Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion For discussion about Full Cooling System kits, or general cooling topics. Keep specific cooling items like pumps, radiators, etc... in their specific forums.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 10-21-2000, 12:35 AM   #1
Kodiak
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 18
Default Water cooling for GeForce RAM - what do you think???

Hi,

I want to overclock a GeForce which I will be getting soon. I want to clock to very high speeds so I was wondering about a better way to cool the RAM rather than using small heat sinks. I will already be using water cooling on the main chip, but then I got this idea:

Cast a block of aluminium in a "L" shape just a bit bigger that the ram chips. Drill a hole through it and hook up water connectors on both sides and run water through it. It would then be glued to the RAM. This set-up should maximise cooling for the RAM enabling some very high speeds.

What do you guys think????
Kodiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-21-2000, 12:33 PM   #2
Joe
The Pro/Life Support System
 
Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,037
Default

Very possible. You will need to be concerned with the space the fittings for the water runs take up, but other then that there shouldn't be any problems

------------------
C-ya
Joe
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-21-2000, 09:09 PM   #3
Kodiak
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 18
Default

Great!!!

Are you going to be doing this on the DH3 project??? I hope so.

Thanks.
Kodiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-21-2000, 02:18 AM   #4
Kevin
Slacking more than your weird uncle
 
Kevin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: San Diego, CA (UCSD) / Los Angeles, CA (home)
Posts: 1,609
Default

I was thinking of using pelts to do this at one time, but then I thought to myself, "Screw it." Maybe i'll try it some time in the future, but whatever...
Kevin is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2000, 01:04 AM   #5
shr1nk
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 33
Default

someone on the ocp mentioned this, but the general consensus was that it was overkill...but time

gl tho
shr1nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2000, 01:05 AM   #6
shr1nk
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 33
Default

however, i think that memory problems are manfested in errors, not heat....

but who knows
shr1nk is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2000, 01:39 PM   #7
Kodiak
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 18
Default

hehehe

That person on the [H]ard forums was me.... I will usuley post a question on all of the main forums to make sure that I get a reply.

I am not planning to do it any time soon.
Kodiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2000, 02:02 PM   #8
eTiMaGo
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 75
Default

Cooling Overkill... isn't that an oxymoron?
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2000, 01:38 AM   #9
Cryonosis
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Idaho, and that's all your gonna get : )
Posts: 101
Default

I do belive it is
you can never have enough cooling, you just might not be producing enough heat for the cooling to be effective
Cryonosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-30-2000, 10:30 AM   #10
Freakyfrank
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Eindhoven, Holland
Posts: 238
Default

I think with TECs u can have succes with overclocking... but only by putting some extra coolblocks (even waterblocks) that are cooled directly or indirectly by air... u will never see a difference..
RAMs dont make any heat(almost), so cooling them down to room temp doesn't make any sense because they're already at room temp (or a few degrees higher). (Poeple have tried that already.. and with no succes)
But cooling them under room temp CAN make the difference. CMOS performance goes up when temp goes down. CPUs and RAMs are both CMOS devices!
<IMG SRC="http://www.wizard.com/users/scfoster/public_html/Image3.gif" >

Plz tell us if u have succes with TECs..(btw u can use smaller tecs that fit ur rams.. and less wattage, yeah rams do make less heat =)

------------------
OC'ing is my middlename
Freakyfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-30-2000, 12:26 PM   #11
Kodiak
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 18
Default

Thanks Freakyfrank, that is exactley what I thought. My setup that I am buliding right now is going to have the liquid at far below room temp, so cooling my vid card RAM will most likley have a nice effect.

One other thing where did you get that graph image? I have seen it before somewhere.
Kodiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-30-2000, 01:01 PM   #12
JC
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Posts: 3
Default

It would be cool but isen't it a little overkill? I alwayse though that peltier and water cooling on video card was a wast of resource. I'm sure it would work great though.
JC is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-30-2000, 01:25 PM   #13
Joe
The Pro/Life Support System
 
Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,037
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by JC:
It would be cool but isen't it a little overkill? I alwayse though that peltier and water cooling on video card was a wast of resource. I'm sure it would work great though.
I have shared the oppinion that pelt cooling the video card was.. a waste, but water cooling it without a pelt I think is VERY reasonable



------------------
C-ya
Joe - Owner/Editor
www.ProCooling.com
Where the Completely Addicted Come to Cool Off

Somebody set up us the bomb.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-02-2000, 06:09 AM   #14
Freakyfrank
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Eindhoven, Holland
Posts: 238
Default

well joe, i think you're right..
kodiak has the best solution. at first you can use the liquid that also cools your CPU..

did i mention you gotto make sure the fluid is very cold ?? like -20C or something. i think above 0C wouldn't give you much overclocking abilities..


he joe.. sorry for getting your picture.. but i think its a effective and costless solution for cooling your vidRAM.. =) heres the link to that topic http://www.procooling.com/ubb/Forum1/HTML/000002.html only its a bit old.. joe? got some new versions??

but you got to split the waterflow because you have such small waterblocks that will become the bottleneck of your setup.. yeahyeah.. you already figured that one out.. =)

but alu waterblocks would do the job also..

btw the CMOS-image is from <A HREF="http://www.wizard.com/users/scfoster/public_html/"> thermal acceleration extreme </A>

[This message has been edited by Freakyfrank (edited 12-02-2000).]
Freakyfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-02-2000, 12:23 PM   #15
Joe
The Pro/Life Support System
 
Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,037
Default

No man sorry I ditched that project mid spring. wasnt practical ( and wasnt working as good as I hoped. ) But I have been planing on getting back into it. I will let you know what I come up with. but for now I think any chipset cooler will have 3/8" fittings on em instead of 1/8"

------------------
C-ya
Joe - Owner/Editor
www.ProCooling.com
Where the Completely Addicted Come to Cool Off

Somebody set up us the bomb.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-23-2000, 11:59 AM   #16
Freakyfrank
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Eindhoven, Holland
Posts: 238
Default

Kodiak, any result yet??
Freakyfrank is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-02-2001, 05:46 PM   #17
Kodiak
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 18
Default

hehe

no I have no results yet... I have had to change my plans as I am going to a computer uni soon. I still plan to build one heck of a liquid cooled system, better than my original design sometime late this year. Look out for it then.
Kodiak is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-05-2001, 03:03 PM   #18
eTiMaGo
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: KL, Malaysia
Posts: 75
Default

hmmm steve from [H]ardOCP/Hypothermia did some watercooling of his GF RAM... think the site's hypothermia.gamershardware.com looks damn cool!
eTiMaGo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...