Go Back   Pro/Forums > ProCooling Technical Discussions > Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies
Password
Register FAQ Members List Calendar JavaChat Mark Forums Read

Snap Server / NAS / Storage Technical Goodies The Home for Snap Server Hacking, Storage and NAS info. And NAS / Snap Classifides

Reply
Thread Tools
Unread 05-02-2011, 03:03 AM   #1
matery
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 29
Default Upgrading Snap Server 210 to 4TB HDD

Hi,
I have been trying to upgrade my existing 2x250GB HDD on Snap Server 210, to 2x2TB Hitachi drives. GOS installed is 4.2x (I also hv GOS 5.x gsu's), what I have done so far is:
Replaced drive 2 with the new one(2TB) and restarted the server, server booted as normal. On Disks/Unit section I can see the hitachi drive unassigned as 1929GB with yellow symbol with three dots inside. The Drive 1 shows as Disk(250GB) OK with Green round symbol. When I try to build the RAID, in RAID Sets section, it shows me 250GB drive available for RAID and no 2TB drive. My question is how do I assign and mount the drive 2 (2TB) on the system, so that I can add it to the RAID and then replace my second 2TB Drive on the system to have a 4TB space.

Last edited by matery; 05-02-2011 at 03:12 AM. Reason: mistakes
matery is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-02-2011, 08:39 AM   #2
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Upgrading Snap Server 210 to 4TB HDD

It doesn't work that way. A unit will only match the current capacity of the raid. If I recall you will need to be on v5 for 2T support.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2011, 10:51 AM   #3
matery
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 29
Default Re: Upgrading Snap Server 210 to 4TB HDD

I will try to upgrade to V5.x and then try if it can assign and mount 2TB drive,
by the way more suggestions are welcome, and is the procedure to upgrade is right or any one has another suggestion
Thx
matery is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-03-2011, 04:18 PM   #4
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Upgrading Snap Server 210 to 4TB HDD

The GOS units do not upgrade like the SnapOS units. With the GOS units you will loose all of your data. You will break the raid when you install the new HD for the GOS transfer. Then power down and move the second HD to position 1. Boot the unit. From here I would follow Andy's guide and use the "touch /nopivot" cmd to force the unit into the Recovery console. From there you can do a Clean Install. Just select the v5 gsu and use the Clean Install Option. Once done you can Install the 2nd HD and do the initial setup. Andy does reboots and HW reset between steps. According to Andy and the Log the GSU includes BIOS updates, this is needed for 2T HD. V4 has support only up to 1T HD's.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2011, 12:10 PM   #5
matery
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 29
Default Re: Upgrading Snap Server 210 to 4TB HDD

Upgraded to GOS 5.2, same thing, I have attached the screen out put, still the Disk 1 2TB is unassigned, any suggestions......
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Snap210.jpg (116.4 KB, 17 views)
matery is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2011, 12:43 PM   #6
matery
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 29
Default Re: Upgrading Snap Server 210 to 4TB HDD

I have now changed Drive 1(2TB) to Drive 0 position and added another 2TB at Drive 1 position and started the Snap 210 and it booted on GOS 5.2 both drives are visible as in the attached pics but are unassigned. On the Raid it shows me the last Raid MD1 as on second screen shot. I have two 2TB drives recognised by the GOS but unable to assign them to the RAID, I am sure someone out there has a solution, I would appreciate any helpful input
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Snap210-1.jpg (113.0 KB, 15 views)
File Type: jpg Snap210-2.jpg (102.3 KB, 13 views)
matery is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2011, 12:50 PM   #7
matery
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 29
Default Re: Upgrading Snap Server 210 to 4TB HDD

After this when I go to Create RAID, I get the following screens:
its says time out in the end, wonder what that means??

So, in all Ihave managed to get GOS 5.2 on the 2x2TB drives but unable to mount them on RAID and hence unable to use them
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Snap210-3.jpg (126.8 KB, 14 views)
File Type: jpg Snap210-4.jpg (86.3 KB, 10 views)
matery is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2011, 01:10 PM   #8
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Upgrading Snap Server 210 to 4TB HDD

Time OUT????? Look at the Server Log for what is going on.

Your system still remembers the old RAID the reason a clean install is recommended.
This removes all record of the original raid. To do a clean install:

from the debug page:
touch /nopivot
reboot

If you prefer putty you will need to use the "osshell" cmd then "su root"

Once the snap reboots into the recovery console select the GSU, the Clean Install toward the bottom.
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2011, 04:00 PM   #9
matery
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 29
Default Re: Upgrading Snap Server 210 to 4TB HDD

!!!Success Finally!!!, thanks alot blue68f100 for your guidance, followed all the steps now have 4TB fully configured and running, solved my data capacity issue 500GB to 4TB, thats great !!!
Thanks
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Snap210-5.jpg (120.4 KB, 21 views)

Last edited by matery; 05-04-2011 at 04:16 PM. Reason: Pic
matery is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-04-2011, 05:00 PM   #10
blue68f100
Thermophile
 
blue68f100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Plano, TX
Posts: 3,135
Default Re: Upgrading Snap Server 210 to 4TB HDD

What brand HD did you use?
__________________
1 Snap 4500 - 1.0T (4 x 250gig WD2500SB RE), Raid5,
1 Snap 4500 - 1.6T (4 x 400gig Seagates), Raid5,
1 Snap 4200 - 4.0T (4 x 2gig Seagates), Raid5, Using SATA converts from Andy

Link to SnapOS FAQ's http://forums.procooling.com/vbb/showthread.php?t=13820
blue68f100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Unread 05-05-2011, 05:11 AM   #11
matery
Cooling Neophyte
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: london
Posts: 29
Default Re: Upgrading Snap Server 210 to 4TB HDD

I Used Hitachi HDS72302 SATA II HDD's

Quote:
Originally Posted by blue68f100 View Post
What brand HD did you use?
matery is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
(C) 2005 ProCooling.com
If we in some way offend you, insult you or your people, screw your mom, beat up your dad, or poop on your porch... we're sorry... we were probably really drunk...
Oh and dont steal our content bitches! Don't give us a reason to pee in your open car window this summer...