Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies The Home for Snap Server Hacking, Storage and NAS info. And NAS / Snap Classifides

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 07-19-2006, 10:37 AM   #201
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

You can check disk 1 further with "co de fsck 10000 /fixfatal" cmd from debug.If this does not correct the problem the drive will need to be replaced. Snap raids are picky when it come to drives. The replacemnet must be with in 2-3 % capacity of the original. And preferably the same MFG and model. Mixing mfg some time causes problems, due to head and disk configuration.

Run "co de info" from debug and post the results. That will give me all of the vitals.

You can also look in the log and see what is being reported.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-19-2006, 05:13 PM   #202
Jilaman
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 12
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

here is the output from "co de info"

After deleting the configuration. But when I create a new RAID 5 Config it fails.


Code:
07/19/2006 18:27:17  Command: co de info

Logical Device: 10006      Position: 0  JBOD     Size (KB):    32296  Free (KB):    31616  Private  Mounted
  Label:Private  Contains system files only
     Unique Id: 0x0A072C5A3F7CEDF5    Mount: /priv      Index: 12  Order: 0
     Partition: 10006  Physical: 10007  FS       Size (KB):    32768  Starting Blk:   515  Private
      Physical: 10007    Drive Slot: 0  IDE      Size (KB): 97685504  Fixed    

Logical Device: 1000E      Position: 0  JBOD     Size (KB):    32296  Free (KB):    31248  Private  Mounted
  Label:Private  Contains system files only
     Unique Id: 0x3E8F360879E774B0    Mount: /pri2      Index: 13  Order: 1
     Partition: 1000E  Physical: 1000F  FS       Size (KB):    32768  Starting Blk:   515  Private
      Physical: 1000F    Drive Slot: 1  IDE      Size (KB): 134217216  Fixed    

Logical Device: 10000      Position: 1  JBOD     Size (KB): 97028936  Free (KB):        0  Public   Unmounted
  Label:Drive1  Single disk
     Unique Id: 0x0A072C5A3F7CEDF5    Mount: /0         Index: 0  Order: 255
     Partition: 10000  Physical: 10007  FS       Size (KB): 97028936  Starting Blk: 81943  Public 
      Physical: 10007    Drive Slot: 0  IDE      Size (KB): 97685504  Fixed    

Logical Device: 10008      Position: 2  JBOD     Size (KB): 95702088  Free (KB): 95605992  Public   Mounted
  Label:Drive2  Single disk
     Unique Id: 0x3E8F360879E774B0    Mount: /1         Index: 1  Order: 2
     Partition: 10008  Physical: 1000F  FS       Size (KB): 97028936  Starting Blk: 88472  Public 
      Physical: 1000F    Drive Slot: 1  IDE      Size (KB): 134217216  Fixed    

Logical Device: 10010      Position: 3  JBOD     Size (KB): 95702088  Free (KB): 95606112  Public   Mounted
  Label:Drive3  Single disk
     Unique Id: 0x45DDCAC8642C344D    Mount: /2         Index: 2  Order: 3
     Partition: 10010  Physical: 10017  FS       Size (KB): 97028936  Starting Blk: 88472  Public 
      Physical: 10017    Drive Slot: 2  IDE      Size (KB): 134217216  Fixed    

Logical Device: 10018      Position: 4  JBOD     Size (KB): 95702088  Free (KB): 95606112  Public   Mounted
  Label:Drive4  Single Disk
     Unique Id: 0x2B57F6F71C16E85C    Mount: /3         Index: 3  Order: 4
     Partition: 10018  Physical: 1001F  FS       Size (KB): 97028936  Starting Blk: 65640  Public 
      Physical: 1001F    Drive Slot: 3  IDE      Size (KB): 97685504  Fixed
Jilaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-19-2006, 07:08 PM   #203
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

By looking at this, it apears you have 2 different size drives. Drives 1 and 4 are ~100 gigs, where 2 & 3 are > 137 gig. Opening the unit up will confirm. If I had to guess, drives 2 & 3 are the newer drives (larger). Try to match the capacity of these. Depending on the mfg, some have utilities where you can adjust the capacity so they match. Some users have found it was cheaper to buy higher capacity (>137) than 120 gigs. Knowing that the capacity will be capped at ~137gig.

HD capacity is rapidly changing. If you plan on using this for criticle data, purchase a spare or 2. As you know when you loose a drive in a raid 5 set the data is not lost (normaly), but can not be accesed till the missing member is replaced and the set re-built.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-20-2006, 10:07 AM   #204
rpmurray
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 157
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Kinda interesting that Drive 1 (drive slot 0) shows as unmounted and having Free (KB) 0. This could have something to do with RAID 5 failing. Have you tried reformatting drive 1? If this is a drive you've replaced, could you give specifics on make and model (of all the drives)?

It really looks like drive 1 has failed, do you have any others with the same or higher capacity that you could replace it with?

Last edited by rpmurray; 07-20-2006 at 10:15 AM.
rpmurray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-20-2006, 10:08 AM   #205
geewiz45
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: cONNECTICUT
Posts: 5
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

I've scoured this forum and the internet looking for Snap_OS 3.4.805 and while it apparently existed at some point, it's apparently turned into some sort of mythical beast like Bigfoot and walked off into the forest, never to be seen again.

I've got a Snap 4100 that I'd like to upgrade with some 250GB drives. If anyone has the 3.4.805 OS, I would certainly appreciate hearing from them and perhaps getting a copy.

Mucho thanks in advance...
geewiz45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-20-2006, 10:12 AM   #206
rpmurray
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 157
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by geewiz45
I've got a Snap 4100 that I'd like to upgrade with some 250GB drives. If anyone has the 3.4.805 OS, I would certainly appreciate hearing from them and perhaps getting a copy.
Sorry, you'll be able to use the drives, but they'll format at 137GB due to hardware limitations in the 4100. So whatever version of the OS you have right now should work with them.
rpmurray is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-20-2006, 01:31 PM   #207
geewiz45
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: cONNECTICUT
Posts: 5
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Dang....My first post and I already screwed up. I've got a 4000, not a 4100. According to the "Succesful Upgrades" page, this is possible??

http://wiki.procooling.com/index.php...Drive_Upgrades

Again, thanks in advance.
geewiz45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-20-2006, 01:53 PM   #208
re3dyb0y
Cooling Savant
 
re3dyb0y's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 909
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Yup

You'd be right

well, depending on hard drive
__________________
Snap Server Help Wiki - http://wiki.procooling.com/index.php/Snap_Server

Snap Server 2200 v3.4.807
2x 250GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.9
w/ UNIDFC601512M Replacement Fan

"Did you really think it would be that easy??"


Other NAS's
1x NSLU2 w/ 512mb Corsair Flash Voyager
Running Unslung 6.8b

1x NSLU2 w/ 8Gb LaCie Carte Orange
Running Debian/NSLU2 Stable 4.0r0


250GB LaCie Ethernet Disk
Running Windows XP Embedded
re3dyb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-20-2006, 03:10 PM   #209
geewiz45
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: cONNECTICUT
Posts: 5
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Depending on the HD? I've got 4 250GB Maxtor MaXline III's in the chassis right now. I haven't seen anything, anywhere indicating that the type of HD makes a difference only that the OS must be 3.4.805. If that's not the case, I'd appreciate it if you'd clarify that for me. Otherwise, I've got a Snap server with 4 250GB drives pretending to be 137GB.

If you have any idea about places I could get the OS, I'd appreciate that too. Feel free to email.

Thanks,
Greg
geewiz45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-20-2006, 03:24 PM   #210
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by geewiz45
Dang....My first post and I already screwed up. I've got a 4000, not a 4100. According to the "Succesful Upgrades" page, this is possible??

http://wiki.procooling.com/index.php...Drive_Upgrades

Again, thanks in advance.
On the 4x00 models you have to go by what the Name plate says. Snap software reports all 4 drive units as a 4000.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-20-2006, 05:49 PM   #211
jontz
Cooling Savant
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: South Bend, IN
Posts: 385
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by geewiz45
Dang....My first post and I already screwed up. I've got a 4000, not a 4100.
4000 is 2U tall, 4100 is 1U. Just want to make sure which one you have.
__________________
Snap Server 4100, 4x120GB Seagate Drives, RAID 5, version 3.4.803
jontz is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-20-2006, 06:01 PM   #212
Phoenix32
Thermophile
 
Phoenix32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jontz

4000 is 2U tall, 4100 is 1U. Just want to make sure which one you have.
Yup Yup... -OR- He could post the model number...

If it is 70700042-0x then it is a 4000, if not, then it aint... ( x = 1 thru 4 )
Phoenix32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-20-2006, 08:34 PM   #213
geewiz45
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: cONNECTICUT
Posts: 5
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

It's a 4000 alright. 2U tall and all.

I've also got 3 4100's that are working just dandy so I'm pretty sure of the identification although I didn't seem that way in my first post.

It's not in front of me at the moment but if you want the model number, I can get that too.
geewiz45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-21-2006, 04:31 AM   #214
Phoenix32
Thermophile
 
Phoenix32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by geewiz45

It's a 4000 alright. 2U tall and all.
Then the 3.4.805 should do the job for those 250GB drives (I have a 4000 with a 250GB drive and 3.4.805)...
Phoenix32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-21-2006, 09:54 AM   #215
geewiz45
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: cONNECTICUT
Posts: 5
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Hi Phoenix,
Thanks for the info on the 3.4.805 OS. Any chance you could help me find it?
geewiz45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-21-2006, 06:47 PM   #216
Phoenix32
Thermophile
 
Phoenix32's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Yakima, WA
Posts: 1,282
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by geewiz45
Hi Phoenix,

Thanks for the info on the 3.4.805 OS. Any chance you could help me find it?
Sorry, Adaptec does not have it on their download section (at least that I could ever find)...
Phoenix32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-21-2006, 06:57 PM   #217
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

It is done through a email tech request. But they may not release the 805 version. Snap never acknowledge that it existed.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-23-2006, 12:40 PM   #218
brianc33
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: san francisco
Posts: 2
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

So does anyone have a copy that can be emailed? I too just put a pair of Seagate 200 GB's in my 2000 only to find out I pretty much wasted my time without 805 to unlock the full cap.

Thanks

Brianc33
brianc33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-23-2006, 04:12 PM   #219
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

What is your BIOS version?
If your BIOS and Hardware are not v2 it want be needed, LBA48 not supported on V1 2000.

To find it click on the SnapAppliance Logo from the admin page.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2006, 02:04 AM   #220
r33fourdoor
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 2
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Hi,

I recently inherited a Snap 2000 which I would like to upgrade for use on my existing network (Windows 2003 SBS). The unit is configured with a pair of 30Gb drives installed, which is pretty insignificant in todays terms.

After much frustration, I stumbled across this forum and for the first time, I fell that there may be some light at the end of this tunnel.

While googling, I noticed a guy who claims to have succesfully installed 2 x 300Gb drives in his Snap 2000. All of his Snap version numbers were identical to mine with the exeption of the software. He was using version 4.0.830

Does someone know how I could get hold of a copy of this SnapOS version (or better) together with some instructions on how to go about this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Snap 2000

Software: 2.4.437
BIOS: 2.0.252
Hardware: 2.0.0
r33fourdoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2006, 07:18 AM   #221
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Yhea, 30 giq is a little outdated for today, but it was huge in 1998 when these units were released. Just need to add another "0" to the disks.

You have a v2 hardware which means your 2000 will support large drives. BUt since this is a software raid unit, you will/should upgrade your ram to. You will need minimum of 128 meg of PC100 DIMM's installed. For some reason the larger drives need more cache, as well as v4 requiring more.

You said MS2003 Small Bussiness Server. Are you using MS2003 AD? This is the only advantage v4 brings to the table. Other wise upgrade to 3.4.805.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2006, 08:03 AM   #222
brianc33
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: san francisco
Posts: 2
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

HW is 2.0.0 and BIOS is 2.0.282. That will support LBA48 with the right OS, right?

Thx.

Brianc33.

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue68f100
What is your BIOS version?
If your BIOS and Hardware are not v2 it want be needed, LBA48 not supported on V1 2000.

To find it click on the SnapAppliance Logo from the admin page.
brianc33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2006, 08:50 AM   #223
r33fourdoor
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: australia
Posts: 2
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue68f100
Yhea, 30 giq is a little outdated for today, but it was huge in 1998 when these units were released. Just need to add another "0" to the disks.

You have a v2 hardware which means your 2000 will support large drives. BUt since this is a software raid unit, you will/should upgrade your ram to. You will need minimum of 128 meg of PC100 DIMM's installed. For some reason the larger drives need more cache, as well as v4 requiring more.

You said MS2003 Small Bussiness Server. Are you using MS2003 AD? This is the only advantage v4 brings to the table. Other wise upgrade to 3.4.805.

Thanks so much for your input

Yes, I am using 2003 Active Directory, so being able to support this would be a definite bonus.

Upgrading the RAM shouldn't pose a problem, however you mentioned 128Mb as a minimum. What is the largest PC100 module the Snap 2000 will support?

Last, but not least, where could I obtain a copy of the v4 or 3.4.805 OS?

Looking forward to your response.
r33fourdoor is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2006, 10:51 AM   #224
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

The largest PC100 is 256meg. But the snap can be picky. If one doesn't work try another it got to do with the page size.

AD 2003, have to have the latest v4 to support it. There is a work around posted in the wiki section of procooling.

As for the OS we are not allowed to do that on this site. You may want to read the notice at the top of the threads.

Adaptec are the new owners of SnapAppliance, they have it but they are not a good company to do bussiness with. Lets say they are not friendly. They just wants to sell service contracts. Now if you already have a service contract I think you can get it a discount price.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 07-25-2006, 04:40 PM   #225
boonlim
Cooling Neophyte
 
boonlim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: LA
Posts: 1
Default Re: Snap OS 3.4.805, anyone?

I know this is old but could someone host a copy of the Snap OS 3.4.805 where we all could get hold of? If not, could you please email me a copy.

thanks

BL
boonlim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...