Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Geek Bits > Hardware and Case Mod's
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Hardware and Case Mod's You Paint it, Cut it, Solder it, bend it, light it up, make it glow or anything like that, here is your forum.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 11-19-2003, 03:31 PM   #26
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default

close up.

edit; notice the neoprene on the base + eheim silent blocks by www.low-noise.de.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg driveside2.jpg (42.5 KB, 133 views)
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-19-2003, 03:33 PM   #27
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default

now lets take a look at the res which was based on robotech's article at procooling. it took me long to find a bottle with a large diameter cap + solid walls.

that's it for now.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg front1.jpg (64.8 KB, 138 views)
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-19-2003, 04:06 PM   #28
Pritorian
Cooling Savant
 
Pritorian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Norway
Posts: 201
Default

VERY nice work!

But where are you going too have the cd-roms?
Isn´t the bottle inn that space?
__________________
Boo!
Pritorian is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-19-2003, 04:28 PM   #29
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default

i have room for certain for 1 cdrom and 2 3.5" drives. i think that i can also fit 1 more device in the cdrom bays as long as it isn't too long (rheobus).
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-19-2003, 04:31 PM   #30
Skulemate
Cooling Savant
 
Skulemate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 381
Default

It does get cramped quickly in there, doesn't it? I just built a machine in one of these cases, and I had trouble squeezing everything in, though I managed to retain almost all (4) of my 5.25" bays (I kept 6 of the available 10 3.5" spots).
__________________
Michael E. Robbins
M.A.Sc. Candidate, University of Toronto

12.1 GHz of AMD's finest (17.7 GHz total) crunching proudly for the AMDMB.com Killer Frogs
SETI BOINC: Dual Opteron 246s (Iwill DK8N) | XP2800+ (Shuttle SN41G2) | 3x XP2400+ (ASUS A7N266-vm)
SETI BOINC: 2x P4 2.8E (ASUS P4R800-vm) | Crunching 24/7
Skulemate is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 02:34 AM   #31
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default

and with watercooling?

you are right though, the case looks larger than it is. takes very carefull planning and measuring.
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 02:00 PM   #32
Skulemate
Cooling Savant
 
Skulemate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 381
Default

That is with watercooling.
__________________
Michael E. Robbins
M.A.Sc. Candidate, University of Toronto

12.1 GHz of AMD's finest (17.7 GHz total) crunching proudly for the AMDMB.com Killer Frogs
SETI BOINC: Dual Opteron 246s (Iwill DK8N) | XP2800+ (Shuttle SN41G2) | 3x XP2400+ (ASUS A7N266-vm)
SETI BOINC: 2x P4 2.8E (ASUS P4R800-vm) | Crunching 24/7
Skulemate is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 02:53 PM   #33
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default

hooah, got some pix to share? anyways, if i weren't going for a dual rad setup i certainly wouldn't be having to do all the mods on the driveside. i want quiet and super oc + compact.
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 03:00 PM   #34
Skulemate
Cooling Savant
 
Skulemate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 381
Default

See, I'm only running a single radiator on the motherboard side. I mounted my MD-20-RT in the lowest 3.5" bracket in the rear of the case, which causes me to lose the next bracket also, leaving the top two available. I don't have any pictures yet, but I could probably get some if you are interested.
__________________
Michael E. Robbins
M.A.Sc. Candidate, University of Toronto

12.1 GHz of AMD's finest (17.7 GHz total) crunching proudly for the AMDMB.com Killer Frogs
SETI BOINC: Dual Opteron 246s (Iwill DK8N) | XP2800+ (Shuttle SN41G2) | 3x XP2400+ (ASUS A7N266-vm)
SETI BOINC: 2x P4 2.8E (ASUS P4R800-vm) | Crunching 24/7
Skulemate is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 03:08 PM   #35
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default

for sure i'm interested and i think alot of other ppl will be.

but when i'm visualising this => didn't you loose the psu air intake when mounting the iwaki straight above the psu? in my particular case i opted to mount the psu upstairs to get the psu and wiring closer to where they are needed.
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 03:19 PM   #36
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default

meet teh jr120. was the max width (commercially available) i've been able to come up with. thx dtek.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg front2.jpg (63.1 KB, 90 views)
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 03:21 PM   #37
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default

notice the doublesided tape to seal off shroud<->rad<->case. there are items that are casemodder essentials and double sided tape is one of them (provide dampening, sealing, seating, positioning).
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 03:23 PM   #38
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default

oops, better give a pic with that...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg front3.jpg (59.1 KB, 89 views)
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 03:28 PM   #39
Skulemate
Cooling Savant
 
Skulemate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 381
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by g.l.amour
... but when i'm visualising this => didn't you loose the psu air intake when mounting the iwaki straight above the psu? ...
Yes, I do lose the intake, though there's about 5 mm clearance, so it gets enough air. However, the pump just loves it here, and those brackets will support more weight than you'd think.
__________________
Michael E. Robbins
M.A.Sc. Candidate, University of Toronto

12.1 GHz of AMD's finest (17.7 GHz total) crunching proudly for the AMDMB.com Killer Frogs
SETI BOINC: Dual Opteron 246s (Iwill DK8N) | XP2800+ (Shuttle SN41G2) | 3x XP2400+ (ASUS A7N266-vm)
SETI BOINC: 2x P4 2.8E (ASUS P4R800-vm) | Crunching 24/7
Skulemate is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 03:31 PM   #40
Zogthetroll
Cooling Savant
 
Zogthetroll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 177
Default

FWIW, would you just be able to make some sort of dual-bay res out of plexi (or heck, a short conduit box) instead of using that monstrosity of a gatorade bottle? it seems kind of a waste to be losing the use of all those bays, or do you have as many as you need? just seems like there should be a better solution to it than that. granted, it might cost a bit more than the ol' bottle you got there, but i'd consider it.
Zogthetroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 03:36 PM   #41
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default



you are right, but i hope the beauty contest can be won when everything is finished. that is with the supahmodded front bezel installed. atm there are no practical issues keeping me from using that bottle. that pic makes it look taller than it is.

there will be no windows at the right side so aesthetics is a non issue on the res. i don't quite understand ppl that own more than one cdrom device. if u need to write dvd's then get a dvd writer, that should enable you to read/write dvd/cd's. why would i then want more than 1 cdrom?
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 03:38 PM   #42
Skulemate
Cooling Savant
 
Skulemate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 381
Default

Well, having a pair of optical drives allows one to do direct copies of media... for instance, I use both a DVD-Rom and a Plextor CD-RW.
__________________
Michael E. Robbins
M.A.Sc. Candidate, University of Toronto

12.1 GHz of AMD's finest (17.7 GHz total) crunching proudly for the AMDMB.com Killer Frogs
SETI BOINC: Dual Opteron 246s (Iwill DK8N) | XP2800+ (Shuttle SN41G2) | 3x XP2400+ (ASUS A7N266-vm)
SETI BOINC: 2x P4 2.8E (ASUS P4R800-vm) | Crunching 24/7
Skulemate is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 03:42 PM   #43
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default

well i'm sry, i had no intention to sound flamy. i guess it depends where you got your priorities. i for one will gladly take the penalties for having a near silent super oc behemoth. if that makes me take 2 x time to copy a cd, np, i don't copy that many media anyway. if you do however (shouldn't you be afraid of RIAA?) i can easily understand the added ease of having the second cdrom.

edit: btw why not install all the crappy devices on the gf's pc, i mean i won't allow a printer/scanner/whatever to pollute the surroundings of my game pc
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-20-2003, 03:54 PM   #44
Skulemate
Cooling Savant
 
Skulemate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 381
Default

There are plenty of legitimate reasons to be copying media... for instance, whenever I buy software, the first thing I do is copy it and stick the original copy on my shelf. This prevents me from accidentally damaging the original, which can be a pain in the ass. Same goes for music CDs... I burn a copy, or rip MP3s, and never listen to the original disc.

That said, you're going for a near silent behemoth? I guess our priorities were different... mine's not loud, but you can definitely hear her purr. Besides, my computer is not so much a game PC as it is an alien hunting PC (a la SETI@Home) that occasionally does intensive calculations or simulations for my research.
__________________
Michael E. Robbins
M.A.Sc. Candidate, University of Toronto

12.1 GHz of AMD's finest (17.7 GHz total) crunching proudly for the AMDMB.com Killer Frogs
SETI BOINC: Dual Opteron 246s (Iwill DK8N) | XP2800+ (Shuttle SN41G2) | 3x XP2400+ (ASUS A7N266-vm)
SETI BOINC: 2x P4 2.8E (ASUS P4R800-vm) | Crunching 24/7
Skulemate is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-21-2003, 05:30 AM   #45
G33k
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Bristol [UK]
Posts: 73
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Skulemate
...her...
__________________
"Success is 99% Failure"
G33k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 11-21-2003, 10:52 AM   #46
shiltz
Cooling Neophyte
 
shiltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: usa
Posts: 84
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by g.l.amour
and with watercooling?

you are right though, the case looks larger than it is. takes very carefull planning and measuring.
I noticed that too when I did one of my dual athlon system in that case, still managed to keep 3 5 1/4's, 2 3 1/2" internals, 2 3 1/2" externals and enough room in 2 of the 5 1/4" for 3 1/2" drives if I wanted to put ones there, just takes a good bit of shoe horning to get everything in, especialy using a BIX2 rad which is a big sucker, though I did semi cheat and mounted my res externaly on the back of the case
__________________

Athlon 64 3000+ Venice / Asus A8N-SLI Premium / 2X Corsair XMS 512mb PC3200
BFG 7800GTX / Audigy 2 / Dell FP2001 20.1" / Antec TruePower 2.0 TPII-550
WD Raptor 36.7GB / WD Raptor 74GB / Maxtor 120GB SATA
Water Cooled: CPU Swiftech Storm / GPU Maze 4 / Danger Den Double Heater core / Eheim 1250
shiltz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2004, 06:40 AM   #47
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default

got another one to share after a couple of months. spot the difference with the stock YY b0221.

terribly hard to get rid of the orange peel with a curved surface, gonna let it slide. just mildly sanded till i got rid of the dust/paint specks. this is as good as i can get it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg M4110071.JPG (37.0 KB, 33 views)
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2004, 07:52 AM   #48
Puzzdre
Cooling Savant
 
Puzzdre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Croatia
Posts: 969
Default

WOW m8, I thought you were gone forever LOL
Very nice job, glad you still manage to do the hobby thing, and
very nice to c ya still around

Keep on posting, and don't go away
__________________
'Out of cheese error...
...please reboot the universe (press the GBL to continue)'
Puzzdre is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...