Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Xtreme Cooling
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Xtreme Cooling LN2, Dry Ice, Peltiers, etc... All the usual suspects

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 08-01-2004, 11:05 PM   #1
muffy
Cooling Neophyte
 
muffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 40
Default Quad TEC Water Block

Here is my Quad TEC Water Block i went quad to gain electrical and hot side Efficiency
Attached Images
File Type: jpg waterblock2small.jpg (33.5 KB, 259 views)
File Type: jpg waterblock1small.jpg (35.0 KB, 184 views)
__________________
Watercooling.co.nz

Last edited by muffy; 07-25-2007 at 06:23 PM.
muffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-02-2004, 02:09 AM   #2
Groth
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: MO
Posts: 781
Default

Two waterblocks and a couple heatsinks on a hotside plate? Funky.
Groth is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-02-2004, 07:41 AM   #3
kizzap
Cooling Neophyte
 
kizzap's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Bundaberg
Posts: 19
Default

what temps?

hows the power bill?
kizzap is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-21-2004, 01:31 PM   #4
freecableguy
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Silverdale, WA
Posts: 16
Default

How is this going to fit on a CPU? Looks like you are going to have some major interference problems.
freecableguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-21-2004, 04:55 PM   #5
jaydee
Put up or Shut Up
 
jaydee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Spokane WA
Posts: 6,504
Default

Interesting. Now how to mount the beast? Maybe better to make it an inline chiller instead.
jaydee is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-21-2004, 09:28 PM   #6
HAL-9000
Cooling Savant
 
HAL-9000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 202
Default

If you're not careful in design, you'll end up with most of those pelts cooling power just going to cooling the environment. The die is only so big, you know?
HAL-9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-22-2004, 06:28 PM   #7
muffy
Cooling Neophyte
 
muffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HAL-9000
If you're not careful in design, you'll end up with most of those pelts cooling power just going to cooling the environment. The die is only so big, you know?

i dont know what happend to my pic but .. the hole thing is not that much bigger than a standard p 4 heat sink . but yes some cooling will be lost
muffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2004, 03:54 PM   #8
JFettig
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Willmar MN/Fargo ND
Posts: 504
Default

Like jaydee said, make it into an inline chiller if you cant get it to fit, and even if it does fit an inline chiller might be better. If they are all 220w peltiers run them all at like 5v and you should be able to cool quite cool without consuming too much power, a 220 at 5v will consume about 7 or 8 amps and has cooled my old duron 1600@2400mhz(with bridge mod) down to 35C under load. CP was between 11 and 15c.

Jon
JFettig is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-28-2004, 10:15 PM   #9
muffy
Cooling Neophyte
 
muffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JFettig
Like jaydee said, make it into an inline chiller if you cant get it to fit, and even if it does fit an inline chiller might be better. If they are all 220w peltiers run them all at like 5v and you should be able to cool quite cool without consuming too much power, a 220 at 5v will consume about 7 or 8 amps and has cooled my old duron 1600@2400mhz(with bridge mod) down to 35C under load. CP was between 11 and 15c.

Jon

like i said it fits straight on. see new pic....
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2907small.jpg (69.0 KB, 133 views)
__________________
Watercooling.co.nz

Last edited by muffy; 07-25-2007 at 06:24 PM.
muffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-2004, 02:22 AM   #10
Belenar
Cooling Neophyte
 
Belenar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Belgium
Posts: 51
Default

Maybe some detail pictures? =because it's quite hard to see the block mounting in this picture ;-)
__________________
The fastest cross team around: Team Supreme
Belenar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-2004, 07:02 PM   #11
muffy
Cooling Neophyte
 
muffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 40
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Belenar
Maybe some detail pictures? =because it's quite hard to see the block mounting in this picture ;-)

ok here you go
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2909small.jpg (46.3 KB, 129 views)
__________________
Watercooling.co.nz

Last edited by muffy; 07-25-2007 at 06:24 PM.
muffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-2004, 08:13 PM   #12
davekusa
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 5
Default

fuggly. But how does it coooooool? temps? system info?
davekusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-29-2004, 10:08 PM   #13
muffy
Cooling Neophyte
 
muffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 40
Default

well it uses 4 T.E.C thremo electric coolers . they work by transfefring heat from one side to the other which means you can run below 0c with enough power. i went for 4 under powered TEC's to gain electrical efficiency ( other wise TEC use billings of watts ) and of cause more TEC should also mean lower temp with the use of more watts, it runs on 2 black ice extreme radiators and a 20cm X 22.5cm active heat sink ( which is also cooling the water ) . interestingly enough if i put one water block directly onto the CPU ( not using the TEC's ) my pc can run with NO fans running while playing quake 3.


in the post i replied to JFettig you can see the PSU's i used in the top 2 bays. if your wondering what all the led is for ( theres more you can't see ) other than make my pc more than 35 kg's it's because with all these high-ish watts running though my pc i was getting induced current, meaning all the voltages weren't stable, however the biggest reason for it was the flicker it put on the screen ( though induced current ) which meant i couldn't play my favourite games any more, cause it made me sick in about 20 minutes. so in went the led and now it's all sweet ass.
muffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-05-2004, 08:26 AM   #14
eXtenz
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 26
Default

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

fuggly. But how does it coooooool? temps? system info?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


...i would like to know this my self, what are you cpu temps with that?
eXtenz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2007, 04:32 PM   #15
muffy
Cooling Neophyte
 
muffy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 40
Default Re: Quad TEC Water Block

Ok here’s an update 3 years later …
Os lets recap on the system the pc was a p4 2.53 OC and a Nvidia 4200 OC

The cooling system was two black ice extreme radiators which are 12x 4.5cm, with fans running at 7 volts. It also had 3 times 20cm x 7.5cm x 5.5cm heatsinks ( http://www.dse.co.nz/cgi-bin/dse.sto...uct/View/H3406 ) from a previous system with VGA water blocks stuck to the bottom of them and one 12cm fan blowing on them as they were lined up next to each other. They were mounted to the top of the system. It had another VGA block on the GPU The water blocks are made by Silverpro. The pump was a Eheim 1046.

The TEC block had quad 80watt TEC’s with two Silverpro CPU coolers

As for temps @ idle it would cool it below 0 however if left for some time the water would heat up and the temps would increase. @ full load the problems were the same which made the hole system not worth the minimal decrease in temps in comparison to the draw backs of using heaps of electricity and significantly heating the room.

After completing the system there some improvement which could have been made to improve the system
1) The hot side is far to thick for having 2 coolers on it .
2) more radiators would always help
3) I should have used nylon screws between the hot and cold side and for mounting the hole thing to the cpu ( however this would have cost a bomb to import the screws from another country since I couldn’t find them in NZ )

Not surprisingly enough increasing the voltage over 12 ( 16.1 max ) didn’t decrease the CPU temps
muffy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2007, 03:36 PM   #16
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default Re: Quad TEC Water Block

Thanks for the update!
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...