Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Chat

General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion For discussion about Full Cooling System kits, or general cooling topics. Keep specific cooling items like pumps, radiators, etc... in their specific forums.

Unread 06-10-2004, 11:57 AM   #1
A-Speck
Cooling Neophyte

Default Mainstream Watercooling, Micron-scale Channels, and Electrokinetic Pumps

Hi, everyone, new to the forums here. I've been watercooling for a couple months now, and I figure I finally have enough experience to begin to consort with the Pro/Cooling gurus. Hope I can help add to the forums. You can never have too many thermodynamics majors, eh?

Anyway...

With the news of Apple's watercooled G5, I went and did some Googling, and one company that consistently came up was a start-up called Cooligy. The description of their technology was pretty interesting. They claim to have micron-scale channels in their waterblock-analogue (can't remember, but I think I read that they were made out of silicon...a lithography process, perhaps?) and an electrokinetic pump with no moving parts.

Sounds like pretty heady stuff. The micro-channel concept seems like a logical extension of the technology in today's waterblocks, and come to think of it, creating massive surface areas with photolithography isn't that bad of an idea. The electrokinetic pump has me thrown for a loop, though. I've heard of them before, but I don't have any direct experience with them. The one's I've read about had flowrates measured in microliters per second, though. They were actually used in experimental fluidic logic circuits. I have no idea how well the technology scales, or what kind of P-Q performance you could expect out of one, much less the heat that it would dump into the water. The promise of a truly silent pump is pretty attractive, though.