Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Geek Bits > Hardware and Case Mod's
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Hardware and Case Mod's You Paint it, Cut it, Solder it, bend it, light it up, make it glow or anything like that, here is your forum.

View Poll Results: What CPU manufacturer do you prefer?
Intel 17 32.69%
AMD 35 67.31%
Other 0 0%
Voters: 52. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 07-01-2003, 03:05 PM   #1
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default What CPU type do you use in your main system

What is your CPU Manufacture of choice?
AMD or Intel?
Just curious what everybody prefers.
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 03:45 PM   #2
jaydee
Put up or Shut Up
 
jaydee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 6,504
Default

Main System:
Intel Celeron 1.1gig Laptop.

D.F. Cruncher #1
AMD XP1700+ TBred A

D.F. Cruncher #2
AMD XP1600+

D.F. Cruncher #3
AMD XP1600+

CNC Mill Computer
AMD K-6 350

Have a AMD Duron 1gig and a AMD Duron 700mhz for backups.

I prefer AMD as of now, but if things continue the way they are Intel might get a little more business from me. I just go with what works the best for my money at the time.
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 04:21 PM   #3
SparkedFire
Cooling Savant
 
SparkedFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 114
Default

i use an Intel Pentium 4 1.5GHz (willamette core) @1.98. hope to OC more later.

i also hope to get a new mobo on the 865 chipset and get a 2.4(c)GHz chip, in a month.
__________________
If you smell something odd coming from your puter, panic and run crazy. Shut her down and grab a towel.

As to watercooling going mainstream:
We are truely dedicated to it, we know everything, and we have perfected it.
SparkedFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 04:34 PM   #4
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

I have 5 working PC's in the house. Lots of spare parts.
All Intel.
Have 2.53 Ghz P4 OC to 2.66. crappy OC:shrug:
P3 733 for the wife.
Dual P 550 & p500 For the kids
P400 as a spare.

Now working on building my next machine. this time water cooled.
reading this forum has me inspired
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 04:46 PM   #5
jaydee
Put up or Shut Up
 
jaydee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 6,504
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MadHacker
I have 5 working PC's in the house. Lots of spare parts.
All Intel.
Have 2.53 Ghz P4 OC to 2.66. crappy OC:shrug:
P3 733 for the wife.
Dual P 550 & p500 For the kids
P400 as a spare.

Now working on building my next machine. this time water cooled.
reading this forum has me inspired
[Pimp]http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/for...?s=&forumid=48[/Pimp]
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 04:47 PM   #6
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

I didn't use to trust anything but Intel, as there were a lot of issues with the first non-Intel CPUs.

AMD is the only survivor of the Intel lookalikes, and has proven itself time and time again. It's now an essential part of the CPU industry.

I fully endorse AMD. Even without SSE2 instruction set, it will still perform amazingly well, at a reduced price.

I just wish AMD would do something better with their thermal solutions, without compromising the enthusiast market like Intel did.
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 04:53 PM   #7
SparkedFire
Cooling Savant
 
SparkedFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 114
Default

what about unlocking the chips?
__________________
If you smell something odd coming from your puter, panic and run crazy. Shut her down and grab a towel.

As to watercooling going mainstream:
We are truely dedicated to it, we know everything, and we have perfected it.
SparkedFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 04:55 PM   #8
jaydee
Put up or Shut Up
 
jaydee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 6,504
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SparkedFire
what about unlocking the chips?
Can't unlock Intels from what I understand, but they have better FSB overclocking ability/options on the better boards.
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 05:02 PM   #9
SparkedFire
Cooling Savant
 
SparkedFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 114
Default

i know you cant unlock them but it would be nice if they did.
__________________
If you smell something odd coming from your puter, panic and run crazy. Shut her down and grab a towel.

As to watercooling going mainstream:
We are truely dedicated to it, we know everything, and we have perfected it.
SparkedFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 05:04 PM   #10
jaydee
Put up or Shut Up
 
jaydee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 6,504
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SparkedFire
i know you cant unlock them but it would be nice if they did.
Aww, misunderstood your question. I heard a rumor that the P5 might be unlockable..... Doubt it though...
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 06:48 PM   #11
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jaydee116
[Pimp]http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/for...?s=&forumid=48[/Pimp]
I'm in it now...
installed it this morning on my machine...
if it would run without a window...
then i'd install it on the rest of the machines..

a history note:
the last unlocked CPU that Intel released was P166.. i think
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 06:59 PM   #12
Yo-DUH_87
Cooling Savant
 
Yo-DUH_87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 230
Default

All Intel here

P4 2.4b@2.7+
P4 2.0a@stock
P3 700@stock (possibly an overclock soon )
P3 600@stock
P2 350@ stock (soon to get overclocked though )
P 166@stock
P100@stock

The last 2 are not running at the mo, but they will be quite soon. I also am seriously thinking about upgrading my main rig to a 2.4c (overclocked, and watercooled I hope ) and begin replacing boxes as I go along

And I already am running a distributed computing for another website, sorry
__________________
Signing out...
Yo-DUH_87

If it works, fix it until it's broke!
Then, after it's broke, add duct tape!

Affordable webhosting!
Yo-DUH_87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 08:58 PM   #13
SparkedFire
Cooling Savant
 
SparkedFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 114
Default

P5, do you mean Prescott? The Prescott will be another verson of the P4. it will not be a P5 because it is based upon the same archetechure as the P4. Only a new archetechure gets a new name.
__________________
If you smell something odd coming from your puter, panic and run crazy. Shut her down and grab a towel.

As to watercooling going mainstream:
We are truely dedicated to it, we know everything, and we have perfected it.
SparkedFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 09:38 PM   #14
jaydee
Put up or Shut Up
 
jaydee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 6,504
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SparkedFire
P5, do you mean Prescott? The Prescott will be another verson of the P4. it will not be a P5 because it is based upon the same archetechure as the P4. Only a new archetechure gets a new name.
I don't know. :shrug:

Quote:
While all of Prescott's technical innovations are important, there's another possible major change that Intel has yet to address: The name.

"Intel has not said for sure that it will call it a Pentium 4," Krewell says. But there are certainly enough changes to the processor to justify a switch to Pentium 5, he adds.

"That's a marketing call that Intel is playing close to the vest right now," he says. "There is no good reason not to change the name, but they may not."

If Intel doesn't bestow the P5 name on Prescott, the company would likely wait until its next big processor change, Krewell says. Expected more than a year after the launch of Prescott, that chip is currently code-named Tejas.
http://www.pcworld.com/news/article/0,aid,111270,00.asp

Quote:
In a keynote here, Louis Burns, vice-president of Intel Corp., disclosed the "Prescott" processor, the next microarchitectural revision in the Pentium line. The Prescott processor will be released in the second half of 2003 at an undisclosed clock speed. Burns did not refer to the core as the Pentium 5, although all of Intel's major core revisions have been rewarded with a change in the brand name.
http://www.extremetech.com/article2/0,3973,6707,00.asp
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 10:10 PM   #15
SparkedFire
Cooling Savant
 
SparkedFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: The Matrix
Posts: 114
Default

nice info and follow-up jaydee. if you havent seen this info on Tejas, well here it is.

Here is the link to the origional data source.

* 90nm/65nm Micron Process
* 120-140mm2 Die Size (90nm) / 80-100mm2 Die Size (65nm)
* Extended Enhanced Hyper-Threading
* 8 Tejas New Instructions (TNI) : New high-performance audio standard, code-named Azalia supporting Dolby digital, multistreaming and improved speech recognition.
* 1MB L2 Cache
* 24KB L1 Cache
* 16K uOps Trace Cache
* 800/1066Mhz FSB
* 775 LGA (Land Grid Array) Package
* Clock Speed From 4.4Ghz & Above
* Supports Socket T, Dual Channel DDR-II 400/533Mhz, PCI Express x16 & ICH6 with Grantsdale chipsets
* Availability H2 2004






Enjoy!
__________________
If you smell something odd coming from your puter, panic and run crazy. Shut her down and grab a towel.

As to watercooling going mainstream:
We are truely dedicated to it, we know everything, and we have perfected it.
SparkedFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-01-2003, 10:16 PM   #16
jaydee
Put up or Shut Up
 
jaydee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 6,504

Future is looking good for us hardware junkies going either way of AMD or Intel!
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-03-2003, 09:18 PM   #17
Joe
The Pro/Life Support System
 
Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,037
Default

in the next 2 weeks I order my Xeon parts. In the next week or so I am thinking of ordering a 19" TFT first though

Actually, I just ordered 2 Tbred 1700+'s from the egg so I can get my dual athlon up a lil bit faster
__________________
Joe - I only take this hat off for one thing...

ProCooling archive curator and dusty skeleton.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-06-2003, 07:35 PM   #18
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default

my main system is a p4 2.53 c1 stepping OC to 3.15 at stock core voltage.

i also have
1gig p3 used with an all in wonder card as a tv recorder/playback.
1gig p3 in a intel server case with 5x scsi raid hotswap setup as a windows 2k advanced server for mcse study.
p4 1.7 for water block testing not in a case will eventually use this as the tv recorder
athlon 1.1gig again for block testing.

the athlon or a p3 will end up as a system in my car for music playback. Currently working on a bluetooth remote control program for my hp jornada to work with this.

i too like bigben2k had many problem with older amd cpu's and found the intel chips to me very stable but this was back in the 486 days.
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-06-2003, 07:35 PM   #19
golovko
Cooling Savant
 
golovko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Purdue University, USA
Posts: 141
Default

I'm an AMD fan personally, heres a list of the cpus ive owned:

Tbred 2400+
Tbird 1333
Tbird 900 (Slot A)
Althon Classic 500 (Slot A)
K6-2 400
Pentium 83 MHz (Overdrive chip for the 486)
Intel 486SX 33
golovko is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2003, 07:59 AM   #20
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

CPU's I've owned:
6502
Z80
486DX33
P166
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2003, 01:17 PM   #21
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigben2k
CPU's I've owned:
6502
Z80
486DX33
P166
so let me guess..
your current system doesn't have a CPU? hehehe...
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2003, 01:27 PM   #22
jaydee
Put up or Shut Up
 
jaydee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 6,504
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MadHacker
so let me guess..
your current system doesn't have a CPU? hehehe...
His current system is the P166, and I am not kidding!
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2003, 01:35 PM   #23
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jaydee116
His current system is the P166, and I am not kidding!
Must be a realy snazzy P166 with 512 meg 400Mhz Ram...

__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2003, 02:39 PM   #24
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

Don't I wish!!! I've got 32 Mb of EDO ram. Does anyone remember it? I think it's even the 5 volt ram, not the newer 3.3: I really have to check that out, sometime... #Rotor, you still have some?

Otherwise, I've got half the parts for the next PC. If everything goes well, it'll last me another 6 years or so...
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-14-2003, 02:51 PM   #25
Joe
The Pro/Life Support System
 
Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 4,037
Default

512mb of ram will never last 6 years. Hell 512mb is barely enough now.
__________________
Joe - I only take this hat off for one thing...

ProCooling archive curator and dusty skeleton.
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...