Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies The Home for Snap Server Hacking, Storage and NAS info. And NAS / Snap Classifides

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 03-12-2008, 02:10 PM   #51
poma5
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Southern California
Posts: 3
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix32
And the family grows...
I have an 85 Gig 4000 series snap server
a 360 Gig 4000 series snap server
a 1 terbyte 4500 snap server
and 2, 2 terabyte 520 snap servers
My 4500 and 520 snap servers are running the guardianos verion 4.44.045 SP3.
I contacted Adaptec about updating to the latest version of the guardianos but they want me to pay for the update. I have only had my last 520 snap since may of last year. They do not support OS updates for more than 90 days from what they are telling me. That seems wrong. I told them that I would never buy another snapserver from them again. I have bought and used snapservers since they were owned by Meridian Data but I will never buy from adaptec again.
I do have guardianos up to the version stated above.

Poma5
poma5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-13-2008, 08:31 AM   #52
bitor
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 257
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Sorry to hear that Adaptec has bent you over. You're not the first. It's a great product with very very bad rip off support. If they keep this up...nobody will want new products from them no matter how good it is. It's just to bad.


bitor
bitor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-14-2008, 09:36 AM   #53
slpken
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Modesto, CA
Posts: 1
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Hello, another Newbie here.

Recently inherited a working 750GB Snap Appliance Snap Server 4500 with GuardianOS 2.4.040 running a Pentium 4 3.06GHz CPU with 533fsb, two Gigabit Ethernet cards, and the SCSI card, with 496MB RAM.

Runs fine but want to use it as a repository of all my iTunes and Apple TV music and movies. Some of these have long files names, and this early version of the GuardianOS doesn't support AFP 3.x, so can't go beyond 27.3 filenames of of MacOS 9.

I have to buy new drives to have any hope of reliability for the next 4 years or so, and hope to upgrade to four 500GB or 750GB Barracudas. That's enough grocery money all by itself, so I was really disappointed when I called Adaptec to find out how to upgrade to 4.4.049. $720!!!!!! Can't afford that, so am looking for ways to avoid having to rename 12,000 songs and movies to conform to 27.3.



slpken

Last edited by blue68f100; 03-14-2008 at 10:09 AM.
slpken is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-14-2008, 10:16 AM   #54
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Welcome to the forum.

Selling of Copyrighted Material is not allowed.

These are commercial grade units so expect prices to follow.

You can setup iTunes to point to a mapped drive.

Buy good drives like the WD RE drives. Stay away from Maxtors.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-14-2008, 10:38 AM   #55
rpmurray
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 157
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Quote:
Originally Posted by slpken
so am looking for ways to avoid having to rename 12,000 songs and movies to conform to 27.3.
Connect to the Snap using SMB instead of AFP.
rpmurray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-20-2008, 08:49 AM   #56
eschw95458
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Use NFS to connect to your snap server, that should preserve your filenames.
eschw95458 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-29-2008, 05:00 AM   #57
tvleavitt
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Santa Cruz, CA
Posts: 2
Default Re: Guardian OS units

I just acquired a Snap Server 520 for one of my clients. Very nicely priced little open-box unit with 4 250GB drives. Spent most of today poking around trying to figure it out, reading through the manuals, setting up the configuration, etc.

Am trying to figure out how it handles file ownership and permissions... who gets to access files I create on it, and how?

I have a ReadyNAS 1100 on another site. That box has been quirky enough that I wanted something a little bit more stable and solid for these folks. Has some nice features, in that each user gets their own automatically secure home share, which can also be mounted via NFS on external servers. Trying to figure out how to do the same thing here...
tvleavitt is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2008, 09:45 AM   #58
eschw95458
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 52
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Snap servers are able to pull user lists from an NT domain (or Samba PDC), or are also capable of participating in an active directory domain. If you don't have a domain, "local" users can be added manually to the server.
Disk space can be carved into one or more volumes, then the volumes divided into one or more "shares". Example create a single volume called "volumeA" then create on that volume a share called "share1" then goto the security tab and find the share you created (share1) click on the "access" button and add whatever domain or local users and groups. Users and groups can have full access, or read only access and can access the files and folders via afp, smb, nfs, ftp. (All dependent on how you set the server up).

Here is a link to the adaptec admin guide http://www.adaptec.com/en-US/support...gos_ug_pdf.htm
eschw95458 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-06-2008, 10:01 AM   #59
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Guardian OS units

One thing you need to be aware of.

The def snap share gives every one root access. I would suggest creating a new share without this everyone having admin rights.

Use the security guides to setup the initial shares and users. I always create a share called users. Then I add users shares to that tree with user only have access to his/her share. This prevents a users from browsing share they to have have access rights to. Any uses with root access cnan browse. This is the resason you want to setup the tree properly. Then you can add a shared drive for all use as needed.

You may also need to setup the Raid5 array before any of this can happen.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-07-2008, 07:00 PM   #60
[AfZ]PiMp J
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fl
Posts: 29
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoenix32
I have a couple 250 GB drives (one Seagte and one WD) I pulled from a working SNAP 4500 with OS 4.4 to upgrade to larger hard drives. I had a couple spare sleds, so I just used those. I know the drives will work in a SNAP 4400, 4200, or 4500, but the sleds will only work in a 4200/4500. I cannot speak for other units.
any chance in hell you still have these?
I've got a SnapServer 4400 (well 2 of em) running 4x180gb deathstars, one os 3.2 the other 2.6 and i'd love to upgrade the OS on both of em if the price is swinggable (the closer to free the better)

Last edited by [AfZ]PiMp J; 05-07-2008 at 07:16 PM.
[AfZ]PiMp J is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-08-2008, 05:00 AM   #61
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Guardian OS units

I dought that the HD will contain the OS, Andy generally full test the drives before selling any thing. So the drives will be clean but in perfect working order.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-08-2008, 12:25 PM   #62
Phoenix32
Thermophile
 
Phoenix32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Yup, I use MHDD from the UBCD to check every sector on a drive for weak or bad sectors before I even think about putting a drive in a RAID 5. Or befor a drive ever leaves me to someone else. I also use Spinrite 6 for serious hardcore testing as required. I have a good reputation and want to keep it that way.
Phoenix32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-28-2008, 07:42 PM   #63
z0ner
Cooling Neophyte
 
z0ner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Orange, CA
Posts: 17
Default Re: Guardian OS units

I've got a barely used 640GB 4200 that I'll be selling very soon. It's been in storage for almost a year and I believe has one of the newer (if not the newest) GuardianOS on it. I'll be powering it up to test shortly.

EDIT: Updated to GuardianOS 5.0.125. I might turn her into 2TB (4x500GB) , I haven't decided yet.

Last edited by z0ner; 06-20-2008 at 03:46 PM.
z0ner is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-2008, 08:29 AM   #64
242
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: dc
Posts: 9
Default Re: Guardian OS units

I just got two 18000 with 8x250 each running os 3.2.019 anyone know what version of linux this thing is based off of?

-242
242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-2008, 09:08 AM   #65
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Guardian OS units

I know v4 is RedHat Entriprise. At one time they were using Gentoo very early on. So my guess on v3 is RedHat Enterprise. V3 ( up to v 4.1) allows you to use Putty to SSH in to the shell. V4.4 has moved a lot of functions to the debug page. and requires a shell cmd to gain access.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-04-2008, 12:17 PM   #66
242
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: dc
Posts: 9
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue68f100
I know v4 is RedHat Entriprise. At one time they were using Gentoo very early on. So my guess on v3 is RedHat Enterprise. V3 ( up to v 4.1) allows you to use Putty to SSH in to the shell. V4.4 has moved a lot of functions to the debug page. and requires a shell cmd to gain access.
Interesting, I figured it would be common knowledge. I decided to take a look under the hood and I am find a few things that would lead me to believe it has a redhat base but I guess the labeled it Quantum Linux

Here is the contents of the release file in /etc
sh-2.04# more quantum-release
Quantum Linux IDE NAS (Opus)

Last edited by 242; 07-04-2008 at 08:46 PM.
242 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-06-2008, 10:54 AM   #67
Phoenix32
Thermophile
 
Phoenix32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: Guardian OS units

The newer 5.0.125 looks like it is SUSE.
Phoenix32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2008, 01:37 AM   #68
yfpang
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 8
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Dear All,

I'm not sure if I'm posting my question on the correct forum here, as currently I'm having a Quantum SnapServer running on Guardian v2 which is having a problem to boot up.
As from the serial output it seem like it's running fine in the beganing but later it comes to kernel panic.

As for testing I've tried to see if the OS reside in the HD or Flash and it's being reside in the HD.

Hope that there is some people here that may have seen this problem and resolve it before.


Thanks
Pang
yfpang is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-15-2008, 03:53 AM   #69
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Guardian OS units

It would be nice to know which model you have, some of the early ones could run either OS depend bios/firmware size. V2 make it a very old unit. My first guess would be that it may need cleaning, unit over heating, maybe a cooling fan failure. Then I would suspect a HD problem.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2008, 01:01 AM   #70
yfpang
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 8
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Hi Blue68f100,

The model that currently i have is guardian 4400, which is running on Guardian OS version 2.1.003. As for the unit it's running fine until one of the administrator change the host name and restart the unit.

For this version do you thing it has something to do with the OS image? As the following is part of the serial output from the server :

Hope to hear from you soon

Thanks
Pang
Attached Files
File Type: zip snapstartup.zip (8.1 KB, 19 views)
yfpang is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2008, 03:57 AM   #71
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Guardian OS units

If you have a copy of SpinRite, I would shut it down and run it on all the drives. If there is a drive problem it will correct it. Otherwise you may need to reload the GSU file. It's has an error on loading one part. Like maybe all the markers did not get changed.

Have you checked to see if the bios settings have not changed? May be time to replace the Battery. But this is down Phoenix32 line.

Quote:
EXT2-fs warning: checktime reached, running e2fsck is recommended

VFS: Mounted root (ext2 filesystem).

kmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k char-major-10-152, errno = 2

kmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k char-major-10-152, errno = 2

/dev/Qhwmon: No such device
/dekmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k char-major-10-152, errno = 2

v/Qhwmon: No suckmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k char-major-10-152, errno = 2

h device
/dev/Qhwmon: No such device
/dev/Qhwmon: No such device
Using /lib/modules/i2c-core.o
i2c-core.o: i2c core module

Using /lib/modules/i2c-dev.o
i2c-dev.o: i2c /dev entries driver module

Using /lib/modules/i2c-proc.o
i2c-proc.o version 2.6.1 (20010825)

Using /lib/modules/i2c-piix4.o
Install SMBus adapter driver (i2c-piix4)

i2c-dev.o: Registered 'SMBus OSB4/CSB5 adapter at 0580' as minor 0

i2c-piix4.o: PIIX4 bus detected and initialized

Using /lib/modules/Qhwmon-Modulekmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k char-major-10-152, errno = 2

.o
kmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k char-major-10-152, errno = 2

/dev/Qhwmon: No such device
/dekmod: failed to exec /sbin/modprobe -s -k char-major-10-152, errno = 2

v/Qhwmon: No such device
/dev/Qhwmon: No such device
Qhwmon: proc entries installed OK

Qhwmon: Hardware monitor driver successfully loaded as Manta driver

Using /lib/modules/mtdcore.o
Using /lib/modules/mtdchar.o
Using /lib/modules/chipreg.o
Using /lib/modules/gen_probe.o
Using /lib/modules/cfi_probe.o
Using /lib/modules/cfi_cmdset_0001.o
Using /lib/modules/amd_flash.o
Using /lib/modules/quantumsnap.oGuardian: Found no Flash device


Using /lib/modules/mii.o
Platform = MANTARAY
Using /lib/modules/qinfo_i2c.o
Using /lib/modules/qinfo.o
qinfo: version 2.2 (20020709)

mdctl: fail to stop array /dev/md100root: No such device
starting raid: md100root containing drive /dev/hda2
mdctl: /dev/md100root has been started with 3 drives.
mdctl: fail to stop array /dev/md101swap: No such device
starting raid: md101swap containing drive /dev/hda5
mdctl: /dev/md101swap has been started with 4 drives.
>> root FS exists
***** Running on HARD DISK *****
Not on Clipper: Returning from Linuxrc
Kernel panic: No init found. Try passing init= option to kernel.

Oops: 0002

CPU: 0

EIP: 0010:[<c0230009>] Not tainted

EFLAGS: 00010206

eax: 00000007 ebx: c02f7ee0 ecx: 00000000 edx: 00000488

esi: 00000000 edi: 00000000 ebp: 0008e000 esp: dfde7f84

ds: 0018 es: 0018 ss: 0018

Process swapper (pid: 1, stackpage=dfde7000)

Stack: c02f7ee0 00000000 00000000 0008e000 00000246 00000000 c02304de 00000000

00000000 c02f7ee0 c011c9ee c02f7ee0 00000000 00000000 c02a8900 0000000e

c0105000 c0113c6a c0317f14 00000000 00000000 00000000 c02a88f6 c010539a

Call Trace: [<c02304de>] [<c011c9ee>] [<c0105000>] [<c0113c6a>] [<c010539a>]

[<c01056f3>]

Code: ff 01 0f 8e 25 05 00 00 31 c0 5b 5e 5f 5d 59 5a c3 89 f6 31

<0>Kernel panic: Attempted to kill init!
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2008, 06:34 AM   #72
Phoenix32
Thermophile
 
Phoenix32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: Guardian OS units

After reading all that GREEK, which gave me a headache,

It looked to me like the OS is lost, confused, FUBAR, or just having a real bad day, which in turn makes me think Hard Disk, somewhere in the initial 10GB of a drive.

David, it could be a BIOS setting, but I think it's improbable (low odds). When that happens with these, they like to not boot at all until you go in and fix 'em.

I would look to see if you have a failing/failed drive somewhere in that mess and hope your OS is not hosed.

-AND-

David, wasn't the old v2 OS prone to confusing itself by not deleting things it should? I can't remember, but that is your department (punt).
Phoenix32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2008, 11:43 AM   #73
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Guardian OS units

I think when they changed the name it did not complete the change to the links when it was rebooted. Inturn scrambling it's brain, the new pointer is not set completely. If the drives test out with SpinRite , he probably should do a clean install.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-16-2008, 09:31 PM   #74
yfpang
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 8
Default Re: Guardian OS units

Hi blue68f100 and Phoenix32,

Thanks for the advise but I'm still very confuse as to what should i do from now.
Should i get 1 new HD and place it in there just to try booting it up or use the gsu file that I have to make the upgrade.

Furthermore do you think it's possible to copy the OS from the drive since it reside in it's own area that is not being effected by the RAID.

Hope to hear from you and Sorry for the greek word

Thanks
Pang
yfpang is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-17-2008, 03:37 AM   #75
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Guardian OS units

The OS resides on all drives (raid1), part of the watch dog feature.

If you have a copy of spinrite, shut the unit down and run it on all of the drives. Then put them back in in the same order they were removed.

If you have the GSU ( which is the OS Image File) you can try the diaster recovery and reload the OS. This will not impact the data unless you select clean install.

Last if nothing else works you will need to wipe it clean with a clean install.

so
1st spinrite on all of the drives.
2nd reload the OS
3rd and last resort is a clean install ALL DATA WILL ME LOST.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...