Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Xtreme Cooling
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Xtreme Cooling LN2, Dry Ice, Peltiers, etc... All the usual suspects

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 07-30-2002, 02:59 AM   #1
Anomaly2181
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 67
Default Looking for a high volt/amp/wattage PSU for TEC

I have a psu for mobo,chip,gpu hd's etc....but im looking for a seperate psu that will power either two 172 watt tec's at 24 volts, or two 156 watt tec's at 15.8 volts....that will also fit in some drive bay in the comp....the one at dangerden will power one 226 watt tec at 12 volts, but I don't think its enough to cool an OC'd XP. I checked ebay, but I could find any psu's that would support 15 volts @around 300 watts @ around 30-32 amps, or a 24 volt psu @ around 340 watts and 22 amps.....let me know if you can find one on any kind of auction site, or if you see any for sale on a web site.

The auction sites would be best, because a new one sold directly by a company would prob run around 300 bucks.

It is ideal to fit in one of the drive bays in the comp as well.
__________________
I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather.....not like my family kicking and screaming in his backseat.
Anomaly2181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-30-2002, 03:12 AM   #2
Hallis
Cooling Savant
 
Hallis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 469
Default

other than the one at dangerden i think the only ones you'll be looking at would be farily larger. a single 226watt i think would be sufficient,, So you're in arlington eh?? i work in Plano
Hallis is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-30-2002, 09:03 AM   #3
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

...and I work in Houston!

It's going to come down to money. If you really want to run 2 TECs, you can, but you might consider using a seperate PSU for each one (total 3 PSU), unless you link multiple PSUs to get what you need (see the article here).

Try Alltronics, you might find something there.
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-30-2002, 03:27 PM   #4
Anomaly2181
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 67
Default

yah plano isn't far off....

with one 226 watt tec with its own power supply...the danger den meanwell one, how much improvement would I get over straight water cooling....Let's say with load and water cooling I'm running 37C. My goal was to get idle temps below freezing like the pro mini....I know the mini is only a P3, but its only using a 120 watt pelt hooked directly to the psu. It gets idle temps around -10C, and load around 8-10C.
__________________
I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather.....not like my family kicking and screaming in his backseat.
Anomaly2181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-30-2002, 03:40 PM   #5
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

You might get around zero, maybe a few degs above. At load, you might get 20C.

If you combine it with phase change (dehumidifier), you'll completely chill it out...
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-30-2002, 11:09 PM   #6
Hallis
Cooling Savant
 
Hallis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Dallas, Tx
Posts: 469
Default

Well lend me some money Big and lets get rolling :-)
Hallis is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-31-2002, 08:59 AM   #7
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hallis
Well lend me some money Big and lets get rolling :-)
Hey, I was going to ask you the same thing

Did you ever hear from Danny?
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-03-2002, 02:07 AM   #8
Anomaly2181
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 67
Default

Well I found myself a pelt power supply. 40 amps at 13.2 volts continuous. So P=IV, so thats 528 on a 13.2 volt rail. If I adjust the voltage to 15.6 volts then the I goes to 33 amps. So I can get some major power out of this. Oh did I mention that its 2.5'*6'*7'.........nice drive bay fitting on : ) smaller than the one on the danger den site that is 26 amps at 12 volts.
__________________
I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather.....not like my family kicking and screaming in his backseat.
Anomaly2181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-03-2002, 10:56 AM   #9
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

and now, for the obvious question: where did you buy it?

Ya'll gotta quit teasing us like that...
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-03-2002, 02:00 PM   #10
Anomaly2181
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 67
Default

i got it off ebay, i will ask the people if they have more, and post a link with their email if it's ok with them.
__________________
I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather.....not like my family kicking and screaming in his backseat.
Anomaly2181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-28-2002, 05:50 AM   #11
MadDogMe
Thermophile
 
MadDogMe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Just shut up ;) ...
Posts: 1,068
Default

How much? ...

Same Anomaly as the Iwill forum at AMDMB?...
MadDogMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-28-2002, 02:10 PM   #12
Anomaly2181
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Arlington, TX
Posts: 67
Default

i don't know if they have any left, but they sell them for 60-70 depending on how you bargain. I got mine the actaul deminsions are 6.25inch*8*4.5...it is 40 amps at 13.2 volts. If you are intrested i will private message you there email because they are just some family that sells them, don't want to overwhelm them.
__________________
I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather.....not like my family kicking and screaming in his backseat.
Anomaly2181 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2002, 01:31 AM   #13
2old_honda
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: nebraska
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Anomaly2181
i don't know if they have any left, but they sell them for 60-70 depending on how you bargain. I got mine the actaul deminsions are 6.25inch*8*4.5...it is 40 amps at 13.2 volts. If you are intrested i will private message you there email because they are just some family that sells them, don't want to overwhelm them.
Do you have any more info on this unit? Is the voltage adjustable? What brand are they? thanks

Last edited by 2old_honda; 08-29-2002 at 01:36 AM.
2old_honda is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2002, 01:34 AM   #14
2old_honda
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: nebraska
Posts: 14
Default

for anyone that is interested, here is a Mean Well 15V 32A Power Supply. This guy has 4-5 of them.
2old_honda is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-29-2002, 01:53 AM   #15
Daleorama
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 10
Default

There are several ways to find a good TEC power supply. Ham radio power supplies have the perfect specifications for TEC powering. Look in eBay, especially in the hobbies section for ham radio equipment, and under the surplus electronics stores. Actually, I did a web search for "surplus electronics" and I got tons of websites that had good power supplies to buy.
__________________
"I think the whole world should hold hands . . because when you hold hands, you can't hold a gun."

-Miss Texas '84
Daleorama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...