Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies The Home for Snap Server Hacking, Storage and NAS info. And NAS / Snap Classifides

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 02-02-2007, 12:39 AM   #1
evoaz1
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 13
Default Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Hello all. I have been in and out of these forums for some time and consider this place to be the 'Snap Server Authority' so I am hoping someone can help me out with this since I know I can't be alone.

I have a Snap 2000 with the following specs:
OS: 3.4.807
Hardware: 2.0.0
BIOS: 2.0.282
Upgraded to 2x300GB Seagate and 128MB RAM

I just installed Vista Ultimate on Wednesday and I am unable to browse the Snap or map a network drive to the Snap from within Vista. All other XP machines work fine (and have for years), but Vista will not connect regardless of username or password. My windows user/pass is the same as the Snap and should authenticate me with those credentials but it will not. I get a login window every time I try to access the Snap thru the network. I have tried every variation of username I can think of ("user", "machine/user", "domain/user") with no luck.

I have only found a few references to others having this problem, but no one seems to have figured out how to fix it or get around it. Adaptec does not claim Vista support for the Snap 2000:
http://adaptec-tic.adaptec.com/cgi-b...i=&p_topview=1

I know there has to be a way to get this to work without stripping away all of the security on the Snap, which is what someone reported actually did work. I simply can not open the device up that way so I am looking for a way to authenticate. I have even tried setting up a DFS in Win2003 but that did not work either since the authentication passes thru to the Snap.

Help or suggestions appreciated. Thanks!
evoaz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 08:40 AM   #2
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Well, it must be nice being a beta test for MS

I would expect to see a lot of this.

I haven't a clue unless it's a FW thing.

A work around maybe to see if you can access it going through another pc, using it as a relay. But you wold have to setup a pc for every one to go through.

Good luck,
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 02:14 PM   #3
re3dyb0y
Cooling Savant
 
re3dyb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 909
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue68f100
Well, it must be nice being a beta test for MS

I would expect to see a lot of this.

I haven't a clue unless it's a FW thing.

A work around maybe to see if you can access it going through another pc, using it as a relay. But you wold have to setup a pc for every one to go through.

Good luck,
Vista has been released david...


Or at least, has been over here




Could you try creating a share with no authentisication, just to check if vista can actually communicate with the device properly

It could be a problem with OS v3...
__________________
Snap Server Help Wiki - http://wiki.procooling.com/index.php/Snap_Server

Snap Server 2200 v3.4.807
2x 250GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
w/ UNIDFC601512M Replacement Fan

"Did you really think it would be that easy??"


Other NAS's
1x NSLU2 w/ 512mb Corsair Flash Voyager
Running Unslung 6.8b

1x NSLU2 w/ 8Gb LaCie Carte Orange
Running Debian/NSLU2 Stable 4.0r0


250GB LaCie Ethernet Disk
Running Windows XP Embedded
re3dyb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 02:37 PM   #4
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

I know, now their using public beta tester, and charging them to do it.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 03:08 PM   #5
jrmccracken
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 21
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

I am having the exact same problems and it is affecting w2k3 servers as well.
jrmccracken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 03:12 PM   #6
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

AD2003 requires v4.0.860, and there is a patch to the kernel in the FAQ's below the 4100's.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 03:35 PM   #7
jrmccracken
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 21
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue68f100
AD2003 requires v4.0.860, and there is a patch to the kernel in the FAQ's below the 4100's.
I realize that I cannot integrate into AD2003 without V4.0.860, but I should be able to connect to it if it is in a stand alone mode without security, sholdn't i? And tell me how are we supposed to get 4.0.860 if Adaptec stands on the opinion that they are not going to distribute it at all any longer? Please I am not trying to be rude but adaptec is frustrating the bejesus out of me.
jrmccracken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 04:26 PM   #8
eschw95458
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Oh, they distrubute it stil, you just have to pony up some cash

BTW It's not just you Adaptec frustrates, it's everyone who has to deal with them. One of the reasons I no longer use their scsi cards.
eschw95458 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 04:35 PM   #9
jrmccracken
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 21
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Will the guardian OS run on a 2000
jrmccracken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 04:37 PM   #10
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

No
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 07:04 PM   #11
evoaz1
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 13
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Quote:
Could you try creating a share with no authentisication, just to check if vista can actually communicate with the device properly

It could be a problem with OS v3...
I have tried that, but the problem actually exists when attempting to just browse the Snap itself, not even a particular share (which I can't see because I can't get that far). The authentication is not being affected at a folder level, but instead at the device level itself so that when you try to just get a folder listing of the shares available it asks you to login even though my user credentials are the same in Vista as they are on the Snap. No matter what I do to authenticate or not authenticate, I can never get the Snap to list the folders that are available. I have tried setting up a Distributed File System (DFS) within W2K3 to try that approach linking to the shares on the Snap but it failed as well since the actual authentication is passed to the target link, which is the Snap.

I am not running AD, and I understand that I need v4.0 of the OS to do that. This is just straight-forward "workgroup" style sharing that has always worked well with the Snap in the past.

I know there has to be a way around this, I am just not sure at this point what that is. Any help?
evoaz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 07:07 PM   #12
evoaz1
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 13
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Oh, and yes, I realize that I am a "public beta tester" for MS, but hey, I'm a glutton for punishment.... So far Vista has behaved for the most part, but I'm not real happy about not having my Snap!
evoaz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 08:06 PM   #13
jrmccracken
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 21
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

I got mine working fine by upgrading to 4.0.860, which after spending some time with Adaptec support, admitted that most vista users will need to upgrade to 4 because of how Vista enforces authentication on file shares.
jrmccracken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 08:15 PM   #14
evoaz1
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 13
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

jrmccracken thanks - I am going to try that. I have the 4.0.860 OS already, just have never loaded it due to issues I had read about. I guess I will have no choice but to try that and see if it works for me. Thanks.
evoaz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 08:40 PM   #15
Morpheus256
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: canada
Posts: 21
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Jim, can you elaborate on what was involved on the windows side of things after you upgrade to 860? was it the usual plug and connect after that, or are there windows authentication changes that still need to be made.
Morpheus256 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 11:31 PM   #16
evoaz1
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 13
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

jrmccracken can you verify what snap you have? I have the 4.0.860 OS, but when I try to upgrade I am told that I do not have a supporting hardware platform. My Snap is as follows:

Snap Server 2000
Software 3.4.807
Hardware 2.0.0
BIOS 2.0.282

I thought I remembered that the 2000 would support the 4.0.860 software, but maybe I am wrong. Thanks.
evoaz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-02-2007, 11:59 PM   #17
jrmccracken
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 21
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Actually It sounds like you don't have a supported software platform, please realize I don't consider myself an expert on SNAP, but my experience with Active Directory tells me that Vista is enforcing NTLM V2 instead allowing LM and NTLM V1.0. It sounds like from what I have experienced in the last 2 days is that you are using the 4.0.860 upgrade instead of the full install which Adaptec, left me singing like a soprano to get access to. I was able once I installed 4.0.860 full to configure Active Directory, and Viola Vista connected right up. On a side note, prior to Active Directory replicating permissions to the SNAP I was able to open the shares by using the internal accounts.

Snap Server 2000
Software 4.0.860
Hardware 2.0.0
BIOS 2.0.282

The odd thing about this all is that ADAPTEC STILL swears up and down that my Snap was a Dell 705N which is a 4000, instead of a 701N which is the 2000, which is what my SNAP is.
jrmccracken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2007, 01:09 AM   #18
evoaz1
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 13
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Yes, you are right - the 4.0.860 I have is the upgrade. Guess I will need to get the full version from Adaptec. They claim you can install 4.0.830 first and then use the .860 upgrade I have, but my .830 file is corrupted, and I can't find a replacement. Did they charge you to get the full version of .860?

Also, when you say:

Quote:
I was able to open the shares by using the internal accounts
what exactly do you mean? Does this mean using the built in user accounts in the Snap that you added, or are you talking about using the default users like "root" or "supervisor" that the Snap has by default? I have tried every single user on the Snap and Windows and I still can not even see the shares on the Snap within Vista. I am not using AD at this point on these machines - I just need to be able to see the shares. Your explanation of the NTLM authentication sounds right on the money and was what I had kind of suspected. I really want to get this problem solved and the last time I had to contact Adaptec I spent about 5 hours on the phone and buried in emails to get the 3.4.807 OS.
evoaz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2007, 01:20 AM   #19
jrmccracken
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: California
Posts: 21
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Yes I used the Administrator account, but in 3.xx there is no support for NTLM V2 so it will not negotiate the connection. And yes they hit me for 200.00 for access to the files.
jrmccracken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2007, 04:20 AM   #20
Phoenix32
Thermophile
 
Phoenix32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrmccracken

It sounds like from what I have experienced in the last 2 days is that you are using the 4.0.860 upgrade instead of the full install which Adaptec, left me singing like a soprano to get access to. I was able once I installed 4.0.860 full to configure Active Directory, and Viola Vista connected right up.

The odd thing about this all is that ADAPTEC STILL swears up and down that my Snap was a Dell 705N which is a 4000, instead of a 701N which is the 2000, which is what my SNAP is.
You have, or have seen, a FULL install OS v4.0.860 SUP file? I/we were under the impression that this was a myth and that there was no FULL install OS v4.0.860 SUP file, just the update patch and you had to install one of the several other FULL install OS v4.0.xxx to install it?

The Dell 701N is a SNAP 2000 and the Dell 705N is a SNAP 4100. To my knowledge, there is no Dell version of the SNAP 4000. Just an FYI.
Phoenix32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2007, 07:04 AM   #21
holzinet
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 15
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Hi evoaz1,

I had the same problems with Vista and my snap servers (2000 and 2200).
You can try the following:
- select "start" -> "run"
- type "secpol.msc" to open your local security policy
- then got to "local policies" -> "security options" and set the "Network Security: LAN Manager" from "Send NTLMv2 response only" to "Send LM & NTLM -- use NTLMv2 session security if negotiated."

Now it should work.
After that I was able to see the snap and also the network shares. Then I've connected each share as a network drive and was able to browse the shares.
I've selected "connection with different username" and inserted the username and password for the snapserver share, when I've connected the shares as a network drive.

BUT: If I want to remove some non-empty folders at the shares, I get an error, access denied.
If I remove the files into the folders at first and then remove the empty folder, there is no problem. Is there a security policy for deleting non-empty folders in vista on network-drives?
I hope, I can also solve this problem or can somebody help?

Regards

Tino
holzinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2007, 08:00 AM   #22
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

holzinet, that is good info, I will add it into the FAQ's.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2007, 08:17 AM   #23
holzinet
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 15
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

by the way: this sollution is only for Vista Business, Enterprise, and Ultimate.

If somebody is using Vista Home Basic and Home Premium he has to change
the following registry-key:

look for HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Lsa

and change the value of "LmCompatibilityLevel" from "3" to "1" ...

But I don't know, how to solve the problem with deleting non-empty folders.
I think, it is a problem with the samba version on the snapos (I'm using 4.0.860). On my local fileserver I have no problems like this with Vista (running samba 3.0).
holzinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2007, 11:26 AM   #24
evoaz1
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Plano, Texas
Posts: 13
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

holzinet! that was exactly what I needed. THAT DID THE TRICK! What I would like to have confirmed though is that updating the security policy in Vista to use LM and NTLM instead of just NTLMv2 on the 3.4.xxx OS would have worked instead of upgrading to 4.0.860. Oddly enough, until I made that policy change I was STILL unable to browse the shares on the Snap even with the .860 OS.

I can CONFIRM that there is a 4.0.860 FULL INSTALL that Adaptec can issue that can upgrade the Snap directly from 3.4.xxx to 4.0.860.

Based on this experience I would assume that it is possible to have Vista and the Snap authenticate properly once the security policy is updated regardless of the OS, but I would like for someone to confirm this.

Thanks to all for getting this figured out. I can now go off and try to tackle another Vista compatibility issue... but that is for another forum.
__________________
Snap Server 2000
Software: 4.0.860
Hardware: 2.0.0
BIOS: 2.0.282
2x300GB Seagate
128MB SDRAM
evoaz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 02-03-2007, 02:30 PM   #25
holzinet
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 15
Default Re: Unable to log into Snap 2000 from Vista

Hi evoraz1,

I'm running 4.0.860 too on my 2200 and I can access the shares without problems when I was updating the security policy in Vista.

I can copy files, folders and can also delete files but can only remove empty folders.
At the webinterface I can see the right username from vista connection like from XP, so I could not understand, where the difference of the connections is.
Before changing the security policy there was no real username at the webinterface (you can see at "active users"), caused of the wrong authentication mechanism. So now everything should be the same like connecting from xp!?

But for me the problem to solve is still the possibility to remove non-empty folders on the share. If I connect from Vista to another client running xp or to a linux client with samba 3.0 I've no problems to handle. Connecting from xp to the snap server works also perfect. So there must be another difference with the connection between XP and Vista.

I've tried to find a sollution the hole day, but no success, I think at the end it is a problem with the samba version in 4.0.860.
holzinet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...