Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies The Home for Snap Server Hacking, Storage and NAS info. And NAS / Snap Classifides

Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Unread 01-14-2007, 01:35 PM   #1
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
General SnapOS FAQ

General FAQ Applies to all SnapOS Units 1x00, 2x00, 4000, 4100

Before doing any upgrades or drive replacement it is recommended that you backup ALL DATA from the Snap that you do not want to loose. There is always a risk of loosing data if something goes wrong. This applies to all RAID 1 & 5 configurations. If you are running RAID 0 you either do not care for your data or you have a separate backup program.

Snap OS hard drives can not be read by anything except another snap. If you install the HD in a pc you will damage the drive if you mount it, kiss your data good bye. And then it needs to be the same SnapOS if a flash ram unit. 1000, 2000, 4x00.

FAQ's
1. I have a new snap and can not find it on my network?
You may need to use Assist to locate the Snap and do the initial setup. If it is not found with Assist, you will need to reset the Snap and try again. Instruction in the wiki section.
2. I can not login to my Snap?
If you forgot the password it can be reset. Instructions for resetting the SNAP is in the wiki section.
3. How do I reset the Snap?
Instructions for resetting the snap can be found in the wiki section. (wiki)
4. How do I get to Admin Page?
Point your browser to "http://ipaddress/config" or "http://Snap#####/config" (###### = Serial No.)
5. How do I get to Debug?
The debug page can be access by appending "/debug" to the end of the admin page. (http://ipaddress/config/debug)
6. What is needed to support HD Greater than 137gig (LBA48bit support)?
The hardware requirement is 1x00, 2000v2, 2200, 4000 used with Snap OS 3.4.805 or greater. Read the FAQ for your model.
7. What is the latest OS that will work with my Snap?
Most all are capable of running v4.0.860. Max is 3.4.830 for 1000v1 and 2000v1, have problem with v4.0.860.
8. Can OS Updates be backed out?
In general NO, Flash ram units can not be backed out. The 2200 can be reloaded with an image file, data will be lost.
9. What is needed for MS 2003AD Support?
OS v4.0.860 is required for MS 2003AD Support.
10. What hardware and software versions do I have?
Click on the SnapAppliance Logo in the upper left corner of the Admin page. A popup will display your OS version, HW version, BIOS Version and Serial No. info.
11. What is the max file size a snap can handle?
NFS = 2^63power bytes - limited to 2 TB by our file system
Apple = 2GB
Novell = 2GB
Windows CIFS/SMB (NT-SMBs disabled) = 4GB
Windows CIFS/SMB (NT-SMBs enabled) = 2^63power bytes - limited to 2 TB by our file system

For Guardian OS:
NFS 2^63power
Apple 2GB
Windows CIFS/SMB = 2^63power
12. What is JVM?
JVM = Java Virtual Machine. JVM will install on any Snap with 64+meg of ram. This can be used for SSL login and web page functions. Default Share = Java$, Path os_private\Java
FAQ's for Specific Models

1x00 FAQ

1. What is the largest drive I can Install in my Snap 1x00?
Most will handle HD's > 137 gig. with OS v3.4.805+ (Supports LBA48Bit)
2. My HD has failed. How do I replace it?
A. The 1000v1 has the OS stored in flash ram, just install the hd. It takes about 10 min before you can connect to the web interface.
B. If you have a 1000v2 or 1100 you must transfer the boot tracks from a working unit or by the use of image files. There are 2 different image files used to recover from a failed drive in the 1x00's.
C. The 1000's normally use a 1000 image file, but if you get a 1 x 2 LED blinking pattern it requires the 2200.img file.
D. The 1000v2 & 1100 requires an image file to be copied to the new drive. (Normally the 2200 image file)
Note: You need to reinstall the OS after doing an image file recovery to replace any missing OS files.
2x00 FAQ

Before doing any upgrades or drive replacement it is recommended that you backup ALL DATA from the Snap that you do not want to loose. There is always a risk of loosing data if something goes wrong. This applies to all RAID 1 configurations. If you are running RAID 0 you either do not care for your data or you have a separate backup program.


1. What is the largest drive I can Install in my Snap 2x00?
A. 2000v1 has the Maximum capacity of 137gig, (NO LBA48Bit support), made by Meridian, BIOS v1.2.180
B. 2000v2 & 2200 will supports HD's > 137gig with OS v3.4.805+ (Supports LBA48Bit), BIOS v2.0+
C. The Snap OS has a maximum usable capacity of 1-1.2T.
2. A HD has failed in my 2x00, how do I replace it?
If you were in a RAID 1 configuration just install the HD. The snap will format and install the OS, but it will not resync. You must issue the "co de config mirror 100SS 100DD" (SS=original, DD=new Drive) command from debug. If you have not backed up your data I recommend following the procedure below. The replacement drive is recommended to be the same mfg, model and capacity. HD mfg constantly update firmware, so it is possible that the same model and capacity will have a different size.
3. How do I upgrade the HD's on a 2x00 with or without data?
A. On the 2x00 models, just install a new HD in the master position. The snap will format and install the OS automatically. If it does not boot from the slave hd swap the master and slave.
B. Connect to the snap and check the progress of the new drive being formatted. Once completed. If you swapped the drives to boot, swap them back now.
C. Verify the hd is at full capacity (approx cap - ~1%gig)
If not issue "co de format 10000 /reinit" to format the new master drive.
**** Warning: The /reinit cmd erases all data on the drive. ****
Recheck the drive to see if it formatted to full capacity.
If not verify that your OS supports the size of drive you installed. Install OS if needed.
If OK remove the slave and reinit the master drive.
D. You can now copy the data from your old hd to the new one. (Slave to Master)
E. Install the second new drive into the slave position (10010).
F. Verify the hd formatted to full capacity (approx cap - ~1%gig)
G. Now see it the snap reports any of the drives as having a broken mirror. If so break the raid array using "co de config individual 10000 10010" or "co de predict individual 10010" Reboot
H. You should now have 2 new drives with all of your data from your original hd on the master drive. You can now re-create the RAID1 array from the Snap’s disk menu. If you have your data backed up you can use the cmd line "co de config mirror 10000 10010" from debug. I prefer using the web interface as apposed to debug cmd line when ever possible.
4. How do I repair a 2x00 with NO HD's installed?
A. The 2000 has the OS stored in flash ram. All that is needed is to install HD's. It takes about 10 min before you can connect to the web interface and do the initial setup.
B. The 2200 stores the OS on the HD. You will need to copy the boot tracks from a working unit or use a 2200 image file.
Note: You need to reinstall the OS after doing an image file recovery to replace any missing OS files.
5. How do I break a Mirror using debug?
From Debug enter "co de config individual 100XX" or "co de predict individual 100XX" you can also use the "/force" cmd if it does not want to take the cmd.

4x00 FAQ


1. How do I repair a 4x00 with NO HD's installed?
The 4x00 has the OS stored in Flash ram. All that you need to do is install the hard drives. If you discover that the help files are missing, you need to reinstall the OS from the complete version.
2. What is the largest drive I can Install in a Snap 4000?
A. The 4000 will supports HD's > 137gig with OS v3.4.805+ (Supports LBA48Bit)
B. The Snap OS has a maximum usable capacity of 1-1.2T.
C. Some 4000's have a problem with the PS when large HD's are installed.
3. What is the largest drive I can Install in a Snap 4100?
A. The 4100 DOES NOT SUPPORT HD's > 137gig. You can install larger drives, but it will be limited to 137gig. raw capacity.
4. A HD has failed in my 4x00, how do I replace it?
A. HW versions 1 & 2 have a problem on reporting failed drives, and require a cable modification.
B. The 4x00 will indicate a failed drive on the front panel, if not look at the log file. Snap labels the drives 1-4 like this 10000, 10008, 10010, and 10018
C. The replacement drive is recommended to be the same mfg, model and capacity. HD mfg constantly upgrade firmware, so it is possible to have the same model and the capacity be different. The drive can be larger if not Drive 1.
D. Power down and replace the HD. These are not hot swap models.
E. The snap will format and init the drive. You will need to make the drive a HOT Spare. Once set as hot spare the snap will see the drive and start the resync process. This can be a lengthily process depending on the size of the drive. Once the resync has been completed it will auto mount the share, be patient.
More to come
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820

Last edited by blue68f100; 06-05-2007 at 01:16 PM. Reason: Updates
blue68f100 is offline  
Unread 02-03-2007, 01:08 PM   #2
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: General SnapOS FAQ...... VISTA

This is a fix to allow Vista to connect and browse a SnapOS unit.
GuardianOS units with OS v4.1.106 and greater supports Vista.

This solution is only for Vista Business, Enterprise, and Ultimate

You can try the following:
- select "start" -> "run"
- type "secpol.msc" to open your local security policy
- then got to "local policies" -> "security options" and set the "Network Security: LAN Manager" from "Send NTLMv2 response only" to "Send LM & NTLM -- use NTLMv2 session security if negotiated."

If somebody is using Vista Home Basic and Home Premium he has to change
the following registry-key:

look for HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Contro l\Lsa

and change the value of "LmCompatibilityLevel" from "3" to "1" ...

This info came from evoaz1 & holzinet

The thread complete thread is http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/sho...407#post164407
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline  
Unread 02-24-2007, 05:28 PM   #3
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: General SnapOS FAQ S2S File permisions

I learnt this ages ago, so posting here for all to benefit.

This is 4100 running SnapOS 4.0.860 (UK) and Snap extension s2s (not the new one!).

So you have two Snap servers replicating overnight. The trouble is, the file permissions do not get replicated, so the second box has no file permissions and if you need to switch to that, you are in trouble!

On the main server (replicating FROM), goto Security->File/Folder Security. You will see an option to 'Save File/Folder Security'. So save it :-)

Once this is complete, the server has saved several files containing the permissions structure. Map in the server TOP level share in Windows Explorer using 'root' account and password. Opening this you will see a hidden directory called 'os_private'. In this directory are the files you need - IGNORE the java and temp folders here.

Copy all the *.dat and *.dat.bak files to another safe location. Disconnect the map drive and exit the server.

This part is now complete.

Ensure you have a nice new replica on server#2 (replicate TO server). Now map in server#2 using root account and password. Open up os_private and delete all the *.dat and *.dat.bak file there - you may need to do this several times as some are re-created on the fly. Once this is done, copy the files retrieved from server#1 os_private/ to server#2 os_private/ (overwrite as necessary).

Once that is complete, in the web interface goto Security->File/Folder Security and select Restore File/Folder Security. Then you will see the date of the 'saved permission files' from server#1 in the window to use. Restore it!

Once that is complete, you will now find all the files on server#2 have the same file permissions that are on server#1

One thing to note is that SHARES are local - on server#2 you will have to add permissions to the SHARES manually - but once done, you do not need revisit unless new shares are created on server#1, so you will have to recreate.

The main thing here is to ensure server#2 has a latest replica of server#1 before you do this.

Hope that helps somebody.

Original Post by Lethe http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13901
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline  
Unread 02-27-2007, 04:35 PM   #4
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: General SnapOS FAQ Speed Test

Below is test data showing the speed of various models.

This data was contributed by:
(1). Phoenix32, 4000 & 4100 (uses NetStat for speed)
(2). JELo , 1000, 1100, 2000, 2200
(3). Blue68F100 , 1000, 1100, 2000, 2200, 4100 (w/ WD2500SE RE drives)

These number are considered best case, your values may differ. With that said, FTP will be significantly faster than smb. And not all ftp programs are the same. I have seen as much as 50% difference in speeds between client software. FileZilla gives me the best speed. Where I have both data showing the difference it is posted.

Model ...... FTP (w/r) ................ SMB (w/r) All values in MB/sec

1000 (2) 1.5/1.5 (ViceVersaPro)
1100 (2) 3.8/4.6 (ViceVersaPro)

2000
Raid1 (2) 2.7/4.7 (ViceVersaPro)

2200 (2 x 300gig, Seagates)
Raid0
Raid1 (3) 5.7/8.8 (FileZilla) ................. 3.6/8.0
Raid1 (2) 4.3/5.6 (ViceVersaPro)


4000 (4 x 30gig)
BOD
Raid0 (1) 6-6.7/10.5-12 ................... 4.9/5.9
Raid1 (1) 6-6.7/10.5-12 ................... 4.5/6.3
Raid5 (1) 4.3/10.5 ........................... 4.5/5.9

4100 (4 x WD2500SB RE Drives) v4.0.860
JBOD (3) 6.2/9.6
Raid0 (3) 5.1/9.3
Raid1 (3) 5.7/10.1
Raid5 (3) 4.6/10.0............................. 3.5/5.2 (netstat 3.7/5.5)


I will update these tables as I get it, I have 1000, 1100, 2000v1 logged just need to dig it up.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820

Last edited by blue68f100; 04-10-2007 at 07:12 PM.
blue68f100 is offline  
Unread 12-10-2007, 05:36 PM   #5
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Apple OS Lepard 10.5 issues.

This info came from QNAP Forum http://forum.qnap.com/phpbb2/viewtop...5839dd0ef0ff3a

Connection through APF does not Allow PW in clear Text. Guest Accounts work OK. The work around is below.

User sdh from the QNAP had this work around.

I have found a workaround that allows Leopard to connect to the TS-109 over AFP.

Quote:
To set it up you need to modify the AppleShare preferences file. This file is called com.apple.AppleShareClient.plist, and is located in ~/Library/Preferences (that is, the Library folder off your home folder).

With no AFP connection active, double click on the .plist file to open it. Then change the values of the items called "afp_cleartext_allow" and "afp_cleartext_warn" to Yes, from their default values of No. Then save the preferences file.
You may need to restart to cause the Appletalk software to reload, but afterwards you will be able to see all your shares on the TS-109 using AFP, and not just Public and Qmultimedia.

This is, of course, just a temporary solution until the implementation of netatalk on the TS-109 is fixed to allow Leopard to connect to it in a secure manner.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline  
Closed Thread


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...