Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Xtreme Cooling
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat

Xtreme Cooling LN2, Dry Ice, Peltiers, etc... All the usual suspects

Unread 04-12-2004, 03:32 AM   #1
joemac
Cooling Savant

Default Peltier/TEC questions

I have recently noticed an increase in question about Tec’s such as what Tec should I use what block, power supply, pump etc. One thing that stands out in my mind is the lack of target temperatures. I don’t see any one saying well I want to achieve x temperature with x processor (maybe I have not looked hard enough) its more like what should I use to cool x processor? It only makes sense to me that a target temperature be defined when these questions are asked. I just want to bring this up in its own thread so it does not seem like I am flaming anyone.
Unread 04-12-2004, 06:11 AM   #2
j813
Cooling Savant

formulas on calculating please
I'm a basic newbie on computation whether TEC or plain ol h2o cooling. heck even on total h2o system design
I dont even understand terms like C/W, etc. :shrug:
Thanks!
j813 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-12-2004, 09:47 AM   #3
Brians256
Pro/Staff

There are formulas for TECs. You need to know:

1) TEC model
2) input voltage on the TEC
3) hot side temperature (how well can you cool the backside of the TEC)
4) wattage of heat input on the cold side

In fact, go to melcor's website. They used to have a free program to design a system!

Now, the kicker is that it is hard for us watercoolers to know 3 or 4. The hotside temperature really depends upon how good your cooling system is. The wattage of heat input depends upon a value that the CPU manufacturers don't give out and it doesn't include the parasitic heat input caused by leakage (where heat moves in from the motherboard and surrounding environment to a cold CPU).