Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies The Home for Snap Server Hacking, Storage and NAS info. And NAS / Snap Classifides

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 03-09-2006, 10:51 AM   #26
gsupp
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Dallas
Posts: 9
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AztecLogic
I need a copy of 3.4.8 too. PLEASE!!!

SnapServer 4100
BIOS 2.4.437
Hardware 2.2.1
Current OS 3.4.79
Why? The 4100 is limited to drives <137GB, regardless of OS version.
gsupp is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2006, 12:31 PM   #27
AztecLogic
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 11
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

I have an "Unknown disk operation error." in the array status and I'm hoping a new OS will at least recognize the error and possibly fix it too. Should I go for 4?
AztecLogic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2006, 03:21 PM   #28
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

gsupp,

The restriction is in the bios. The 4100 have a promise controller that has a bug to keep it from handling LBA 48 bit correctly. Instead of releasing a BIOS update to correct the firmware problem, they elected not too. Hoping users would upgrade to newer units. We have tried till were blue on the face, NO LUCK.

Azteclogic,

Connect as admin and look through the trouble log. You may be having a drive problem or failure. Post what you have, Model, OS, HW, BIOS and disk configuration if you need help.

Upgrading the OS when you have a problem generally compound the problem.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2006, 09:21 PM   #29
AztecLogic
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 11
Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

The error is: File System : Failed to resynchronize logical set 60000, error -1

OS: 4.0.86 (just upgraded)
Hardware version: 2.2.1
BIOS: 2.4.437
AztecLogic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-13-2006, 06:04 AM   #30
tjt
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Model: 1000 series
Software: 3.1.626 (US)
Hardware: 3.1.1
BIOS: 2.1.363

Where can I get 3.4.805? I replaced an ancient 10 GB drive with noisy bearings with a 160 GB drive, but I only see 30 GB. Alternatively, what's the largest drive that the 3.1 software will use all of? I assume 120 GB, correct?

Thanks in advance,

- Tom
tjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-13-2006, 08:29 AM   #31
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AztecLogic
The error is: File System : Failed to resynchronize logical set 60000, error -1

OS: 4.0.86 (just upgraded)
Hardware version: 2.2.1
BIOS: 2.4.437
OK That's a raid 5 partition error, now what are we working on,4100? . And drive info.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-13-2006, 12:56 PM   #32
AztecLogic
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 11
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Yes, 4100! Below is debug info devices

Logical Device: 60000 Position: 1 RAID Size (KB): 57256176 Free (KB): 36697912 Public Mounted
Label:RAID5 Small 20Gig Disks
Unique Id: 0x72683BAA60CD3171 Mount: /0 Index: 0 Order: 2
Partition: 10000 Physical: 10007 R 60000 Size (KB): 19350032 Starting Blk: 24958 Public
Physical: 10007 Drive Slot: 0 IDE Size (KB): 19550720 Fixed
Partition: 10008 Physical: 1000F R 60000 Size (KB): 19350032 Starting Blk: 24958 Public
Physical: 1000F Drive Slot: 1 IDE Size (KB): 19550720 Fixed
Partition: 10010 Physical: 10017 R 60000 Size (KB): 19350032 Starting Blk: 24958 Public
Physical: 10017 Drive Slot: 2 IDE Size (KB): 19550720 Fixed
Partition: 10018 Physical: 1001F R 60000 Size (KB): 19350032 Starting Blk: 24958 Public
Physical: 1001F Drive Slot: 3 IDE Size (KB): 19550720 Fixed
AztecLogic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-13-2006, 03:22 PM   #33
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

What does the error log show?
It will help pin point what is generating the error.
What size HD instslled 20gigs?
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-13-2006, 09:05 PM   #34
tjt
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: US
Posts: 2
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

*sigh* Sometimes things are easy (and stupid!). I had the disk jumper set for "make my disk only 32 gigabytes" instead of "Master". Without that, the software upgrade was kinda pointless. All better now.
tjt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-14-2006, 04:54 AM   #35
Chanserg
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Russia
Posts: 2
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

I need a copy of 3.4.805 too. PLEASE!!!

SnapServer 4100
BIOS 2.4.437
Hardware 2.2.1
Current OS 3.4.79
Chanserg is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-14-2006, 07:58 AM   #36
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

What For ? the 4100 does not support large disk,
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-14-2006, 08:53 AM   #37
Chanserg
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Russia
Posts: 2
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

For Windows 2003 active directory
Chanserg is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-14-2006, 12:18 PM   #38
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

That is only suported with v4. Where did you find out that 805 supported AD? Adaptec will not even acknowledge the 805 exist.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820

Last edited by blue68f100; 03-15-2006 at 12:28 PM.
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-14-2006, 05:26 PM   #39
jontz
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 385
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Are there any other advantages to .805 besides large disk support (and possibly AD support, if the above post is true)?
jontz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-15-2006, 09:09 AM   #40
AztecLogic
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 11
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue68f100
What does the error log show?
It will help pin point what is generating the error.
What size HD instslled 20gigs?

This is all that is relevent in the log:
E File System : Failed to resynchronize logical set 60000, error -1 Disk 60000
RAID 5 3/13/2006 12:00:04 PM
I File System : Opened FDB for device 0x60000 Disk 60000
RAID 5 3/13/2006 11:28:26 AM
I File System Check : partition is clean. Disk 60000
RAID 5 3/13/2006 11:28:26 AM
I File System Check : Executing fsck /dev/rraid0 /fix Disk 60000
RAID 5 3/13/2006 11:28:26 AM
AztecLogic is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-15-2006, 12:22 PM   #41
re3dyb0y
Cooling Savant
 
re3dyb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 909
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue68f100
That is only suported with v4. Where did you find out that 805 supported AD? Averatec will not even acknowledge the 805 exist.
You're getting confused with your laptop

You mean Adaptec

:P
__________________
Snap Server Help Wiki - http://wiki.procooling.com/index.php/Snap_Server

Snap Server 2200 v3.4.807
2x 250GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
w/ UNIDFC601512M Replacement Fan

"Did you really think it would be that easy??"


Other NAS's
1x NSLU2 w/ 512mb Corsair Flash Voyager
Running Unslung 6.8b

1x NSLU2 w/ 8Gb LaCie Carte Orange
Running Debian/NSLU2 Stable 4.0r0


250GB LaCie Ethernet Disk
Running Windows XP Embedded
re3dyb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-15-2006, 12:25 PM   #42
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Are these new drives? I'm seeing 4 x 30 gig drives.
It could even be a ram related. Use "debug memory" to check amount and use.

One is have a problem. The problem it's not telling us which one. Which may be multiple.
Re check to make sure all of the cables are fully setted. ANnd the power cables are tight. I have had some loosen up. Look at the connectors make sure they are not turning black. Indications of heating up. Generally you can run a thin screwdriver between the connector and housing to tighten up.

Are you using a 4 disk array? Try setting 1 as a hot spare. Then if one fails it will use the spare.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-15-2006, 12:28 PM   #43
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by re3dyb0y
You're getting confused with your laptop

You mean Adaptec

:P
Aparently so, will correct.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-17-2006, 12:05 AM   #44
shadowman
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA, TX
Posts: 23
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Maybe I am barking up the wrong tree.

How does one make an ISO image of the Snap OS in case of a hard drive failure? I suspect I can make a GHOST File of entire GOOD SNAP OS Disk before I put any Data on it. So I can perform a Sector by Sector GHOST.

Any thoughts?

SM


P.S. I forgot to mention I tried upgrading to v4 for Active Directory functionality. Upgrade would not take. Some error saying "file not valid upgrade for your server".
shadowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-17-2006, 08:34 AM   #45
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Check the wiki section out. It is posted there on how to make a copy of the boot tracks. And how to use the image to setup a new drive.

You have to upgrade with the full version first (4.4.830), then do the 860 patch. BUT if you a one of th older units which store the OS in flash ram, you can't backup after an upgrade. We haven't figured out how to over write it (flashram).

Sadowman, what model of snap do you have?
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-17-2006, 12:53 PM   #46
turbops
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Kissimmee, FL
Posts: 8
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

I am also looking for the Snap OS 3.4.805 please.

Last edited by turbops; 03-17-2006 at 08:35 PM.
turbops is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-18-2006, 12:04 AM   #47
shadowman
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA, TX
Posts: 23
Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Blue,

I have a Snap 2200.

Model Software Hardware Server # BIOS
2000 series 3.4.805 (US) 2.0.4 810111 3.4.758



Thanks for the pointers. I will read up on those procedures.


SM
shadowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-30-2006, 12:58 AM   #48
byteme2
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Could I grab a copy of OS 3.4.805 also?

Thanks,
Paul

byteme2 at rcn.com
byteme2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-30-2006, 01:23 AM   #49
aureliano
Cooling Neophyte
 
aureliano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Brescia, Italy
Posts: 2
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Well, first post here, hi all.

I came up to this board while I was lookin' for some info on how to rebuild my Snap 2200 raid 1, and would like to thank all for the precise and very helpful info I found just searching the forum. Problem solved.

Cheers apart, I'm running with the following config:

Software: 2.2.393
Hardware: 2.0.0
BIOS: 2.0.252

The drives are 2 Quantum lct 30 gig each, I'd like to replace with larger ones.

Could anyone please let me know how to upgrade the OS to this 3.4.805?

Thanx
__________________
./stealing bandwidth off of the internet since 1996
aureliano is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-30-2006, 08:16 AM   #50
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

The OS is stored on the HD's. Upgrading drives in the 2200, require the unit to be in RAID1. Then you swap the drives out one at a time. The unit should copy the os over. Or you can use dd to copy the boot tracks to the new drives. Then reformat the drives to use the full disk. If you are going to upgrade the OS do it before the swap.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...