Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat

Xtreme Cooling LN2, Dry Ice, Peltiers, etc... All the usual suspects

Unread 09-05-2005, 03:47 AM   #1
Shoebox9
Cooling Neophyte

Default TEC as a case cooler for total silence

Hi All,

INTRO:
I suffer from some sort of increased susceptibility to tinnitus. Whenever I’m around fan heaters, PC fans, fluro lights (they tend to emit a high pitched noise as the ballasts in them age), etc, I get a loud ringing in my hears for hours afterwards.

Because of this I have strong motivation to build a really silent system, but the system also needs to beefy (ie X2 4800+), as I'm a photographer, and editing large photos is part of how I make my living.

Q) So, why not just passively water cool the hot bits & leave the case open? A) h/drive noise, and the high pitched whistle/scream most PSUs & mobos seem to give out.

Stability is important. Mobo condensation insulating, and play-till-it-pops, has low appeal at this stage.
Portability is not important, and I can fabricate stuff out of wood where needed.

MY GOAL: To build a powerful, but totally inaudible system, that will be reliable & stable.

MY PLAN:

* Cool the CPU (& maybe NB, GPU?) using water blocks, a pump, & a large copper/brass car water radiator, with no fans, attached to a wall. I'll use 2 radiators if needed, but plan to start with one.
* Use an old bar fridge as a case. Advantages- it is air tight (I presume), offers reasonably good sound dampening, and is free. Disadvantages- it is big, and I'll need to cut off the external gas cooling pipes & lie it on it's back, so it will fit under my desk.
* Cool the h/drives, PSUs, maybe NB/GPU, plus any other hot things inside the "case" by actively lowering the air temp using a 350w TEC (as opposed to the fridge's compressor based cooling system). The hot side of the TEC will be added to the CPU water cooling loop- to be passively cooled externally.