Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Geek Bits > Hardware and Case Mod's
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Hardware and Case Mod's You Paint it, Cut it, Solder it, bend it, light it up, make it glow or anything like that, here is your forum.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 11-10-2002, 09:21 PM   #1
jesus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: my house
Posts: 18
Default i need a C1.

im not gonna buy one til the end of the month. but i was wondering if anyone know wut online store carrys them. lookin for a 1.8A C1 or wutever is the cheapest and get an easy 3ghz+.

._.
jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-12-2002, 09:05 PM   #2
jesus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: my house
Posts: 18
Default

heh some guy in overclockers forum got 3.5ghz with his 1.8 C1... i think that aint to bad.

http://forum.oc-forums.com/vb/showth...hreadid=137751

i want it now.
jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-2002, 12:19 AM   #3
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

I installed a 2.4ghz C1 today, just a standard retail P4. They are starting to filter through now. You might need to wait just a little longer yet.

btw the 2.4 did 3.4 on default air and voltage before the ram died on me
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-2002, 02:12 PM   #4
jesus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: my house
Posts: 18
Default

no way man 3.4ghz is perfect. where'd u buy it.
jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-13-2002, 03:08 PM   #5
airspirit
Been /.'d... have you?
 
airspirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 1,986
Default

I don't believe in you. Fly away, evil spirit!




















j/k!!! Welcome to the forums!
__________________
#!/bin/sh {who;} {last;} {pause;} {grep;} {touch;} {unzip;} mount /dev/girl -t {wet;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} echo yes yes yes {yes;} umount {/dev/girl;zip;} rm -rf {wet.spot;} {sleep;} finger: permission denied
airspirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2002, 04:38 PM   #6
jesus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: my house
Posts: 18
Default

whoa u got a screenshot to confirm that. sounds yummy ;0
jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2002, 06:27 PM   #7
airspirit
Been /.'d... have you?
 
airspirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 1,986
Default

I agree, that is pretty spectacular.
__________________
#!/bin/sh {who;} {last;} {pause;} {grep;} {touch;} {unzip;} mount /dev/girl -t {wet;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} {fsck;} echo yes yes yes {yes;} umount {/dev/girl;zip;} rm -rf {wet.spot;} {sleep;} finger: permission denied
airspirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2002, 07:14 PM   #8
Joe
The Pro/Life Support System
 
Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,037
Default

heheh this may be a noob question, but how do you identify a C1 stepping?
__________________
Joe - I only take this hat off for one thing...

ProCooling archive curator and dusty skeleton.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2002, 07:16 PM   #9
mo
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Canada, Montreal
Posts: 136
Default

Holy god... Thats amazing!!! I couldnt get my 2.53 past 3.1 before my memory gave me problems:P
mo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-14-2002, 08:12 PM   #10
jesus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: my house
Posts: 18
Default

C1's use 1.525 vcore instead of 1.5, or check in sisoft and it says.
jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-23-2002, 05:28 PM   #11
jesus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: my house
Posts: 18
Default

bump.
jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2002, 12:04 AM   #12
ivan2740
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 45
Default

How exactly do you know if a processor that is being sold is C1 stepping?
ivan2740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2002, 01:05 AM   #13
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

I bought it from one of the intel distributors in NZ.

The easiest way to ID a C1 stepping is to have a look at the sspec of the cpu in question. intel's support website has a list of the P4 sspec's and what stepping each sspec is. The voltage is the other way.

I am starting to see more and more C1's, I haven't seen anything below a 2.4 yet. About 50% of the 2.4's are C1's, while all of the 2.5, 2.6, 2.66, 2.8 seem to be C1's. About 50% of 2.53's are now C1's as well. I have only installed one 3.06ghz so far, all 3.06ghz (and all Hyperthreading P4's) are C1's
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-26-2002, 09:40 PM   #14
ivan2740
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 45
Default

Hmm, well I was looking at this:
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...116-139&DEPA=1
I looked at the spec's but it just shows me the intel specs page, and there is no way to distinguish wheteher this processor is a c1 or b0, as half of the p4 2.4bghz are c1... Seeing as it is such a good deal, I am guessing its a B0 and they are just trying to clear their stock of them. Anyone know if these are c1 or b0, or where I can buy a c1 online??
ivan2740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2002, 12:56 AM   #15
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

http://processorfinder.intel.com/scr...ALL&CorSpd=ALL

its a B0
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2002, 12:59 AM   #16
keto
Cooling Neophyte
 
keto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: kansas
Posts: 1
Default

.

Last edited by keto; 11-27-2002 at 03:44 AM.
keto is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-27-2002, 08:24 AM   #17
ivan2740
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 45
Default

Are you sure? Look at this from that exact same intel page...
http://processorfinder.intel.com/scr...ALL&CorSpd=ALL
ivan2740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2002, 12:09 AM   #18
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

does intel intentionally make our lives difficult?

what about simply emailing newegg
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-2002, 01:39 AM   #19
jesus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: my house
Posts: 18
Default

i did just that, and some computer responded to me with wut it says on the faq, lolz. pretty much they have no control, they just ship wutever they have. ordering one in a few weeks, hope i get one. then my 1.6A can retire to another computer

http://www.angelfire.com/emo/stfu/2.88ghz.JPG
jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-01-2002, 05:20 PM   #20
ivan2740
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 45
Default

Hehe yeah I wanted to email or call them until i read the faq=/
ivan2740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-01-2002, 08:11 PM   #21
satanicoo
Cooling Savant
 
satanicoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: portugal
Posts: 634
Default

bah i have a 2.4 c1 stepping ( sl6gs) and it only makes 3000 air cooled... its on a kryo's box at 3312...
satanicoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-02-2002, 05:10 PM   #22
jesus
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: my house
Posts: 18
Default

shoot that aint bad... im goin make sure i get a C1 and just buy a 2.66B. ill post some score when i get it, along with a shiny new 9700 pro. ;0
jesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-02-2002, 09:56 PM   #23
ivan2740
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 45
Default

Hehe I just got a radeon 9700 pro, it's quite nice... I get 12000 3dmark on the lowest settings with this 1600xp
ivan2740 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2002, 08:12 PM   #24
bytesyzed
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hell's Kitchen
Posts: 23
Default

http://www.atacom.com sells guaranteed C1 stepping 2.4 Northys for a $20 premium over the normal ones. This is about the only place I've found where you can be assured that you'll recieve this particular stepping. As far as finding 1.8 C1s; good luck: as far as I know, only OEMs have access to these chips as Intel has yet to fully trickly down to the lower speed chips. I've heard that some people are having fairly good luck with buying Dell computers and taking 1.8 C1s outta them. Apparently, the chances are pretty damn good that you'll end up with a C1.
bytesyzed is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2002, 08:20 PM   #25
bytesyzed
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Hell's Kitchen
Posts: 23
Default

Whoops, make that a 10 dollar premium: they go for approximately $211.
bytesyzed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...