Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Heatsink/ Heat Pipe / ThermoSiphon Cooling
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Heatsink/ Heat Pipe / ThermoSiphon Cooling The cat will only make the mistake of putting its paw by your HSF once. :) Also the place to discuss the new high end heat pipe goodness.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 07-15-2002, 06:49 PM   #1
Acroam
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 85
Default Volcano 7+ and Athlon XP 1600+ High Temps! Help

Hey, Just installed a brand new Volcano 7+ on an AthlonXP 1600+, not overclocked. All installed on a Biostar M7VIB, link here . I have a really thin layer of arctic silver 3 compound in there as well. I know that there is a wait period for it to setup, but these temps are riddiculous. its 66 degrees C at idle. I ran a program called Vcool, and with its idle loop it brought the idle temp to 51 degrees C, but I dont want to have to rely on the idle loop running all the time. Can someone please help here? Thanks in advance
Acroam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2002, 12:30 PM   #2
decodeddiesel
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: classified
Posts: 535
Default

Isn't this the HSF with the temp probe/fan speed thingy on it? If memory serves that temp sensor was poorly designed, and sampled the exhaust air, where even at very high temps it still wouldn't wind the fan to max RPM. I'd say ditch that thing and get an Alpha.
__________________
...i hurt...
do me a favor, disconect me...
they can re-work me
but i'll never be top of the line again
...i'd rather be nothing...
decodeddiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2002, 01:59 PM   #3
Acroam
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 85
Default

It has a low, med, high switch, and on high, Vcool Monitors like 9800 rpm, it might not be that accurate, but thats what its reading. What is a max temp that my cpu should hit under full load, before its burned up?
Acroam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2002, 02:16 PM   #4
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

I'd be more concerned with how it is that you are getting that temp. Is it the in socket thermal probe?
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2002, 02:39 PM   #5
Acroam
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 85
Default

im getting the temp from a program called Vcool to give me the temps. With the idle loop set, its idle is alot lower, but when Vcools idle loop isnt on, (just using to see the temp, its MUCH higher).
Acroam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2002, 02:45 PM   #6
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

You need one of pHaestus core temp readers...
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2002, 03:31 PM   #7
Acroam
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 85
Default

How do I get one of those? And how would I use it?
Acroam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2002, 04:06 PM   #8
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

Well, normally, I'd refer you to this

But after going through your mobo manual, it looks like that's not even an option for you, because it looks like you don't have an SMbus header on your Biostar mobo.

So I was going to refer you to that great article by CK42, but then I suspect that you'll be facing the same problem.

Then I thought I'd refer you to this article by our favorite martian but then you'd need a probe reader...

So I'm hoping that someone else has a link to some other site...
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2002, 05:01 PM   #9
Acroam
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 85
Default

Thanks for all your info and help bigben2k, I guess Ill just have to stick it out not really knowing the true temp on my cpu, lol, but its a volcano 7+ and I've heard some good reviews on it. I ran the computer for a while, and then shut down, and felt the heatsink itself, and there was very minimal heat from it, so i guess its working, and also the switch is on the "high" position. Also, what is the max temp. under load an XP can handle?
Acroam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2002, 05:08 PM   #10
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

Anything above 95C will kill your CPU instantly.

Normally, your temp should never exceed 65C

For longevity, anything in the mid 40's will do ya good.
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2002, 05:11 PM   #11
Acroam
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 85
Default

ok, thanks alot
Acroam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-18-2002, 04:07 AM   #12
Brad
Thermophile
 
Brad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Nuu Zeeelin
Posts: 3,176
Default

if you heatsink isn't getting all that hot then possibly it isn't mounted correctly. I'd try remounting it a couple of times, and see what happens to your temps
__________________
2x P3 1100's at 1400, Abit VP6, 2x Corsair 256mb PC150 sticks, 20gb 'cuda ATA-III, 2x 40gb 'cuda ATA-IV in raid 0. 20" Trinitron. No fans

2x 2400+ at 2288mhz (16.0 x 143), Iwill MPX2, 2x Kingmax PC-3200 256mb sticks, 4x 20gb 60gxp in Raid 5 on a Promise SX6000. Asus Ti4200 320/630. Cooled by Water
Brad is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-18-2002, 11:24 AM   #13
Acroam
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 85
Default

here is the update everyone, I guess the AS3 set in, because now, with Vcool running its idle loop, its at 46-47 at idle, but when playing a game like quake 3 for a while it gets to 67 Cel. I guess thats the best I can expect from the volcano 7+.
Acroam is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-19-2002, 10:15 AM   #14
decodeddiesel
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: classified
Posts: 535
Default

Probably, thermaltake HSFs are not too high on my list, or anyone elses for that matter. Beats the Orbs though I guess....
__________________
...i hurt...
do me a favor, disconect me...
they can re-work me
but i'll never be top of the line again
...i'd rather be nothing...
decodeddiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...