Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > General Liquid/Water Cooling Discussion > Water Block Design / Construction
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Water Block Design / Construction Building your own block? Need info on designing one? Heres where to do it

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 12-04-2004, 09:32 AM   #1
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default home made water cooled 6600gt agp not 56k friendly

I have not made any water blocks for a couple a couple of years but i still have everything left from when i attempted to make a cascade style block.

I wanted a 6800gt/ultra with the dd cooler but not the £500 price tag so when the 6600gt agp came out i picked one up and decided to make a cooler for it.

Now i know the ram is ddr3 and that it does not need cooling but i wanted to make a cooler for both anyway as more of a challange than anything else and as this one had the agp bridge chip i coverd that too.

If this goes well i might speak to a local CNC company i know and get an estimate for them to make it properly if anyone is interested but i dont think it will be cheap.

anyway first i worked on the design and measured the card as presice as i could.
The ram is 1.2mm thick and the core is 2.4 so i will also have to take 1.2mm of the back of the cooler.

after measureing i built a simple model of the card so i could start work on the cooler model. Then i printed out my design and started work.



and then to work with the trusty hacksaw



Once i had the shape i made sure the mounting holes are correct and drilled them out. With only 3 holes to mount and nothing at the top of the card i hope once it's installed it will stay inplace else the ram will suffer with bad contact.

Then using a bench drill and cross vice i started work on the core area and then the ram. The copper i used is 10mm this and i have drilled 5mm into it.
Then tidy up with the dremel.



This is about 4 hours work.




Hopefully i will do some more this weekend.
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2004, 10:10 AM   #2
pHaestus
Big Player
Making Big Money
 
pHaestus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: irc.lostgeek.com #procooling.com
Posts: 4,782
Default

That's a big chunk!
pHaestus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2004, 10:52 AM   #3
killernoodle
Thermophile
 
killernoodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,014
Default

How much does that weigh? It must be at least 5 lbs...
__________________
I have a nice computer.
killernoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2004, 11:51 AM   #4
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default

not sure how much it ways but it's not that big compared to some gfx car coolers like the ones bladerunner makes.

if the peice was square it would be 10cm x 10cm x 1cm.

Not sure what top i am going to use. I need to find the pages here on how to solder the top on in the oven.
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-04-2004, 12:15 PM   #5
killernoodle
Thermophile
 
killernoodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,014
Default

All you do is tin up one side, lay the other side on top and put it in the oven. You already have a hole cut in the bottom plate, so you dont have to worry about it imploding
__________________
I have a nice computer.
killernoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 12-05-2004, 03:08 PM   #6
bigben2k
Responsible for 2%
of all the posts here.
 
bigben2k's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Texas, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,302
Default

I'm coming up with .89 kg (1.96 lbs).

(Given copper's density as 8920 kg/m^3, and dimensions (pre-drill) of 10 cm by 10 cm and 1 cm)

Nexxo's work here might come in handy:
http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=10367
bigben2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-17-2005, 07:16 PM   #7
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

leejsmith How did the block turn out?
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-18-2005, 12:08 PM   #8
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default

I just about trashed my x-y vice getting it this far before i started on the gpu/ram side. There is no way i could mill that side down so the ram/gpu makes good contact.

I did think about using artic apoxy or some thing for the ram building layers and then smoothing them down that should work.



it ways 530 grams as the moment.

I have a maze4 gpu on my 6600gt but it's so close to the ram i cant get any ram sinks on them.
I did think about making something to add to the maze4 gpu to touch the ram too.
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-18-2005, 12:16 PM   #9
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

you said in the first post th difrence was 1.2 mm between the GPU and the ram...
what about using a copper shim where the ram would be? it would save you from having to mill it down or using that much arctic apoxy. get a small strip of 1mm thick copper should do it...
i bought a similar videocard.. chaintech one... and was thinking of making a block for it as well...
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-21-2005, 11:44 PM   #10
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726

I'm thinking of making one...
ok doing more then thinking...
done all thd measuring parted already and planned out the flow..
simular to leejsmith...
before I order any copper..
The base I have roughed out at 4"x4.5" and .5" thick...
Also where the ram is lower then the GPU I plan to use some copper shims also 0.048" (18 ga.) thick...
how think should I make the top piece?
I was thinking 0.048" (18 ga.) copper sheet
any thoughts?
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2005, 02:05 AM   #11
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default

I tried to finish the block but both my cross vice and crappy piller drill have had it.
I think i could finish of the channles witht my dremel.

I was looking at a acrylic top mainly as i have a peice that would fit perfect.

I think the only problem with the copper sheet top would be any warping when soldering it to the base if it's too thin.

Is your 6600gt referance ? the xfx only has 4 holes 2 either side the gpu and 2 either side the agp/pci-e bridge chip. Not much to hold it at the top of the card.

I checked my collection of copper bits and i have a sheet of 1mm copper should be ok for the memory shim good idea
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2005, 06:17 AM   #12
FL3JM
Cooling Neophyte
 
FL3JM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 66
Default

Bah, shims is for pansies! Just tighten the screws and that 1,2mm gap is history.


(/jk)
FL3JM is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2005, 10:04 AM   #13
Tempus
Cooling Savant
 
Tempus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 456
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FL3JM
Bah, shims is for pansies! Just tighten the screws and that 1,2mm gap is history.


(/jk)

just heat the card up and it should bend just enough to make contact
__________________
Thou art God.
Tempus is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2005, 10:22 AM   #14
killernoodle
Thermophile
 
killernoodle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 1,014
Default

File down pennies. That should be good enough heat transfer.
__________________
I have a nice computer.
killernoodle is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2005, 12:04 PM   #15
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by killernoodle
File down pennies. That should be good enough heat transfer.
I'll spend the 80¢ and get some precut copper from online metals.. considering I'll be ordering the rest of the copper from there anyways...
Quote:
Originally Posted by leejsmith
Is your 6600gt referance ? the xfx only has 4 holes 2 either side the gpu and 2 either side the agp/pci-e bridge chip. Not much to hold it at the top of the card.
I agree.. mine is the same setup...
I may have to come up with some sort of clamp for the top if the ram doesn't connect properly...
guess I'll order copper tonight...
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2005, 07:21 PM   #16
FireCrack
Cooling Neophyte
 
FireCrack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: vancouver
Posts: 4
Default

pennies arent solid copper anyways
FireCrack is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2005, 08:04 PM   #17
jman1310
Cooling Savant
 
jman1310's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sunny Florida
Posts: 246
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FireCrack
pennies arent solid copper anyways
actually, they are SOLID - just not solid copper

they are plated zinc
and solid copper pennies can be found or even bought very cheaply
i have found a large number of them
i think they changed to zinc/copper in the early 60s
jman1310 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-22-2005, 09:42 PM   #18
Moto7451
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: LA, CA
Posts: 53
Default

Late 80s actually. Theres all this penny madness over at OCForums.com. I got a good laugh from that topic . Copper bar is less than the amount of pennies you'd have to get to find enough all copper pennies to make it worth while.
__________________
Athlon 64 3200+ Rev F @ 2.4Ghz (and climbing) @ 1.53v, DFI Infinity UltraII-M2, 512MB Apple Micron D9 DDR2 @ 400MHz (DDR2 800) 5-5-5-12 @ 2v, 128MB Radeon X800 @ 460/900, Dual 120GB HDs in RAID 0

Loop 1: D5 Pump • Bonneville w/ AC Heater Core • Swiftech MCW6002 • Gemini Tsunami VGA block • Gemini Tsunami S478 block (cold side chiller block)

110W 16v TEC @ 60W 12v

Loop 2: PC Watercooling Shop 12v Water Pump • PCWCS 80.2 Rad • Gemini Tsunami (hot side chiller block)
Moto7451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 03-25-2005, 04:46 PM   #19
starbuck3733t
Cooling Savant
 
starbuck3733t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: State College, PA
Posts: 338
Default

Quote:
Pennies manufactured from 1793 to 1837 were pure copper. Before 1982, the penny was still almost a solid copper coin (95% copper, 5% zinc) and its nominal mass was set at 48 grains (about 3.11g). It was legally allowed to be as much as 2 grains above or below the nominal value, but practical tolerances were much tighter.
from here: http://home.att.net/~numericana/answer/trivia.htm
__________________
Goliath: 3.4E@3.91/Abit IC7, Maze4 (temporarily) + custom splitter to crazy 4-way watercooling parallel loop: X800XT @ 520/1280 + AC Twinplex, AC Twinplex Northbridge, Silenstar Dual HDD Cooler, Eheim1250, '85 econoline van HC + 2x120, 1x120 exhaust - polished aluminum frame panaflo L1As, 2x18GB 10K RPM U160 SCSI, 4GB PC4000.

I wanna be BladeRunner when I grow up!

Project Goliath - nearing completion.
starbuck3733t is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-03-2005, 11:20 AM   #20
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default

did a bit more work on this block today.



still need to brase / solder metal glue the barbs in and make threads so the top will screw into the copper base. Then i will use silicon to seal it.

For the memory shim i will use thermal epoxy to fix it to the base of the block after i have lapped them both.

have you made any progress madhacker ?
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-04-2005, 12:06 AM   #21
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leejsmith
have you made any progress madhacker ?
Yup I ordered some copper from online metals...
Still waiting on that...
They sent me a nice chunk 4"x4.5"x.5" of brass
What am I going to do with that :shrug:
Right now I am using it for a coster...

That template that you made for your holes...
What program did you do that in?
I have tried to do something simular in autocad but i am going to use all 4 mounting holes if i can...
After printing it out my mounting holes are of by 1mm or so.
Could I get a copy of your template?
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-04-2005, 02:27 AM   #22
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default

i used 3dstudio max 2.5 i will convert it to a dxf and see whats it's like. I will find the jpg i used to print in paintshop pro. all i did was adjust the image size on the page until it aligned with the mount holes on the board.
the image i used should still have the page setup too.

you could cheat and make the mount holes bigger to cover for the 1mm they are out.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MadHacker
Yup I ordered some copper from online metals...
Still waiting on that...
They sent me a nice chunk 4"x4.5"x.5" of brass
What am I going to do with that :shrug:
Right now I am using it for a coster...

That template that you made for your holes...
What program did you do that in?
I have tried to do something simular in autocad but i am going to use all 4 mounting holes if i can...
After printing it out my mounting holes are of by 1mm or so.
Could I get a copy of your template?
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-04-2005, 11:47 AM   #23
MadHacker
Cooling Savant
 
MadHacker's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Okotoks, A.B. Canada
Posts: 726
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leejsmith
you could cheat and make the mount holes bigger to cover for the 1mm they are out.
True... I think at my current design I have so that I am trimming off as much excessive copper that I can to get it lighter... I hope that doesn't interfere... but that can be changed as well... After feeling the weight of the brass I now realize how heavy it will be...

Or I can also re measure it... there is that extra satisfaction knowing I did it all myself...
I can get some measurements from the “Mounting hole distances for CPUs” thread.
__________________
"Great spirits have always encountered violent
opposition from mediocre minds" - (Einstein)
MadHacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-09-2005, 07:40 AM   #24
leejsmith
Cooling Savant
 
leejsmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: notts uk
Posts: 408
Default



i found printing at 38% in paint shop pro with a4 paper gave me the best results but if you print and measure the block in the bottem left it should be 30mm.
__________________
Folding , Folding , Folding !
leejsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 04-11-2005, 08:40 AM   #25
Jabo
Cooling Savant
 
Jabo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Hertfordshire, England
Posts: 164
Default

@leejsmith -> Nice work! I've just stumbled accross this thread and noticed that we you almost identical equipment
Have you got it finished yet mate?
P.S. I found that one can sucessfuly use endmills with this type of equipment and if you go slowly and have your x-vice assmebled correctly (and one axis blocked, also it looks like a turning table could serve you well) then you can obtain a very nice straight cuts with flat bottoms. I got my bits endmills from rswww - they are quite expensive unfortunately
Anyways, keep up your good work!
__________________
Museum piece but ....
Medusa cooled
Jabo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...