Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Geek Bits > Hardware and Case Mod's
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Hardware and Case Mod's You Paint it, Cut it, Solder it, bend it, light it up, make it glow or anything like that, here is your forum.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 11-26-2004, 04:39 PM   #26
Evarus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Evarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Bournemouth
Posts: 34
Default

ok well my fsb is now at 240 because 250 would not boot. now at 3606 is it worth trying 245?
now i have to lower the vcore down? should i just try the cvore down to 1.5 right away? or take it down in stages lol
__________________
----------------------------
Master Blaster Project
How to make your pc
in to a MONSTER
----------------------------
Evarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2004, 04:40 PM   #27
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evarus
also how will i know the fsb max sry im a noob heh
when the pc will not boot no mater what cpu vcore you set and never go over 1.7v

once you get to this point go back to your last good boot and then test how stable the system is for a while. then try lowering the vcore and test again.
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2004, 04:42 PM   #28
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evarus
ok well my fsb is now at 240 because 250 would not boot. now at 3606 is it worth trying 245?
now i have to lower the vcore down? should i just try the cvore down to 1.5 right away? or take it down in stages lol
at 240 can you boot into windows and run something that will stress the cpu a lot ?

i would make sure your system is stable at 240 first and then try higher later.

if it is stable at 240 then lower the vcore 0.1 at a time test again and lower again

do you do have super pi ? this will test your system very well.
or try sandra burin wizard. run then for a couple of hours too.
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2004, 04:44 PM   #29
Evarus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Evarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Bournemouth
Posts: 34
Default

sure i will run the HL2 gfx test lol that should work.

if stable would it be worth raising the vcore to maby 1.65 then going for a higher fsb?
__________________
----------------------------
Master Blaster Project
How to make your pc
in to a MONSTER
----------------------------
Evarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2004, 04:46 PM   #30
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evarus
sure i will run the HL2 gfx test lol that should work.

if stable would it be worth raising the vcore to maby 1.65 then going for a higher fsb?
i think hl2 will use more gfx than cpu 3dmark 2001 used a lot of cpu.
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2004, 04:54 PM   #31
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default

try this and let me know. run it for a couple of hours

http://www.ljsnet.co.uk/cpustabtest.zip

will check back tomorrow to see how your doing.

Lee
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2004, 04:55 PM   #32
Evarus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Evarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Bournemouth
Posts: 34
Default

just did a cpu burn in 10x and it maxed temp at 45'c and held with no problems using sandra
__________________
----------------------------
Master Blaster Project
How to make your pc
in to a MONSTER
----------------------------
Evarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2004, 04:57 PM   #33
Evarus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Evarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Bournemouth
Posts: 34
Default

how long is that test ment to run for btw lol

:EDIT: my bad i really should read
__________________
----------------------------
Master Blaster Project
How to make your pc
in to a MONSTER
----------------------------
Evarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2004, 04:42 AM   #34
Evarus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Evarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Bournemouth
Posts: 34
Default

ran most of the night, all fine and no problems stuck to 46'c
__________________
----------------------------
Master Blaster Project
How to make your pc
in to a MONSTER
----------------------------
Evarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2004, 08:23 AM   #35
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default

well you can stay at 240fsb and lower the vcore running the cpustab test each time for a couple of hours until it fails then raise it up to the last setting.

If you test the vcore settings first you will see how good the cpu is by how low the vcore can go. This should lower your temps a bit too.

you can try upping the vcore and see if you can get it to post at a higher fsb. but the mobo could be the resons it wont post any higher not the cpu vcore.

are you still looking at the swifty pelt cooler ?
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2004, 08:58 AM   #36
Evarus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Evarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Bournemouth
Posts: 34
Default

yeah i will try raise the vcore by .5 and then try for 250fsb if not i will just start to lower the vcore.

yeah im still thinking of getting the swift pelter block but not straight away. will probably build the system then do it last
__________________
----------------------------
Master Blaster Project
How to make your pc
in to a MONSTER
----------------------------
Evarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2004, 09:04 AM   #37
Evarus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Evarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Bournemouth
Posts: 34
Default

humm what mobo would you advise for p4 overclocking?
__________________
----------------------------
Master Blaster Project
How to make your pc
in to a MONSTER
----------------------------
Evarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2004, 11:42 AM   #38
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evarus
humm what mobo would you advise for p4 overclocking?
one way is to look at what overclocks well...
at Cpu Database by overclockers has a good listing of diffrent CPU's and what boards was used when they were overclocked...
i myself don't have a prescott CPU.. have a P4 2.8ghz on a Asus P4C800-E
curretnly FSB is at 257 /w OC of 3.6ghz..
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2004, 12:01 PM   #39
Evarus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Evarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Bournemouth
Posts: 34
Default

cool thanks dude
__________________
----------------------------
Master Blaster Project
How to make your pc
in to a MONSTER
----------------------------
Evarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2004, 04:45 AM   #40
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadHacker
one way is to look at what overclocks well...
at Cpu Database by overclockers has a good listing of diffrent CPU's and what boards was used when they were overclocked...
i myself don't have a prescott CPU.. have a P4 2.8ghz on a Asus P4C800-E
curretnly FSB is at 257 /w OC of 3.6ghz..
almost the same as me. can you go any higher than 257 ? 253 is my limit but it's unstable.

I know it's not my ram as it's xms3200 cl2 and is running at stock speed.
It's not my cooling at i have a water cooled system with the original cascade block so all that is left is my board.

I dont have north bridge water called yet but i do have a danger den zchip ready.
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2004, 02:14 PM   #41
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leejsmith
almost the same as me. can you go any higher than 257 ? 253 is my limit but it's unstable.

I know it's not my ram as it's xms3200 cl2 and is running at stock speed.
It's not my cooling at i have a water cooled system with the original cascade block so all that is left is my board.

I dont have north bridge water called yet but i do have a danger den zchip ready.
I have had it running at 264 FSB but then my fans run at 100%...
my wife complains they are to loud...
because if I lower he CPU fan speed then it does crash...
I believe it has something to do with temperatures of voltage regulators...
I do have a Northbridge water block(DD).
I know the OC is not being limited by my ram.
I have Corsair TWINX 1024-4400 ram running 1:1...
I should be able to get my FSB up to 275 before I hit the limits of my ram...
that is my target...
Pict of my box

The heater core is severally limiting the air intake. Having to raise my the fan speed to 100% attests to that.
The Fans aren’t loud (listed at <30db)but the air turbulence when it hits the heater core is what makes them loud.

I’m in the process of creating an external box to hold 2 heatercores #2-342 & pumps will give me a better O/C.
my thread on that started here
have to update it in the next cople days...
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2004, 08:11 PM   #42
Evarus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Evarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Bournemouth
Posts: 34
Default

nice rig. well one of the things on my list is a northbridge block so i think thats whats next as its running about the same temp as my cpu
__________________
----------------------------
Master Blaster Project
How to make your pc
in to a MONSTER
----------------------------
Evarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2004, 09:39 PM   #43
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Evarus
nice rig. well one of the things on my list is a northbridge block so i think thats whats next as its running about the same temp as my cpu
some think that water cooling the north bridge chipset(NB) is a waste of flow...
i didn't try to O/C my system with out the block on the NB so i don't have anything for comparison...
it is posible that i would be getting the same O/C without the WB on the NB.
so i'm not guarateeing a better O/C.
my 2¢
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-2004, 05:04 PM   #44
Evarus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Evarus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England, Bournemouth
Posts: 34
Default

well it was my plan to do it any way. hay i guess i will find out lol
__________________
----------------------------
Master Blaster Project
How to make your pc
in to a MONSTER
----------------------------
Evarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...