Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion For discussion about Full Cooling System kits, or general cooling topics. Keep specific cooling items like pumps, radiators, etc... in their specific forums.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 05-03-2002, 10:34 AM   #1
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default the waterblock i'v been workin on!

this block is milled with a cnc at my school(that thing is TINY) but heres some pics, dont have it finished yet, i mite hafta wait till monday to finish it
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cap0075.jpg (28.8 KB, 343 views)
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 10:35 AM   #2
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default

another

i can see myself!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cap0074.jpg (27.9 KB, 335 views)
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 10:36 AM   #3
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default

heres what it looks like from the top(better view)

im also gonna revize the design and make an aluminum one(copper SUCKS to mill!)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cap0073.jpg (28.2 KB, 335 views)
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 11:05 AM   #4
webmedic
Cooling Savant
 
webmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cheney, Wa
Posts: 367
Default

Who let you out of the cage at overclockers?
__________________
www.water-cool.com
webmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 11:17 AM   #5
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default

lol, im still there,
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 11:20 AM   #6
webmedic
Cooling Savant
 
webmedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cheney, Wa
Posts: 367
Default

So how does that thing perform?
__________________
www.water-cool.com
webmedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 11:40 AM   #7
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default

like i said, ill finish monday, i gotta cut the top on the bansaw and drill some holes on the drill press
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 12:13 PM   #8
Cyco-Dude
Cooling Savant
 
Cyco-Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 836
Default

looks sweet do0d. how wide / deep are the channels tho? how thick is the base?

finish that bastard and post some numbers (a comparison to a maze2 / 3 would be sweet).
Cyco-Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 12:22 PM   #9
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default

well the base is .25in thick the channel is .25deep and the width of the channels is 3/16in

i cant get it finished till monday need drillpress....and bansaw
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 12:28 PM   #10
jag_e_fattig
Cooling Savant
 
jag_e_fattig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: SoCal, formerly Sweden.
Posts: 110
Default

looks good, hope it works good
__________________
Tearing it up

AER - 05/29/87-10/26/03, I'll never forget.
jag_e_fattig is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 05:47 PM   #11
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

looks nice, are you a bit afraid that a lot of the water will go through the outer channel and not to the centre of the block?
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 09:18 PM   #12
Fixittt
CNC Beyatch
 
Fixittt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Tulsa Spell it backwards
Posts: 721
Default

why not show us the mill it was machined on as well, at least I would be interested in seeing it.
__________________
Creator of the Spir@l Block
Longest post ever
http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?s=&postid=43808#post43808
Fixittt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 09:47 PM   #13
jaydee
Put up or Shut Up
 
jaydee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 6,504
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fixittt
why not show us the mill it was machined on as well, at least I would be interested in seeing it.
Likewise, I bet it is bigger than mine!!!
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2002, 10:52 PM   #14
Cyco-Dude
Cooling Savant
 
Cyco-Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 836
Default

brad, look at the path again. it goes in the mid, splits into 2 separate channels, then meets up again @ the other end

maskedgeek, it doesnt look like there will be room for the fittings. what size fittings are you planning on using anyway?

Last edited by Cyco-Dude; 05-03-2002 at 10:54 PM.
Cyco-Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 12:40 AM   #15
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Fixittt
why not show us the mill it was machined on as well, at least I would be interested in seeing it.
the mill looks similar to yours, but its encased in a box type thing and i think its called "spectralight" yea thats the name

i was gonna get a pic or 2 but noone had their digi cam with that day, and the pics i tried to get the other day, for some reason didnt go, but when i mill a aluminum one ill try to get pics!

and the fittings, actually they are very far apart.....
thats the wood i tested the design on.... and i didnte get around to milling that middle section out...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cap0069.jpg (44.7 KB, 235 views)
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 12:41 AM   #16
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

see the red one has a much much much longer and more restrictive path
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cap0073.jpg (16.3 KB, 229 views)
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 12:45 AM   #17
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default

TURBULENCE










(sp?)heh
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 01:16 AM   #18
Cyco-Dude
Cooling Savant
 
Cyco-Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 836
Default

i wouldnt mill the center out...id leave it the way it is (might make the channels bigger / deeper in increase flowrate tho)

to Brad, im still not understanding what youre talking about lol. what about the red part? the red part leads to the green part; its a continuous channel. im confoozed :shrug:
Cyco-Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 01:21 AM   #19
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default

on the second one i do, im gonna make that island a little smaller, and increase the width of them walls(not the wide ones) becuase they are SOOOOO THIN!
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 01:27 AM   #20
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

now that I've seen the pic that masked geek uploaded, I get the idea of where he will be putting the barbs, not in the places I had guessed
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 01:39 AM   #21
Cyco-Dude
Cooling Savant
 
Cyco-Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 836
Default

yeah, some of those wall look very thin (too thin). maybe make the island thinner, but leave it intact? or just do a buttload of different styles (if you're making em outta aluminum now) and see what works best.

oh, what are the outter dimensions of the block? (L, W, H)
Cyco-Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2002, 10:14 AM   #22
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default

oooh that block is 2x3x.5in the channel is .25in deep,(except were the mill cough and snapped off(around.375))

and yes, the inner island is .25in wide, itll be like 1/8 or so and the walls near that will be as thick as the other ones hopefully
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-07-2002, 08:53 AM   #23
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default

well guys, my wb blew the gemini off the chart! (or got in first)

i have 21c water and 27c cpu wow! its now .09 c/w but last nite it was .125c/w

ok maby something is rong, this is full load also! i did put a thermister next to my core and thats were im getting the 27c and a soil probe in my water wich is were i get the 21c so maby it is rite!

EDIT: Hoot from ocforums lives near me, and he is gonna test it and compare it to the rest of the top dog blocks(gemini, maze 2 swiftech z4.....)
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-09-2002, 09:27 PM   #24
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default

well guys, i reseated my wb and made the probe not touch the wb, so it only touches the core, and im still getting the same results! .1 c/w!
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-09-2002, 09:29 PM   #25
maskedgeek
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: poop
Posts: 145
Default

oh i havent posted pics of the finished product!


ill be getting some awesome pics tomoro of it in my system and my system.......
Attached Images
File Type: jpg cap0104.jpg (21.6 KB, 87 views)
maskedgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...