Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion > Water Block Design / Construction
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Water Block Design / Construction Building your own block? Need info on designing one? Heres where to do it

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 02-13-2004, 10:24 AM   #1
MMZ_TimeLord
Cooling Savant
 
MMZ_TimeLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Mateo, CA, USA, Earth
Posts: 433
Graphic card solution passage review (suggestions welcome)

Okay, here's the deal...

I have an Ati All-in-Wonder Radeon 9700 Pro card (purchased second hand for $200 ) and I've devised a water cooling solution for it.

I would like to hear opinion on the water passage route I have chosen. (See the attached picture for the initial route chosen.)

Is it fairly optimal? Can it be improved? Can it be simplified? SHOULD it be simplified?

BladeRunner? Cathar? #Rotor? (yep, incorporated your design) and anyone else with experience with water cooling passage routing.

Thanks in advance to everyone...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ati_AIW_9700_Pro_Solution.jpg (88.4 KB, 214 views)
__________________
MMZ>TimeLord

"Oooooooooh... that's gonna leave a mark!"

Last edited by MMZ_TimeLord; 02-13-2004 at 10:50 AM.
MMZ_TimeLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-13-2004, 02:39 PM   #2
dima y
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: palo alto, CA
Posts: 164
Default

as it is right now you have ALOT of material still left in those blocks that makes them VERY heavy.

what i would do is make a channel that goes like this:

FRONT: top left ram chip down to the bottom left corner of the gpu
then from bottom left of the gpu to the bottom right ram chip
then up to the top right ram chip
then to the top right corner of the gpu
then back up the the top ramchip and to the other side

let see here kinda like this?

i belive thats how morphling1 used to do his blocks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ati_AIW_9700_Pro_Solution_Edited.JPG (90.7 KB, 112 views)
dima y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-13-2004, 03:15 PM   #3
MMZ_TimeLord
Cooling Savant
 
MMZ_TimeLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Mateo, CA, USA, Earth
Posts: 433
Default

dima y,

I'm actually trying NOT to split the flow.

Taking out extra material is a no brainer after it's done... just drill holes like you do in structural aluminum on racing cars.

Weight is not really an issue. A fluid path with heavy turbulance at the GPU core is the primary goal.

I can always lighten and purdy it up later.
__________________
MMZ>TimeLord

"Oooooooooh... that's gonna leave a mark!"
MMZ_TimeLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-14-2004, 02:58 AM   #4
ozzy7750
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 42
Default

looks good to me, but i have never done one that complex before.

when do you think production wil begin? what will you be using to make it?
ozzy7750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-14-2004, 04:00 AM   #5
MMZ_TimeLord
Cooling Savant
 
MMZ_TimeLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Mateo, CA, USA, Earth
Posts: 433

ozzy7750,

Probably next week when the copper comes in... got a nice design for a 4 drive RAID rack made of copper too (water cooled of course ).

I'm going to machine it on my mill... nothing fancy... just basic and manual.

I'll make sure and log everything with pictures and a worklog.
__________________
MMZ>TimeLord

"Oooooooooh... that's gonna leave a mark!"
MMZ_TimeLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-14-2004, 12:36 PM   #6
ozzy7750
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 42
Default

nice. looking foward to seeing progres.

i will be doing my whole computer soon as well. i only have a drill press at home, which means i am basically limited to doing #rotor style patterns everywhere. but at uni there is a $1,000,000+ CNC machining centre about 10m away from where i am doing my 4th year project. I am talking nicely to the operator, hopefully he will lets me use it! Not crossing my fingers though.
ozzy7750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-14-2004, 12:56 PM   #7
MMZ_TimeLord
Cooling Savant
 
MMZ_TimeLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Mateo, CA, USA, Earth
Posts: 433
Default

Make sure you ask that the operator do it for you as you want to LEARN how... that way you will have better knowledge later and can just bring him the CNC file and the raw materials.

Most operators (Especially in a school) are happy to teach you.
__________________
MMZ>TimeLord

"Oooooooooh... that's gonna leave a mark!"
MMZ_TimeLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-14-2004, 02:32 PM   #8
superart
Cooling Savant
 
superart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: FL
Posts: 787
Default

You could try and get a job at the shop. I recently got one at my school's shop. That way, he would be more inclined to spend time teaching you, and you get more privileges and freedom if you actually work there.

Plus its a wicked ass job to have
__________________
When you do things right,
people won't be sure youv'e done anything at all.

Looking to buy/trade for used Deep Fryer and Vacume Pack Sealer.
superart is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-15-2004, 02:31 PM   #9
Tum-0r
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: BE
Posts: 13
Default

Just a quick question:
Is there enough room on the back of the gpu to wc it?
Could those mosfets not use wc or will u gain noting for it?

Also, wc your ram any good as the water itself will prolly be higer then 30°
To say it in a other way, is it really that much better then a old hs cut up?

Last edited by Tum-0r; 02-15-2004 at 02:38 PM.
Tum-0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-15-2004, 03:18 PM   #10
Cathar
Thermophile
 
Cathar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 2,538
Default

Looks to me where the water loops from front to rear, that little overhang there will interfere with many motherboard's DIMM slots.
Cathar is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-15-2004, 03:50 PM   #11
MMZ_TimeLord
Cooling Savant
 
MMZ_TimeLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Mateo, CA, USA, Earth
Posts: 433
Default

Tum-0r,

There is a 12mm x 12mm square area directly on the back of the center of the GPU location. It can be used to cool the card too... I saw a post somewhere else with a picture of an ASUS card that had a heat sink in that spot.

As for the RAM on the card, it should be just fine as anything less than 40°C is probably better than the original HS/Fan combo.

Cathar,

Good call on that Cathar... I forgot to check that myself, I'll verify the clearance on my board before I begin construction. If nothing else, I can trim the lower area to clear the RAM modules.
__________________
MMZ>TimeLord

"Oooooooooh... that's gonna leave a mark!"
MMZ_TimeLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2004, 08:44 AM   #12
MMZ_TimeLord
Cooling Savant
 
MMZ_TimeLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Mateo, CA, USA, Earth
Posts: 433

Cathar,

I did the measurements and you are correct... the RAM modules will definitely hit the block in the above design.

Soooo... I redesigned that crossover passage on the end... moved it up. Like so...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ati_AIW_9700_Pro_Solution2-Front.jpg (53.3 KB, 61 views)
File Type: jpg Ati_AIW_9700_Pro_Solution2-Back.jpg (48.3 KB, 70 views)
__________________
MMZ>TimeLord

"Oooooooooh... that's gonna leave a mark!"
MMZ_TimeLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2004, 06:40 PM   #13
Arcturius
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin
Posts: 294
Default

What about moving it up further, and removing some bends, like this?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Ati_AIW_9700_Pro_Solution2-Front2.JPG (53.2 KB, 397 views)
__________________
Everything aircooled (I honestly don't know why you guys let me stay a member...)
Always folding:
WXP Pro:
KD7R + Palomino 1800+
W2K3:
4x P3 Xeon 500 512KB (4 clients)
Linux boxes:
none Had to put them to use doing *real* work.
Arcturius is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-16-2004, 08:56 PM   #14
MMZ_TimeLord
Cooling Savant
 
MMZ_TimeLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Mateo, CA, USA, Earth
Posts: 433
Default

Arcturius,

Thanks... been banging my head on the wall trying to figger what else I missed... thanks!

I'll look at it again... when my head clears... (really tired right now... 2 hours sleep )
__________________
MMZ>TimeLord

"Oooooooooh... that's gonna leave a mark!"
MMZ_TimeLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-10-2004, 07:35 AM   #15
theghengiskhan
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Newport News, Virginia
Posts: 1
Default

any update on this? I am going to be doing something similar to this but with my 9800xt
I decided to go with a slightly more open-flow design as I'm going to be making my blocks out of 2 3/8" copper pieces with 1/16" plate covers. I plan on joining the 2 blocks with a short length of Clearflex60 1/2"ID, 1/8" Wall tubing that I will soak in boiling water multiple times to achieve the 180° bend between the 2 blocks.

theghengiskhan is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-10-2004, 08:20 AM   #16
MMZ_TimeLord
Cooling Savant
 
MMZ_TimeLord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: San Mateo, CA, USA, Earth
Posts: 433

I've modified my design some since theghengiskhan, mostly minor stuff. The last modification, in post #13, has been done and I'm about ready to mill the blocks.

You can check out the whole project worklog here.
__________________
MMZ>TimeLord

"Oooooooooh... that's gonna leave a mark!"
MMZ_TimeLord is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-02-2004, 02:29 PM   #17
trodas
Cooling Neophyte
 
trodas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Czech republic
Posts: 22

Go for it, I can't wait to see it working


...anyway a sidenote - the agp slot release lever - are you sure you can grab it with the finger to be able, after all, remove the card with installed waterblock on it from the AGP slot?

Just make sure or create there some space to avoid this problem...

I once (2years ago) glued heatsink on my oldie FX5200 rams:
http://ax2.old-cans.com/show.php?p=w...0&c=8&d=1&v=v2
...and quess what! From this time I have hard time to remove the card from slot ...luckily, the DFI Lanparty B mobo got a bit special side-removing thing on the AGP:
http://ax2.old-cans.com/show.php?p=w...1&c=8&d=1&v=v2
...but it's still a big dangerous there
__________________
"It is dangerous to be right in matters on which the established authorities are wrong." - Voltaire
...just keep folding, just keep folding... my config - my caps
trodas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...