Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies The Home for Snap Server Hacking, Storage and NAS info. And NAS / Snap Classifides

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 04-08-2013, 02:04 PM   #1
iceman34
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5
Default ISCSI Noob

Can anyone explain to me how to enable the ISCSI option on my snap server 410? Is there a trick to get this to function as a valid ISCSI target? Any help is appreciated.

-Thanks
iceman34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-24-2013, 05:08 PM   #2
eschw95458
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
Default Re: ISCSI Noob

Click on the storage tab, then find iScsi on the tabs below that
eschw95458 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-25-2013, 06:11 AM   #3
iceman34
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5
Default Re: ISCSI Noob

Does it require a special license or something? Mine does not look like it is enabled to support iscsi by default.
iceman34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-25-2013, 08:07 AM   #4
eschw95458
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
Default Re: ISCSI Noob

It will tell you right on the tab if it requires a license. (since you have a 410 it probably does) they seem to be priced reasonably. If it is NOT telling you that you need a license and it is jut blank, then you need to turn it on using the Snap Extensions tab at the very top right hand corner of the page (Fourth tab over) It will tell you if it is enabled or not. If not click on the name which will bring you to a screen asking you to enable it.

If it is not licensed then you can purchase it from

http://www.cdw.com/shop/products/Gua...e/1061938.aspx

or

http://www.snaphq.com/iSCSI-Software.asp

The second link gives a better description, and I know it isn't in the list but if you are working on a mac, the Globosan initiator also works.

Last edited by eschw95458; 04-25-2013 at 08:51 AM.
eschw95458 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-26-2013, 08:52 AM   #5
iceman34
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5
Default Re: ISCSI Noob

Thank you so much. I figured it was something like that, but I wanted to confirm it with someone else before spending the money. I appreciate the help.
iceman34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
410, iscsi, noob


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...