Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Geek Bits > Random Nonsense / Geek Stuff
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat

Random Nonsense / Geek Stuff All those random tech ramblings you can't fit anywhere else!

Unread 09-02-2005, 11:37 AM   #1
Vector86
Cooling Savant

Default I need help with a basic circuit

I'm a CompE/EE student, but I haven't gotten into actually making circuits yet. Anyways, for FSAE, I "volunteered" to make a circuit for the car. Basically when the circuit recieves a 12v signal, it starts a timed delay, at the end of the delay, power is cut to another device. I was trying to accomplish this with a 555 timer and a d-type latch, but it doesn't work in the simulation software I'm using. Any help would be appreciated. Oh, BTW, I can't use relays, and the timer needs to have a variable delay.
Vector86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-02-2005, 03:36 PM   #2
superart
Cooling Savant

what is the maximum delay that you will need?

This will tell you how to set up the inputs.

The input setup will tell you how to design your circuit.

Looking to buy/trade for used Deep Fryer and Vacume Pack Sealer.
superart is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 09-02-2005, 11:39 PM   #3
Vector86
Cooling Savant

Quote:
Originally Posted by superart
what is the maximum delay that you will need?

This will tell you how to set up the inputs.

The input setup will tell you how to design your circuit.
0 to 60 seconds
Unread 09-03-2005, 12:09 AM   #4
superart
Cooling Savant

how bout something like this?

Code:
                 ________
C0------------->|       |
C1------------->|       |
C2------------->|       |
C3------------->|       |---------->12v
C4------------->|       |
C5------------->|       |
                ---------
                    ^
                    |
                    |
                   12v

the 6 control lines (C0-C5) allow you to make settings from 0 - 63 seconds (standard binary values).