Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies The Home for Snap Server Hacking, Storage and NAS info. And NAS / Snap Classifides

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 01-08-2012, 04:31 PM   #1
rickmann08
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ca
Posts: 50
Default Mac osx lion

Ok, so I decided to upgrade my setup with a used MAC PRO which is running OSX LION, Problem I am having is trying to connect it my Snap 2200 (yeah I know its an old server but trustworthy). It sees the server over the network but when I try to connect to it I get an error message saying" The version of the server you are trying to connect to is not supported". I have tried connecting through AFP and SMB with no luck.

Can anyone suggest a fix?

Thanks!
rickmann08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-10-2012, 08:13 PM   #2
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Mac osx lion

I no longer have a SnapOS unit to test against. I will be at a place that my client will need to do the same thing later on this week.

Normally smb://ipadress/share works.

Can your connect via web browser?
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-10-2012, 10:53 PM   #3
rickmann08
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ca
Posts: 50
Default Re: Mac osx lion

blue68f100 thanks for the info. Thanks! I will try that out. I am assuming that "share works" is the name of your root folder or drive?

To be honest I have never tried to work directly from my web browser. I can access the server from my browser on my PC but I just use it to see the file names.

Please let me know if you were able to get your clients server to work.

Thanks
Rick
rickmann08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-11-2012, 04:21 PM   #4
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Mac osx lion

Share name without the works. What I was saying it works....
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-11-2012, 10:41 PM   #5
rickmann08
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ca
Posts: 50
Default Re: Mac osx lion

Oh got it! I am going to try what you said this weekend. I will let you know if it works.
rickmann08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-16-2012, 11:42 AM   #6
rpmurray
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 157
Default Re: Mac osx lion

Check this link for a possible workaround, OS X LION connection error with AFP and workaround
rpmurray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 01-16-2012, 09:44 PM   #7
rickmann08
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: ca
Posts: 50
Default Re: Mac osx lion

thanks rpmurray, I actually tried that as well but had no luck

Ultimately I had to switch back to snow leopard. Could the 2200 been too old and the mac just wouldn't bite?

Thanks
Rick
rickmann08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-11-2012, 06:40 PM   #8
eschw95458
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
Default Re: Mac osx lion

Have you tried using NFS?? I can't say about Lion, but I have used NFS for years to log into snapOS and GuardianOS. Goto finder do apple+K and proper syntax would be nfs://serverIP/Share1
eschw95458 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-26-2014, 09:21 AM   #9
otoc
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 44
Default Re: Mac osx lion

Just wanted to update this issue.

Running 10.7.5

The Apple fix has been updated here:
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT200160?viewlocale=en_US

It doesn't work for me.

Other updated methods can be found here:
http://www.macwindows.com/Lion-broke...-servers-.html
and
http://www.macwindows.com/Another-ta...-problems.html

I found no resolution.

OTOH, the suggestion for using NFS in the previous post still works for this legacy equipment.


As of today, OS X 10.7.5, and Win7 can still be used with the Snap OS.

Which means this experiment is still running as an archive system to this day.
http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=14233

I hope everyone has been well!

Last edited by otoc; 05-27-2014 at 07:35 PM. Reason: Removed Added Info: bad cabling
otoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...