Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion For discussion about Full Cooling System kits, or general cooling topics. Keep specific cooling items like pumps, radiators, etc... in their specific forums.

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 08-04-2002, 01:14 PM   #1
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default all finished....after a very long time ;-> pics

This is my first water-cooled rig and it took forever to complete, about 1 year or so. I'm pretty happy with the results, they’ re as I expected. I found the case in the garbage outside of where I used to work. It was an AT case with p133 etc....bunch of old crap, even had a 5 1/4 floppy drive.

Flow goes, pump>block>rad>res/big pipe/big box area…whatever you want to call it.

parts & setup:

BLX w/ Sunon 120mm 86cfm.
Spir@l
Danner 5
1/2 ID tygon
4x 80mm Vantec stealth fans @ 21cfm
1x 120mm Adda 75cfm
6x6x4” under ground electrical junction box and ¾” pvc.

1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55

Water is distilled w/ dye lite and 8oz of hyper lube super coolant.
Temps were taken with digi doc 5 and motherboard monitor.
Sensor for water temp is mounted in res. Sensor for cpu is mounted touching the cpu core. Ambient temp was taken from the thermostat in the room, I know I should’ve use a dd5 sensor but, I spent the weekend sick putting this together, forgot to add a sensor in the front. Of course I will do this at a later time. I have a sensor mounted in the back right corner of the box exposed to air, but it's getting a bad reading from exhaust air. Anyone know how to get MBM to shutdown computer upon specified temp? I’m running Win2K, is there a service that needs to be turned on or do I have to have a purchased version? I’m too lazy to search for the answer, thought someone would know.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg close.jpg (64.3 KB, 629 views)
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-2002, 01:16 PM   #2
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

another...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg small.jpg (65.8 KB, 614 views)
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-2002, 01:18 PM   #3
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

and another.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg closegood.jpg (62.0 KB, 610 views)
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-2002, 01:23 PM   #4
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

oh yeah forgot the temps...

ambient= 27-28
water= 29-30.1
idle cpu dd5 = 37
idle cpu mbm = 38
load cpu dd5 = 41
load cpu mbm = 43
rear case exhaust air = 29.5

I stressed cpu by running Sandra Burn-in for 1hr while running Prime 95.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg nocover.jpg (54.8 KB, 607 views)
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-2002, 01:25 PM   #5
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

one from before, I have more but there at work.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg before.jpg (56.4 KB, 595 views)
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-2002, 01:26 PM   #6
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

feel free to comment, question, or flame..whatever
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-2002, 02:25 PM   #7
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

I guess you're ready to change your sig!

It's nice, and you've got some very nice temps. Congratulations! That's a succesful rig!

If anything, I'd have avoided using the elbows at the pump, but at this point, it probably won't increase performance any, so I'd leave them alone.

The second thing you'll get flamed for is the res, because it isn't at the top. As long as your system doesn't spring a leak though, you'll be ok.
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-2002, 02:35 PM   #8
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

yeah I forgot to change that. The flow seems to be pretty good. I let it run in the sink without the tube hooked up that comes from the rad to the box. I was going to test flow with a 1gal jug, but I didn't have another person the feed water into the system while I timed it. The flow was similar to a garden hose. Thanks for the comment.
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-2002, 03:21 PM   #9
decodeddiesel
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: classified
Posts: 535
Default

neat reservoir you built there. Everything sure looks sweet with the black light and what not, good job.
__________________
...i hurt...
do me a favor, disconect me...
they can re-work me
but i'll never be top of the line again
...i'd rather be nothing...
decodeddiesel is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-2002, 06:38 PM   #10
ksw
Cooling Savant
 
ksw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: SWEDEN(cold...)
Posts: 195
Default

ill flame ya for HAVING A RADITOR THAT PROBOLY IS LIKE 50% FILELD WITH AIR....... other than that, GREAT work! looks really n8
__________________
www.webraced.com <- addicted as hell /me is!
ksw is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-2002, 08:20 PM   #11
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

There is no air in the system. There was at first, i had to tip it up on its back and to the side. I let it run like this for about 24 hrs. The coolant level decreased all the time, I would then just add more and then it stopped. I then let the system run like that for about another 24hrs, level never changed. I tipped it back up, and the level hasn't changed since. When there was air in the system the water would look foamy and you could see little bubbles, now the water is clear with no bubbles. I think if there was air in the rad my temps would be worse.
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-04-2002, 11:30 PM   #12
FRAGN'STIEN
Cooling Savant
 
FRAGN'STIEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rathdrum, ID
Posts: 380
Default

Very nice system you got there ambient. How do you like the Hyperlube supercoolant? Thats what I run also. Webmedic told me about the stuff and I love it. It's alot nicer looking than the Water wetter.
__________________
**This space for rent**
FRAGN'STIEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-05-2002, 01:13 AM   #13
max007007
Cooling Neophyte
 
max007007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 61
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ksw
ill flame ya for HAVING A RADITOR THAT PROBOLY IS LIKE 50% FILELD WITH AIR....... other than that, GREAT work! looks really n8
Agreed.
The rad is taking over an airtrap job.
max007007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-05-2002, 09:02 AM   #14
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

max007007, there is no air in the system. If there was air in the system this would be the case but there isn't. Last night I unplugged everything tilted it back up and to the side again, guess what, no change in the level of coolant, no bubbles or foam.

FRAGN'STIEN

I like the hyper lube. I've never used water wetter, and none of the stores in my area had it. So I just looked for something that said it did the same thing. Seems to work wells, and it looks nice.
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2002, 03:52 PM   #15
airspirit
Been /.'d... have you?
 
airspirit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Moscow, ID
Posts: 1,986
Default

Ambient is right. With HyperLube your system will foam like a sonuvab*tch if there is ANY air in it. If he shows no foam (and having air in your radiator will facilitate massive foaming due to its design), there is no (or at the most insignificant amounts) air in the system.

Bad@ss rig, man.

BTW, I think that Water Wetter does a slightly better job than the HyperLube, but I had the same issue trying to find some. I'm using if for the same reason you are: no Water Wetter in sight.
airspirit is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-06-2002, 11:49 PM   #16
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

Thanks for the comments Airspirit... Now that its been a few days that the system is up and runnig, my idle/load temps have droped about 1.5c or so (ambient is still the same).
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 08-07-2002, 12:18 AM   #17
FRAGN'STIEN
Cooling Savant
 
FRAGN'STIEN's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Rathdrum, ID
Posts: 380
Default

I have both Water wetter and hyperlube, and I notice no difference in temps or corrosion resistance, but yes the hyperlube does foam
__________________
**This space for rent**
FRAGN'STIEN is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-22-2003, 04:02 PM   #18
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

So it's been a little over a year since I posted this. After reading the "Poll: What kind of WC disasters have you had?" thread I had to post to this one. The only change I made to the system was adding a new video card. The temps are pretty much the same, a little higher due to the dust. No leaks or problems thus far, haven't even changed the water/coolant. I was lucky and a friend of mine gave me a Dell 2800 that had been surged. The Dell had ended up having a bad mobo, but the rest of it was good. I got a p4 2.0a, GF3 ti200, 512mb of RDRAM, and an 80g hard drive. I'm going to get an Asus P4P800 and I've already modded the GF3 ti200 with some sinks. I didn't think the card was nice enough to WC. I included some pics below. In case anyone notices, I'm already aware of the ramsink that's holding on by thread. I noticed it after I looked at the pic and fixed it. It oc's ok too. Default is 175/400 I've only done minimal testing but I can get it to 210/450 stable.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg video1.jpg (66.1 KB, 168 views)
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-22-2003, 04:03 PM   #19
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

another pic
Attached Images
File Type: jpg video2.jpg (62.4 KB, 169 views)
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-22-2003, 04:03 PM   #20
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

and the last
Attached Images
File Type: jpg video3.jpg (51.0 KB, 167 views)
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-22-2003, 04:40 PM   #21
g.l.amour
Cooling Savant
 
g.l.amour's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: on da case
Posts: 933
Default

congrats on the h2o setup; looking quite tidy for all the components used.

now thats gpu cooling i dig, u will see that that kind of setup runs just as cool as h2o cooling that gpu. and i bet that fan on it ai'nt running at 12v.
__________________
yo soy un tiburón
g.l.amour is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 10-23-2003, 11:08 AM   #22
ambient
Cooling Savant
 
ambient's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 312
Default

I've got a temp sensor mounted on the edge of the gpu. Temps are around 30 idle 33 load. The card ran very hot stock. All it had was a little passive HS. So hot that while at idle one couldn't touch the back of the gpu area for more than a second. I can't recall if the fan runs @ 12v. It's very quite either way. I've been wondering if this card has the tallest video ramsinks every. They were made from 2 AMD coolermaster HSF's I had layin around.
__________________
water cooled
1.4 tbird @ 1580 143x11 vcore 1.88 vio 3.55
ambient is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...