Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Geek Bits > Hardware and Case Mod's
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Hardware and Case Mod's You Paint it, Cut it, Solder it, bend it, light it up, make it glow or anything like that, here is your forum.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 01-30-2003, 10:23 AM   #1
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default Refurbishing a UPS

I salvaged this unit from the office: it's a "Personal Powercell", by APC. It never quite worked well, beeping away every few minutes.

I thought I could at least add a bigger battery to it, but as I found out from reading, the charging circuit probably couldn't handle it.

This unit doesn't have a serial connection, for monitoring, like the bigger models do.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ups powercell.jpg (23.6 KB, 116 views)
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2003, 10:25 AM   #2
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

Upon inspection, I found that the gell cell battery pack was cracked. Voltages were around 7~8.

I'll be ordering a replacement from Allelectronics. These things are quite common.

The UPS is only rated for 170 Watts, so I'm not sure how well it'll do with a new PC
Attached Images
File Type: jpg battery.jpg (36.5 KB, 111 views)
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2003, 05:13 PM   #3
jtroutma
Cooling Savant
 
jtroutma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SLO, CA
Posts: 837
Default

With most UPSs, that's all that needs to happen. Someone with a bit of time on their hands and a few bucks can replace the battery and have a fully functional unit in no time. The batteries only last 2-3 years at the most and need to be replaced about that often.

There is probably nothing else wrong with the unit.

I have personally "refurbished" 3 UPS myself and they are now all in perfect working order. All I had to do was just replace the battery
My best find was a TrippLite 750W UPS (Watts, not VAC) that was sitting in the corner of an insurance company and they claimed that it never worked and wanted to get rid of it. They said that all I had to do was carry it out of the place and it was mine. (Not an EASY task but manageable; unit weight 50+ lbs) All I had to do was plug it into the wall for 24 hours with no load and now it works great. I have my main rig, 19" monitor, pump, router, and dual DSLs running on it and it works great!!!!!

Hows that for knowing what to do...............
__________________
Athlon64 X2 4200+ @ 2.5Ghz (250FSB x 10)
OCZ VX 1GB 4000 @ 250FSB (6-2-2-2 timmings)
DFI LANParty nForce4 Ultra-D
SCSI Raid 5 x (3) Cheetah 15K HDDs
LSI Express 500 (128MB cache)
OCZ PowerStream 520W PSU
ATI X850XT PE (Stock)
DTEK WhiteWater + DTEK Custom Radiator
Eheim 1250
jtroutma is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-30-2003, 07:25 PM   #4
murray13
Cooling Savant
 
murray13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Omaha, NE USA
Posts: 216
Default

I've refurbished one also. Mine is a APC 1400. It had no output at all in either battery or with the line plugged in. Got it from the IT guys at work. They replaced it without really checking if it could be fixed. They did check the battery and said it was fine. So I took it home, found a bad relay, replaced it (cost $5) and I had a $650 UPS, w/monitoring. Best $5 I ever spent. It powers my entire system, PC, chiller, mini-fridge, 21" monitor, cable modem, router, and I get about 25 min of backup. Winblows even had the driver so I didn't have to go looking for one.
murray13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-31-2003, 04:36 PM   #5
jtroutma
Cooling Savant
 
jtroutma's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SLO, CA
Posts: 837
Default

That is a really nice unit there murry13. I also have an APC 1100 w/ monitoring. Only problem was that this one must have taken a lightning hit because 4 out of the 16 MOSFETS were smoked and (litterally) blown to bits.

Now I can ship the unit out to a company back east and they will completly refurbish the unit, repair any damage, replace the batteries, and ship it back to me with a 3 year warranty for $250. Only draw back is that if their is any damage to the printer circuit board itself (not the components on the board) then they can only scrap it for parts and I am out that money.

decisions decisions......
__________________
Athlon64 X2 4200+ @ 2.5Ghz (250FSB x 10)
OCZ VX 1GB 4000 @ 250FSB (6-2-2-2 timmings)
DFI LANParty nForce4 Ultra-D
SCSI Raid 5 x (3) Cheetah 15K HDDs
LSI Express 500 (128MB cache)
OCZ PowerStream 520W PSU
ATI X850XT PE (Stock)
DTEK WhiteWater + DTEK Custom Radiator
Eheim 1250
jtroutma is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-31-2003, 07:41 PM   #6
BillA
CoolingWorks Tech Guy
Formerly "Unregistered"
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Posts: 2,371.493,106
Posts: 4,440
Default

Ben
you're gonna order a battery ??
those things are $13 or less
go to EPO on Fondren, or the one in Webster
BillA is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-01-2003, 07:14 AM   #7
mfpmax
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockledge,FL,US
Posts: 731
Default

Ah, its so cute...its like my APC 420 had a little brother or something
__________________
My old and retired watercooling setup.
Watercooled K6-2 450 at 600
Also Retired - Watercooling an XP1800@1782MHz
mfpmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-01-2003, 09:19 AM   #8
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by unregistered
Ben
you're gonna order a battery ??
those things are $13 or less
go to EPO on Fondren, or the one in Webster
Thanks for the tip! I was going to order it here, but if I can get it cheaper than $22... I'm in NW, so I think Fondren would be closest. I'll be in the Galleria area today.

Quote:
Originally posted by mfpmax
Ah, its so cute...its like my APC 420 had a little brother or something
LOL! I know what you mean! What I really wanted was an APC 800 smart UPS, but this was WAY cheaper
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2003, 12:50 AM   #9
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

Got it.

It was 16.95, not 13.00 . They also had an 8.5 Ah battery, same size, but it was 23.99, so I passed, and stuck with the 7 Ah one.

It's charging now...
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2003, 09:41 AM   #10
BillA
CoolingWorks Tech Guy
Formerly "Unregistered"
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Posts: 2,371.493,106
Posts: 4,440
Default

hmmm . . . .
I paid 13 something 3 wks ago at the EPO in Webster (same name, different store)
and as I recall they were even more at Frys
the best deal is a wholesale battery place on Clark St (United ??)

the itty bitty UPS wont support too much
I have a ($15 garage sale) smart 420 and with only one 21"er and the box I have only 5 min or so to kill it
won't support the dual monitors at all (excess currrent drain)
BillA is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2003, 01:51 PM   #11
Joe
The Pro/Life Support System
 
Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,034
Default

most IT geeks seem to get UPS's for cheap this way. I have 1 1250vA SmartUPS and am looking to get another one. All I needed to do was swap the batteries for new ones... 100$ per UPS gives me 35 min of uptime for my servers, and 25min uptime for my workstations.
__________________
Joe - I only take this hat off for one thing...

ProCooling archive curator and dusty skeleton.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-11-2003, 12:12 AM   #12
hardwired
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Toronto Canada
Posts: 2
Default

I've gotten quite a few units from people the best was an extra battery unit for the stacking APC UPSs guy didn't know what he had so he gave me one for telling him what he bought, the guy does company buy outs.
hardwired is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...