Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat

General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion For discussion about Full Cooling System kits, or general cooling topics. Keep specific cooling items like pumps, radiators, etc... in their specific forums.

Unread 01-26-2004, 09:49 AM   #1
johnrr6
Cooling Neophyte

Thermaltake Aquarius II---to Spring---or not to Spring

Yes----I'm a noob to watercooling----think I'm pretty good on air designs and airflow----but have never done water so please be gentle.

And----OK---OK-----I KNOW this is not the best little pump/block on the market. But I am not after super overclocks----am after noise elimination and AS GOOD as cooling on air. This SFF box will be a multimedia machine and quiet is essential. By going to water----I hope to eliminate my three nosiest fans (CPU, Vid Card, case exhaust)----and if the Thermatltake fan runs quietly at all----and if the watercooling will just do as good as air----I'll count this a big success----not to mention the modding I've had to do to fit everything in the box.

I'm putting it in a Biostar IDEQ 200N small form factor (the size of a shoebox) and the Aquarius II is small and fits perfectly----in fact----I couldn't find anything else to fit inside this SFF.

Anyway-----question for the watercooling gurus......:

The Thermaltake kit comes with springs you slip INSIDE the tubing to keep any kinks out.

INSIDE THE TUBING??? I just find that to be totally weird. Won't that totally restrict flow??? Or at least slow it down and increase pump pressure a lot.

Common sense here is telling me to either not use the springs and/or get a little stiffer tubing.