Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Geek Bits > Hardware and Case Mod's
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Hardware and Case Mod's You Paint it, Cut it, Solder it, bend it, light it up, make it glow or anything like that, here is your forum.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 07-31-2003, 06:56 AM   #1
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default My graphical LCD

Part 1

Again I had to find something to fill my (little) free time so here is my latest buy:
Powertip PG 240128-A grafical LCD with T6963C controller.
240x128 pixels, parallel drive, blue/white color and LED backlight.
Bought it at Modwarehouse for 125 Euro (about 140US$-220AUD$). Had to wait a long time (1.5 month!) because my order (and others) was stolen by an employee of the netherlands postoffice.







Lighting of the LCD is done by six white LEDs on the right side (edge array backlight), good for about 120mA at 3.5V, and a diffusor plate behind the LCD.


CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 06:58 AM   #2
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default Part 2

To connect the LCD to the parallel port I wanted something clean, as well as for the contrast and luminosity settings.
Not to forget a reset switch and the +5V connection.
For the LPT1 connection I used a 36-pole Centronics connector, so I was able to use a standard printer cable.
The whole thing is mounted on an alu profile of 20x30mm that will be fixed on a plexi standard.
The LCD itself will be mounted also on this plexi under an angle of about 70° (I can pick up the plexi this afternoon)

For the cable to the LCD I used a "cannibalized" 40-pin IDE cable. The LCD has 20 pins, so I used only the lower row of the 40-pin connector (1 wire on 2).


As I didn't want any "flying" components I developped a little PCB:

From left to right:
Reset switch, contrast, luminosity, +5V-connection.
Actually power supply is done via an external ZIP100 PSU (exactly +5V), but afterwards I want to connect it to the Enermax +5V rail in my PC-70.
Therefore I decided to include a fuse onto the PCB.





Rear view. The knobs are still not mounted on the trimpots.


CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 06:59 AM   #3
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default Part 3

As principal software to drive the LCD I use Mr. ChronoM's PowerLCD 2.02 (also a guy from Belgium!) available online for 19.99 Euro (about 22US$-35AUD$).
This package is specifically developped for use with graphical LCD's with a T6963c or SED133x controller.

Some pics in action (PowerLCD runs here on my laptop):
Big Clock:


System Info:


Network Info:


Winamp:


CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 06:59 AM   #4
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default Part 4

MBM Info:
MBM 5.3.3 doesn't recognize correctly the chipset of my laptop, so most sensors are missing or wrong...


Mail Info:

Euh, normally it indicates the number of mails at Skynet as "31"...

For comparison of the dimensions of the LCD:
Beside my Nokia 6210:

On this pic you can see the headlines at O'Reilly Network (via Internet).

This is the LiquidMP3 0.9.3 beta plugin for Winamp, with spectrumanalyzer, VU-meter and oscilloscope:



That's all folks...

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 08:05 AM   #5
hara
Cooling Savant
 
hara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Malta, Mediterranean
Posts: 662
Default

Nice job with the PCB, a very clean mod.

I can't really justify the cost though (but that's just me )
__________________
- Every great HD crash day is the day before back-up day.
- My Past System
- "Better to reign in Hell than serve in Heaven." - Milton, Paradise Lost.
- FMZ
hara is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 09:31 AM   #6
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

Wow, that's a pretty extensive software package!

This has been on my list of things to do, but what I really want to do, is put it on a USB interface, so that I have all ports available. I'd mount it inside the case, to where it's visible through the side window.

Nice one, very nice!
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 09:38 AM   #7
TerraMex
Cooling Savant
 
TerraMex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portugal, Europe
Posts: 870
Default

You could go USB with an adaptor :

http://www.usblcd.de/
__________________
"we need more cowbell."
TerraMex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 10:35 AM   #8
utabintarbo
Cooling Savant
 
utabintarbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sterling Hts., MI
Posts: 496
Default

I can't believe that any male actually listens to Phil Collins! Tell me your wife/gf did that!
__________________
Sarcasm is yet another of the free services we offer!
utabintarbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 10:54 AM   #9
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigben2k
Wow, that's a pretty extensive software package!

This has been on my list of things to do, but what I really want to do, is put it on a USB interface, so that I have all ports available. I'd mount it inside the case, to where it's visible through the side window.

Nice one, very nice!
Thanks,
That's why I put my two parallel printers through USB2PAR interfaces onto USB ports.
I got both interfaces for free, one through my company and the other through my sister who works for a company that sells that stuff.

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 10:55 AM   #10
TerraMex
Cooling Savant
 
TerraMex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portugal, Europe
Posts: 870
Default

That's Invisible Touch. It's Genesis. Genesis = Goodness. Phil Collins Solo = changing the station.

I still can't believe he got an Oscar.
__________________
"we need more cowbell."
TerraMex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 11:02 AM   #11
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TerraMex
You could go USB with an adaptor :

http://www.usblcd.de/
Hey Terramex, I didn't know the board was already out.
Anyway it's seems it's only meant for alphanumerical LCD's...
Will have to check that with the author, Robin Adams.

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 11:08 AM   #12
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by utabintarbo
I can't believe that any male actually listens to Phil Collins! Tell me your wife/gf did that!
No... Why?

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 11:17 AM   #13
TerraMex
Cooling Savant
 
TerraMex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Portugal, Europe
Posts: 870
Default

I checked a few other suppliers (including crystalfontz) and the ones that do have USB connections are all alphanumerical and not graphical.

So, it think you're right. No graphical display option for usb connection.
__________________
"we need more cowbell."
TerraMex is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 11:27 AM   #14
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

Thanks guys.

I'm even willing to add a dual parallel port card in my PC, if need be.

The graphics are really a must: what's the point otherwise?
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2003, 12:10 PM   #15
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by TerraMex
I checked a few other suppliers (including crystalfontz) and the ones that do have USB connections are all alphanumerical and not graphical.

So, it think you're right. No graphical display option for usb connection.
At this moment...

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-01-2003, 07:46 AM   #16
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default Part 5

Okay, just picked up my plexiglass, cutted to dimension and folded at an angle of 70°.

.
Have just to drill the needed holes.

(2 hours later...)

LCD is completely mounted and functional.
Actually the wiring and the LCD PCB are still visible.
As soon as I have cut the window in my PC-70 I recuperate some 1mm thick brushed alu, and with that I will make a framework around the LCD with an opening for the viewable area.





On the base all screws are sunk.
Four adhesive rubber feet keep the whole thing stable onto my desk:


CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-01-2003, 07:47 AM   #17
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default Part 6







Printer cable and power supply connected:


CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-01-2003, 07:49 AM   #18
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default Part 7

Some last pics...







The LCD near my laptop where PowerLCD is actif:


Honestly I have to say that the pics do no honour to my Powertip...
In reality the images on the LCD are very sharp and contrastfull, the blue is a very deep blue color, but it is not easy to take pics if you shiver. (less drinking and more sleep perhaps? )

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be

Last edited by Turbokeu; 08-01-2003 at 09:49 AM.
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-09-2003, 09:27 AM   #19
mfpmax
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Rockledge,FL,US
Posts: 731
Default

oh...

Thats nice!
__________________
My old and retired watercooling setup.
Watercooled K6-2 450 at 600
Also Retired - Watercooling an XP1800@1782MHz
mfpmax is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-09-2003, 09:52 AM   #20
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by hara
Nice job with the PCB, a very clean mod.

I can't really justify the cost though (but that's just me )
Thanks,
I rarely make more than one copy of a PCB. (except when asked)
The only cost for me is the time to develop it, all the rest I have already (software, UV-lamps, developper & etching baths, presensibilized PCB, minidrill & drills...)
From the moment a project exceeds 4 or 5 components, I make a PCB....

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-09-2003, 02:27 PM   #21
Alchemy
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Boston
Posts: 238
Default

Turbokeu, I bow to you.

That looks absolutely fantastic.

Alchemy
Alchemy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-11-2003, 04:36 AM   #22
AXDA2600DKV3D
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 40
Default

all i can say is WOW
absolutly beautiful, and you dont get a feel for how huge that lcd is until its next to your lappy

if i had the money to spend i would have to get one, but for now ill have to USE MY MONITOR like all of us normal ppl
AXDA2600DKV3D is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-12-2003, 04:04 PM   #23
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default

This is a pic of my LCD at a greater resolution (2560x1920 pixels, standard compression) to try to show the definition.
Pic is taken at 1/20sec and F3.5, from free hand! (not easy...)
The file size of the pic is about 350Kb, and it represents the logo of my company (click for full pic).



My website has finally been updated with pics and comments of the LCD.

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be

Last edited by Turbokeu; 08-12-2003 at 04:20 PM.
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-15-2003, 12:32 PM   #24
airspirit
Been /.'d... have you?
 
airspirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 1,986
Default

That is fscking awesome. It's good to have more expert modders around the place ... of the non ghetto-master variety.

I must resist the urge to do the same thing ... must ...

... resist ....
__________________
#!/bin/sh {who;} {last;} {pause;} {grep;} {touch;} {unzip;} mount /dev/girl -t {wet;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} echo yes yes yes {yes;} umount {/dev/girl;zip;} rm -rf {wet.spot;} {sleep;} finger: permission denied
airspirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-15-2003, 12:49 PM   #25
Turbokeu
Cooling Savant
 
Turbokeu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Brussels - Belgium
Posts: 232
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by airspirit
That is fscking awesome. It's good to have more expert modders around the place ... of the non ghetto-master variety.

I must resist the urge to do the same thing ... must ...

... resist ....
Thanks Airspirit, it's a big compliment, coming from you.

BTW, resistance is futile...

CD
__________________
My website: http://www.turbokeu.com
Backup website: http://www2.turbokeu.com
My company: http://www.kdcs.be
Turbokeu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...