Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Heatsink/ Heat Pipe / ThermoSiphon Cooling
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Heatsink/ Heat Pipe / ThermoSiphon Cooling The cat will only make the mistake of putting its paw by your HSF once. :) Also the place to discuss the new high end heat pipe goodness.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 09-18-2004, 10:44 PM   #1
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
73 Deg Aircooled 2.53Ghz P4 to hot?

running a 2.53 ghz CPU o/c to 2.955Ghz
it running hot... 73 degC
is that too hot?
not this temp is take off of my P4 internal diode...
I have a Swiftech MC478 Heatsink.. with 120mm fan(evercool) running at 100% (12v)
I have a 1" shrowd on it.
I'm running it with the case open.. and my case temp is 30Deg.
is 73 deg to hot.. or should i just ignore the CPU temp? :shrug:

this temp is take while folding@home running for 25 min...
the temp hasn't changed in teh last 15 min...
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)

Last edited by MadHacker; 09-19-2004 at 01:37 AM.
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2004, 01:37 AM   #2
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

well i put it back to default CPU speeds..
running at 65Degc
air temp is still 39deg inside the case...
I guess i'll have to put in more fans....
might as well customize a case for it...
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2004, 11:52 AM   #3
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

Better.

Your temp isn't going to be accurate here, but it's certainly something to be concerned with.

Have you considered water cooling?
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2004, 06:06 PM   #4
Mars
Cooling Savant
 
Mars's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brampton, Ontario
Posts: 108
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadHacker
running a 2.53 ghz CPU o/c to 2.955Ghz
it running hot... 73 degC
is that too hot?
not this temp is take off of my P4 internal diode...
I have a Swiftech MC478 Heatsink.. with 120mm fan(evercool) running at 100% (12v)
I have a 1" shrowd on it.
I'm running it with the case open.. and my case temp is 30Deg.
is 73 deg to hot.. or should i just ignore the CPU temp? :shrug:

this temp is take while folding@home running for 25 min...
the temp hasn't changed in teh last 15 min...
Holy shit, that's hot! Try beefing up the airflow through the case. Those swiftech heatsinks are pretty heavy. I would make sure it is mounted securely, and flat to the cpu, and make sure you have enough thermal compound between the two.

There is always watercooling. hint, hint.
__________________
The Rage is Relentless
Mars is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2004, 08:00 PM   #5
HammerSandwich
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: 15143
Posts: 358
Default

Agree with Mars that your big fan & shroud may hurt the HSF/CPU interface. However, if it's stable, it's not TOO hot. BTW, what mobo are you using?
__________________
www.procooling.com: It's true we are often a bunch of assholes
HammerSandwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-19-2004, 08:36 PM   #6
freecableguy
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Silverdale, WA
Posts: 16
Default

Geez...it's just a 2.53. Run it like it is, if it dies then it's time to upgrade. Seems funny that everyone wants him to spend more on watercooling that what the CPU is probably worth...
__________________
Intel P4 3.4EE ES @ 3.92Ghz (245x16)
Abit IC7-MAX3 w/custom VTT mod
2GB (4x512MB) Corsair XMS3500C2 v1.1 [BH-5] @ DDR490, 2-2-2-5
ATI X800 XT PE @ 615/585 on NEC MultiSync FP2141SB
SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS
Dual 36GB SATA WD Raptors RAID 0 & Single WD 120GB SATA HDD
Custom TEC Watercooled Lian-Li PC-70
PC Power and Cooling Turbo-Cool 510 ATX-PFC
freecableguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-20-2004, 03:12 AM   #7
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by freecableguy
Geez...it's just a 2.53. Run it like it is, if it dies then it's time to upgrade. Seems funny that everyone wants him to spend more on watercooling that what the CPU is probably worth...
I did upgrade.. that is my secondary machine witch i use as my server...
my main machine is a 2.8ghz o/c to 3.5...
this thread for the issues i'm having with that project

BTW my MB is a Abit IT7
I found out doing some testing that my powersupply is putting out -8.57 volts for my -12 volts... and -2.88 volts for my -5 volt line...
I'll replace that tomorrow... I don't think that would cause my hight temps.. but i think it is mucking around with my network connections... read somewhere that that is one of the few things that use negative voltages...
mebe this will solve my problems... i'll find out tomorrow.. for now i gota get some ZZzzZZ's
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-20-2004, 10:04 AM   #8
HammerSandwich
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: 15143
Posts: 358
Default

I think those voltages are misreported by the mobo. Will be surprised if PSU change helps. I'm not too familiar with the IT7. Anyone know if it reports high temps like the IC7 series?
__________________
www.procooling.com: It's true we are often a bunch of assholes
HammerSandwich is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-21-2004, 12:03 AM   #9
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HammerSandwich
I think those voltages are misreported by the mobo. Will be surprised if PSU change helps. I'm not too familiar with the IT7. Anyone know if it reports high temps like the IC7 series?
well i replaced the power supply...
no difrence..
and the onboard lan is still messed...
guess it's time to rma the board
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-23-2004, 02:07 AM   #10
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

I swapped out the motherboard and my voltage problems went away...
also my CPU running default speed now with only intel stock heatsink is only 51 degC folding..
mind you I removed teh black stuff they use for a TIM and us AS3... want to use up my AS3 so i cna get something better... eventualy...
guess I have to RMA my board...
at least i have it working now
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...