Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Geek Bits > Hardware and Case Mod's
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Hardware and Case Mod's You Paint it, Cut it, Solder it, bend it, light it up, make it glow or anything like that, here is your forum.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 08-23-2003, 07:23 PM   #76
airspirit
Been /.'d... have you?
 
airspirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 1,986
Default

Za weezils:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg lcd9.jpg (68.1 KB, 50 views)
__________________
#!/bin/sh {who;} {last;} {pause;} {grep;} {touch;} {unzip;} mount /dev/girl -t {wet;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} echo yes yes yes {yes;} umount {/dev/girl;zip;} rm -rf {wet.spot;} {sleep;} finger: permission denied
airspirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-23-2003, 07:24 PM   #77
airspirit
Been /.'d... have you?
 
airspirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 1,986
Default

I'm happy witht the results. I'm hooking it to my machine right now and I'm going to leave it between my monitors as pictured. This is a very handy piece of equipment. Thanks for the tip, TK!

Edit: The pix are now registering data from my machine, if anyone cares.
__________________
#!/bin/sh {who;} {last;} {pause;} {grep;} {touch;} {unzip;} mount /dev/girl -t {wet;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} echo yes yes yes {yes;} umount {/dev/girl;zip;} rm -rf {wet.spot;} {sleep;} finger: permission denied

Last edited by airspirit; 08-23-2003 at 08:27 PM.
airspirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-23-2003, 09:09 PM   #78
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

Nice one Airspirit.
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-24-2003, 04:25 AM   #79
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by airspirit
Oh, crap! The screen is lighting up, the LED and contrast pots work perfectly, all the wires are soldered into the right place, but I can't get any signal to the LCD. I can NOT make it display ANYTHING regardless of contrast. any ideas?
The problem is probably rooted in a TINY short where a filament from one IDE wire escapes the insulation and grounds itself.

LOL, easy when you reply too late.

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-24-2003, 04:41 AM   #80
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default

Very nice work Airspirit, welcome to the club of graphical LCD owners!

Is that LCDstudio? I'm messing around a little with it and it seems a nice package.
Can you tell me wich CPU temp it indicates? (socket or diode temp). In MBM it have both temps but PowerLCD only displays the socket temp.

Also, did you receive some supplemental specs (typical forward current) about the backlight requirements with the LCD?
Is the backlight quite luminous? With the right specs we could adapt the serial 12 Ohm resistor and the LCD's luminosity to the right value.

BTW, nice "weezils"...

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-24-2003, 01:57 PM   #81
airspirit
Been /.'d... have you?
 
airspirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 1,986
Default

It is reporting socket temp in that picture. Neither the NF7-S or the 8RGA+ will report diode temp to MBM ... they just use it for overtemp protection. If MBM can read it, though, LCDStudio can output it. The LCD specs can be found here:

http://www.lcdmodkit.com/sheet/lkg240128a2ds01.pdf

My 5V PSU is now putting out 5V rather than 5.2. Good times ....

The LEDs aren't the brightest in the world, but they work fine for what I need them for.
__________________
#!/bin/sh {who;} {last;} {pause;} {grep;} {touch;} {unzip;} mount /dev/girl -t {wet;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} echo yes yes yes {yes;} umount {/dev/girl;zip;} rm -rf {wet.spot;} {sleep;} finger: permission denied
airspirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-24-2003, 04:49 PM   #82
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by airspirit
It is reporting socket temp in that picture. Neither the NF7-S or the 8RGA+ will report diode temp to MBM ... they just use it for overtemp protection. If MBM can read it, though, LCDStudio can output it. The LCD specs can be found here:

http://www.lcdmodkit.com/sheet/lkg240128a2ds01.pdf

My 5V PSU is now putting out 5V rather than 5.2. Good times ....

The LEDs aren't the brightest in the world, but they work fine for what I need them for.
My A7V333 is reporting the diode temp in MBM but not in PowerLCD, have just to wait for the next version...
Still no "real" specs about the BL, what the heck, it's working...
Your PSU is is right in spec, fine.
Have fun,

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-24-2003, 05:00 PM   #83
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default Finally finished...

OK, finally cut my Lian PC-70 window, used the resting alu to cut the frame for my LCD:





After the finishing touch (filing, sanding) here's the result:


Again, some pics with the frame mounted:
(In the meanwhile I made some skins for PowerLCD)




CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-24-2003, 05:47 PM   #84
airspirit
Been /.'d... have you?
 
airspirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 1,986
Default

That is cool ... I think I like the "robo/geek" look of mine without a front frame. I'm kind of strange that way, though.

I still haven't heard from Chronom about the errors in PLCD2 yet ... maybe it wasn't as easy a fix as he thought? It could be that it just doesn't agree with my hardware ... who knows?
__________________
#!/bin/sh {who;} {last;} {pause;} {grep;} {touch;} {unzip;} mount /dev/girl -t {wet;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} echo yes yes yes {yes;} umount {/dev/girl;zip;} rm -rf {wet.spot;} {sleep;} finger: permission denied
airspirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-25-2003, 04:45 AM   #85
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default

Yeepie! Just (pre)ordered my white on blue 320x240 pixel LCD with SED1335 controller from ModwareHouse ...

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-18-2008, 02:00 AM   #86
daredevil3
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: italy
Posts: 7
Default Re: My graphical LCD

Hy Mr. TurboKeu i have connect my asi-c-240128bs-kj-fw lcd to parallel port 25pin but lcdstudio don't work fine. Pin connection are:
1 VSS GROUND
2 VDD POWER (+5V)
3 V0 Power Supply FOR LCD DRIVER
4 C/D H/L WR=L, C/D=H; COMMAND WRITE C/D=LATA WRITE
RD=L, C/D=H, STATUS READ C/D=LATA READ
5 RD L Data read. Read data from T6963C when RD = L
6 WR L Data write. Write data from T6963C when WR = L
7 DB0 H/L Data bus line
8 DB1 H/L Data bus line
9 DB2 H/L Data bus line
10 DB3 H/L Data bus line
11 DB4 H/L Data bus line
12 DB5 H/L Data bus line
13 DB6 H/L Data bus line
14 DB7 H/L Data bus line
15 CE L L: CHIP ENABLE
16 RESET H/L H: NORMAL; L: INITIALIZE T6963C
17 Vee NEGATIVE VOLTAGE OUTPUT (-16V)
18 MD2 H/L H: 32 COLUMNS; L: 40 COLUMNS
19 FS H/L Pins for selection of font ; H: 6 * 8, L : 8 * 8
20 N.C.
I have not powerlcd can you help me?
thanks
daredevil3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-18-2008, 02:07 AM   #87
daredevil3
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: italy
Posts: 7
Default Re: My graphical LCD

Hy Mr. TurboKeu i have connect my asi-c-240128bs-kj-fw lcd to parallel port 25pin but lcdstudio don't work fine. Pin connection are:
1 VSS GROUND
2 VDD POWER (+5V)
3 V0 Power Supply FOR LCD DRIVER
4 C/D H/L WR=L, C/D=H; COMMAND WRITE C/D=LATA WRITE
RD=L, C/D=H, STATUS READ C/D=LATA READ
5 RD L Data read. Read data from T6963C when RD = L
6 WR L Data write. Write data from T6963C when WR = L
7 DB0 H/L Data bus line
8 DB1 H/L Data bus line
9 DB2 H/L Data bus line
10 DB3 H/L Data bus line
11 DB4 H/L Data bus line
12 DB5 H/L Data bus line
13 DB6 H/L Data bus line
14 DB7 H/L Data bus line
15 CE L L: CHIP ENABLE
16 RESET H/L H: NORMAL; L: INITIALIZE T6963C
17 Vee NEGATIVE VOLTAGE OUTPUT (-16V)
18 MD2 H/L H: 32 COLUMNS; L: 40 COLUMNS
19 FS H/L Pins for selection of font ; H: 6 * 8, L : 8 * 8
20 N.C.
I have not powerlcd can you help me?
thanks
daredevil3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-18-2008, 03:34 AM   #88
billbartuska
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Skokie, Illinois
Posts: 322
Default Re: My graphical LCD

Quote:
Originally Posted by daredevil3 View Post
Hy Mr. TurboKeu i have connect my asi-c-240128bs-kj-fw lcd to parallel port 25pin but lcdstudio don't work fine....

...I have not powerlcd can you help me?
thanks
This thread is 5 years old.

See http://www.turbokeu.com/
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Image1.jpg (74.9 KB, 8 views)
__________________
My new rig....
Intel SE440BX-3, PIII 550 (@ 680)
MX440 275/332 (@ 350/400) and 3DFX Voodo 5 5500 160/160 (@180/180)
Two Opticals and 120 gigs (w/28gigs in RAID0) on 4 Maxstors
billbartuska is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2008, 06:13 AM   #89
daredevil3
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: italy
Posts: 7
Default Re: My graphical LCD

Hy can you post software powerlcd for me? lcdstudio don't work fine
thank you very much
daredevil3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-21-2008, 05:35 AM   #90
daredevil3
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: italy
Posts: 7
Default Re: My graphical LCD

Hy, I have powerlcd and now my lcd work!
daredevil3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-01-2008, 01:14 PM   #91
daredevil3
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: italy
Posts: 7
Default Re: My graphical LCD

Hy this is my lcd
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Front.jpg (227.8 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg Rear.jpg (258.0 KB, 10 views)
daredevil3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-01-2008, 08:10 PM   #92
ben333
Uber Pro/Mods
 
ben333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: New Hampshire (USA) Posts: Two hundred somethin
Posts: 420
Default Re: My graphical LCD

Hehe very nice! Bill is right though, this is an old thread. Feel free to make your own

Welcome to ProCooling!
__________________
Pro Slacker
ben333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-03-2008, 02:00 PM   #93
daredevil3
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: italy
Posts: 7
Default Re: My graphical LCD

Thank you, I have any question, why my lcd 240x128 t6963c controller work with powerlcd v1.1 and don't work with lcdstudio v2.0 beta, i have installed microsoft .net framework 2.0.
help me!!
daredevil3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2008, 12:47 PM   #94
daredevil3
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: italy
Posts: 7
Default Re: My graphical LCD

I have the solution my cable was long, now I use a short cable and lcdstudio work.
daredevil3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...