Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies The Home for Snap Server Hacking, Storage and NAS info. And NAS / Snap Classifides

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 03-07-2007, 07:46 AM   #1
teclis22
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: test town
Posts: 24
Default SnapServer 2200 - Alternate Power Supply

Hi folks !

I am using two Snaps 2200 and currently the PSUs are still good, however i have a fishy feeling.

So to be prepared for the worst, here a question for the hardware gurus on the board hehe

Is it possible to use an alternate Power supply for the snap servers, that has a bit more punch (especially for the more power hungry HDDs out there)

I was thinking on the lines of maybe a old Notebook psu wich are pretty easy to get on Ebay.

Would that be feasable ? Connect the two wires to the original plug and ready to go. At least thats how my simple mind imagines it.

Anyone has any experience with this ?

Regards

Klaus
teclis22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-07-2007, 08:16 AM   #2
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: SnapServer 2200 - Alternate Power Supply

Many users have had to replace their power supplies. I think from loosing them or purchased them on eBay and was not included. As long as it's large enough to carry the load it will work. If you go what is know as a switcher they are physicaly smaller and have a big punch.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-07-2007, 03:10 PM   #3
Phoenix32
Thermophile
 
Phoenix32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: SnapServer 2200 - Alternate Power Supply

While I did a Power MOD for the 4000, I cannot say on the 2x00 units. Their case is totaly different and I have not had one in my hands to really look at. Sorry
Phoenix32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-07-2007, 03:18 PM   #4
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: SnapServer 2200 - Alternate Power Supply

The 2200 uses a external power supply like the 1x00 modes. 12vdc

The 2000 model is internal.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-07-2007, 05:04 PM   #5
Phoenix32
Thermophile
 
Phoenix32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: SnapServer 2200 - Alternate Power Supply

LOL

My point exactly!

<------------ no use when it comes to 2x00 units...
Phoenix32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-07-2007, 05:26 PM   #6
teclis22
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: test town
Posts: 24
Default Re: SnapServer 2200 - Alternate Power Supply

Hi there

Thanks for the input, now i can see what the specs on the psu are and then start taking a look around on ebay, but now i can be sure that my general thinking was into the right direction

thanks

regards

klaus
teclis22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-07-2007, 09:04 PM   #7
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: SnapServer 2200 - Alternate Power Supply

You need a minimum 1 amp, 12vdc.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-08-2007, 12:08 AM   #8
teclis22
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: test town
Posts: 24
Default Re: SnapServer 2200 - Alternate Power Supply

Good Morning !

OK but taking a 2 amp, 12 vdc (assuming i find one) would not damage the unit, correct ? As long as the voltage stays the same ?
teclis22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-08-2007, 02:34 AM   #9
Phoenix32
Thermophile
 
Phoenix32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: SnapServer 2200 - Alternate Power Supply

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue68f100

You need a minimum 1 amp, 12vdc.
You are kidding right? David?

More like 3A 12VDC minimum with 2 Drives. And more, if you plan on using large drives.
Phoenix32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-08-2007, 07:18 AM   #10
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: SnapServer 2200 - Alternate Power Supply

Yes, it requires a 3.5A if he had searched the forum he would have found it. The 2000 have 50-65w power supply. Believe it or not but some of the early 1000 used a 1.2 amp with a delay start.

EPS Model F1670K if you want what comes with it.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820

Last edited by blue68f100; 03-08-2007 at 07:23 AM.
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-08-2007, 01:23 PM   #11
Phoenix32
Thermophile
 
Phoenix32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: SnapServer 2200 - Alternate Power Supply

Don't worry mate, I got you covered David...


Mate? Damn, I been talking to those guys in OZ land too much...
Phoenix32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-09-2007, 03:47 AM   #12
minimike1
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Perth
Posts: 9
Default Re: SnapServer 2200 - Alternate Power Supply

Hey Phoenix , don't be a drongo or I'll hit you with a chozwozza .

Anyways back to the subject.......

If your going to get a PSU try to get one thats a switchmode type , a switchmode PSU is smaller , lighter , more efficient , has better regulation and usually is cheaper.

With the current issue (get it , current issue) , if your 2200 needs 3.5 amps it will try to suck 3.5 amps out of your PSU so you will need a PSU supply that can supply 3.5 amps.
If your power supply can supply a bazzilion amps your 2200 will still try to suck 3.5 amps, the thing is try to get a PSU that can supply more than your 2200 needs ( but don't go overboard now ).

As an example here in Oz (stares at Phoenix ) a 12V PSU that can supply 5A costs about $35US

I hope this helps.

Oh and remember to check that the connector you use on the PSU is wired up OK ( the person who sold you the PSU should help you with this).

that's about it from me 8)

Mike 8)
minimike1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...