Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion For discussion about Full Cooling System kits, or general cooling topics. Keep specific cooling items like pumps, radiators, etc... in their specific forums.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 06-19-2002, 08:41 PM   #1
Techguy
Cooling Savant
 
Techguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 130
Default should I invest it extra North Bridge cooling (P4 system)?

I have a P4 2.53b, Abit IT7-MAX, and a Gainward GeForce4 TI4600, etc...

So I'm planning on cooling these. maze3, DD GeForce 4 block, and possible one of the 2 DD north bridge blocks.

I was looking into cooling for the northbridge of my IT7, and noticed 2 problems.

1.
The DD block has holes,
http://www.dangerden.com/images/wate...pset_thumb.gif
the other DD block has nothing:
http://www.dangerden.com/images/wate...set_cooler.gif
I have loops:
http://65.119.30.151/productimage/13-127-123-02.JPG
http://www.hardocp.com/images/articl...eNIK_2_3_l.jpg

2.
The northbridge is TINY!!!!!!!!! I don't want to chip it, and how on earth could I thermal epoxy a big block to this:
http://www.hardocp.com/images/articl...eNIK_2_9_l.jpg


So heres' my Q:
those ppls who OC P4s, do you need to even bother with active cooling, muchless water cooling?

If so, how did you/would you go about cooling this north bridge?


thanks.

this system is vertically orentated, and will be moved on occasion, so I need a good mounting.
__________________
My only PC is a PII 333 with 256MB RAM a GeForce2 MX 200, and 30GB's of 7,200rpm ATA/66 goodness. And yes, I know it sucks.
Techguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-19-2002, 09:17 PM   #2
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

I would go with the block with no holes. Then try and fashion a hold down utilizing the existing mobo loops, that is if they're strong enough. Do you own this board yet? You could also do hold down plus AS epoxy. That way the hold down wouldn't have to bear all of the load and could be a little weak.
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-19-2002, 10:04 PM   #3
jtroutma
Cooling Savant
 
jtroutma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SLO, CA
Posts: 837
Default

I wouldnt even bother trying to water cool the NB. Personally, I would just take a nice large heatsink (biggest on you can fit in there) and a nice 60mm fan and cool it that way. Your RAM or Video card will crap out before the NB will.

But that is just me
__________________
Athlon64 X2 4200+ @ 2.5Ghz (250FSB x 10)
OCZ VX 1GB 4000 @ 250FSB (6-2-2-2 timmings)
DFI LANParty nForce4 Ultra-D
SCSI Raid 5 x (3) Cheetah 15K HDDs
LSI Express 500 (128MB cache)
OCZ PowerStream 520W PSU
ATI X850XT PE (Stock)
DTEK WhiteWater + DTEK Custom Radiator
Eheim 1250
jtroutma is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-19-2002, 10:41 PM   #4
gone_fishin
Cooling Savant
 
gone_fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Da UP
Posts: 517
Default

Here's an Alpha PEP66 heatsink on my Abit TH7II P4 system and it heats up quickly with no fan blowing on it when overclocking. The cubic space it takes up is about six of the default heatsinks. I was able to reuse the clip that uses the motherboard rings from the default heatsink also. All that it needed was a little trimming to fit.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg northbridge.jpg (11.6 KB, 137 views)
gone_fishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-19-2002, 11:42 PM   #5
DigitalChaos
Cooling Savant
 
DigitalChaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Waukesha, Wi
Posts: 698
Default

i wouldnt really use an epoxy on that... you cant expect the contact area being the size of a srew head to hold a waterblock on. from the looks of it.. you probably would want large air cooling like everyone else is saying. so get a heatsink and cut it up.
if you dont want to do that, Zalman makes some pretty large north bridge coolers that are made to be fanless, so add a fan to them and you have awsome cooling
DigitalChaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-19-2002, 11:54 PM   #6
Cyco-Dude
Cooling Savant
 
Cyco-Dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Dayton, Ohio
Posts: 836
Default

you could get this.................

or you could just screw a fan onto your NB heatsink...
Cyco-Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2002, 01:41 AM   #7
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

only bother if you are going to run into front side bus problems. many 845e boards seem to be doing over 170mhz fsb.
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2002, 02:54 AM   #8
pompoen
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: belgium
Posts: 41
Default

just a slow 120mm blowhole in the side is all you ever gonna need
pompoen is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2002, 04:26 AM   #9
Volenti
Cooling Savant
 
Volenti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: in a nice cool spot
Posts: 427
Default

The north bridge on my p4 mobo got almost too hot to touch after I water cooled the cpu (no "wash" off the heatsink to cool it) so I've got the fan of the intel heatsink on it. I'll water cool it when I get my case done, just because I can
__________________
feel free to icq/msn me, I'm always willing to toss around ideas.
Volenti is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2002, 07:17 AM   #10
Techguy
Cooling Savant
 
Techguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 130
Default

ambient, ya I have the system up and running with stock cooling atm. It's all in an Antec SX1200, with ~ 80 CFM in and ~80 CFM out with some panaflo fans that are 24dBA a piece.

My only concern with the north bridge is that all this case flow will be gone, because I'm shooting 4 a VERY quiet PC.


gone_fishin, where did you get that Alpha? how much did it cost?


so I'm not gonna watercool the NB. I'll look into the Zallman and the Alpha options.
__________________
My only PC is a PII 333 with 256MB RAM a GeForce2 MX 200, and 30GB's of 7,200rpm ATA/66 goodness. And yes, I know it sucks.
Techguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2002, 07:55 AM   #11
gmat
Thermophile
 
gmat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,221
Default

Ak this is watercooling forum. So watercool it dude ! And dont add another screamin fan to your system.
If passive cooling aint enough use water not air...
Well that was my rant (i cant stand fans...)
gmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2002, 08:22 AM   #12
Techguy
Cooling Savant
 
Techguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gmat
Ak this is watercooling forum. So watercool it dude ! And dont add another screamin fan to your system.
If passive cooling aint enough use water not air...
Well that was my rant (i cant stand fans...)
I will not use a fan above 30dBA for any reson, and the lower 20's is ideal for ANY application in my water cooling rig.

I don't see how, and it now seems unnecissare to watercool my NB.

If I go active air cooling, the fan WILL be silent low flow on a big HSF.

I was looking @ the Zalman and it looks like I could use the loops.
Now it's a matter of cost.. I gotta find a place that sells the Zalman and the Alpha.

I still need to know what kind gone_fishin is usin.
__________________
My only PC is a PII 333 with 256MB RAM a GeForce2 MX 200, and 30GB's of 7,200rpm ATA/66 goodness. And yes, I know it sucks.
Techguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2002, 09:50 AM   #13
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

gone_fishin is using an Alpha PEP66 which is a socket A/370 cooler for a processor. You can find a review @ overclockers.com and pcnut still sells them (they're kind of old). I think thats a bit spendy for not water cooling the NB. If you wanted to go the air route. Find a surplus store in your area, like we have one called Axe Man surplus. They usually have tons of old heatsinks in all kinds of different sizes for like 5$ each. Just get one of those and cut it down to the size you want.
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2002, 10:48 AM   #14
gone_fishin
Cooling Savant
 
gone_fishin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Da UP
Posts: 517
Default

It's a bit pricey but I had mine left over from a former system. You can just use this as an example to find a larger sink, cut it down, and use the same mounting clip to install it.
gone_fishin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2002, 12:35 PM   #15
DigitalChaos
Cooling Savant
 
DigitalChaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Waukesha, Wi
Posts: 698
Default

http://www.sharkacorp.com/cgi-bin/TL...alogno=zmnb32j

has the zalman with adjustible mounts for $8.45
DigitalChaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2002, 01:37 PM   #16
Techguy
Cooling Savant
 
Techguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Suwanee, GA
Posts: 130
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DigitalChaos
http://www.sharkacorp.com/cgi-bin/TL...alogno=zmnb32j

has the zalman with adjustible mounts for $8.45
using google too?
ya, I saw that same site this morning.
__________________
My only PC is a PII 333 with 256MB RAM a GeForce2 MX 200, and 30GB's of 7,200rpm ATA/66 goodness. And yes, I know it sucks.
Techguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 06-20-2002, 02:34 PM   #17
DigitalChaos
Cooling Savant
 
DigitalChaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Waukesha, Wi
Posts: 698
Default

yup.. google =) i was looking to replace my water blocks for video and chipset with zalman stuff and a silent 120mm blowing over them... (to clean up the mess of tubes and get better cooling for the cpu)

but i decided to just get another rad and fan for the coolant loop to reduce fan noise.
DigitalChaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...