMP FIRST!

Jim
Jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...